Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful collection in a humongous book, 14 Jun. 2013
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Art of Blizzard Entertainment (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:28 Mins

This is one gigantic book. Hardcover. 376 pages. Blizzard has finally released an official video game art book and it's not surprising it's so thick. The binding looks good enough.

One thing to note is about the shipping cost of this book. It's heavy, so depending on where you're shipping to (overseas for example), it might incur an additional weight surcharge.

The book features the three flagship games of Blizzard, namely World of Warcraft, Diablo and Starcraft, and it has a small section of art from discarded game concepts.

The art is fantastic and all printed big on good paper. They are mainly character designs. Many paintings and sketches come with brief commentary from the staff of Blizzard, Nick Carpenter, Samwise Didier and Chris Metzen. Of course there are a lot of artists featured and it's interesting to see how they can all stick to drawing the Blizzard style of art.

There have been several Blizzard art books before this came along. So you might actually see artworks here from the earlier books, such as WOW: The Art of the Trading Card Game, The Cinematic Art of World of Warcraft: The Wrath of the Lich King, Diablo III: Book of Cain, WOW: Mists of Pandaria Collector's Edition art book and others.

There are also many new pieces of art here. However, there are pieces of art which I though should be included, especially (all) the detailed sketches from the Diablo III: Book of Cain.

This is a wonderful collection for fans of Blizzard and fantasy art.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beast of an art book, 8 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Blizzard Entertainment (Hardcover)
OK, this book is BIG. Blizzard have finally opened their art department archives for their flagship games and the art is really, really... really good. It is, mostly, World of Warcraft art (which you would expect when you consider the number of releases for that IP and the amount of time it has been running), but it also features plenty of art from Diablo and Starcraft. The last few pages also includes art from games which never made it past the concept stage but sadly there isn't much of this because, as it explains in the book, Blizzard weren't very good at sorting their art back in the early days and much was lost.

Who is this book for? Well, fans of the respective games will like this book. Your liking will increase with each game franchise you happen to have enjoyed, so if you're a fan of WoW, Diablo and Starcraft then you will just geek-out over this book (as I did). Also, fans of concept art books would like this book but with that price tag I'm guessing there won't be many buyers who aren't fans of the games.

Any complaints? Just one, and it will sound like a weird one considering the size of this book, and that is there should be more of it. If the different games had separate art books released for them (as WoW has) then there would be more spread across all the books. Because this has been put into one volume you feel as though it's been edited down. So basically, what I'm saying is, I'm sure there's lots more art work for Diablo and Starcraft (WoW is well catered for in this book) and I would have loved to see it.

In Conclusion; is it worth it? Well, let's not pretend that it isn't expensive. But how does that price compare? It seems like a pricey book at first but when you compare the cost to other art books it actually doesn't seem so bad. Some art books are only 100-150 pages and happily charge £20-£30, and then you have industry leaders such as Ballistic Publishing which charge £50 for a couple of hundred pages of (amazing) art without batting an eyelid. So that £40+ is really quite a decent price for nearly 400 pages of quality art in a hardback format. So the price is not, in my opinion, so bad (if you can afford it). Is the art worth it? YES. Yes, yes, yes. There is an embarrassment of riches of art in this book which will easily please fans of the games. But not JUST fans of the games. Lovers of fantasy and sci-fi art will also enjoy the work contained here-in.

I guess it comes down to a check list system. Are you a fan of the games? Are you a lover of concept art? Do you enjoy a nice big tome of a book which takes the better part of an hour to flick through (even when you're not really studying the pictures in too much detail)? If the answer to 2-3 of these questions is yes, then move to the final question. Can you afford to part with the money? If yes; buy it, feel happy and regret nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Book of Art, 11 Feb. 2013
By 
A. P. Bartlett (Saltaire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Blizzard Entertainment (Hardcover)
Make no mistake this is a big book in every sense. At 400 pages there is something of interest for those that like fantasy, Sci Fi, concept and gaming art. It follows the development of characters, creatures and environments from all of Blizzards fantastic worlds with comment from the Artists who developed the visual feast that is associated with the games. Images both colour and black and white are clear and well presented with lots of alternative character, weaponry and armour designs that were developed as part of the creative process.

The book will appeal to artists particularly those with an interest in computer generated imagery although many of the images are of traditional type pencil sketches. There is not much in the way of how the images are created or the processes that the artists use but then it's not that sort of book. Instructional books can be found elsewhere.

Enjoy it for what it is. A fantastic book that celebrates amazing artwork from a talented and successful team .

Yes it is expensive but you get what you pay for.

I bought mine through Amazon but not for £50. It can be bought cheaper through some of the alternative sellers that it advertises so I am not sure why it is charging a lot more, however for those that want it I don't think the price will deter them.

Enjoy..... Make sure that you have a strong bookshelf though!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 24 July 2013
By 
E. Schoneveld - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Blizzard Entertainment (Hardcover)
It's a wonderful book, much like the books that come with collector's editions. Only much much bigger :). Only downside is the somewhat hefty pricetag, but if you can afford it, I'd say go for it. You'll be picking it up and browsing the wonderful drawings time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True love, 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Blizzard Entertainment (Hardcover)
If you are interested in Blizzard or simply in how a company built itself up improving it's art along with technology then this is the book for you.
First of all it's a huge book, around 3kgs. The arts are high quality and the whole thing is just perfect, I have been looking through it for 4 days now and it's truly an endless source of insipration. They also have interviews with the head artist of Blizzard and most of the pictures are accompanied by some personal opinions, or stories from the members of the company.
The only problem I had with the book is that some of it's pages are stick together at the inside. Luckily I was able to seperate them without causing any harm but be careful not to just slam open it and tear the pages.
All in all I'm very and The Art of Blizzard Entertainment is definietly is worth it's price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BIG book of awesome art!, 12 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Blizzard Entertainment (Hardcover)
I treated myself to this last year as I'm a big fan of the Blizzard artwork!

The first thing I'll say about this book is it's BIG and heavy! It's larger than A4 but not quite A3!
It is heavily Warcraft based (no surprises there) but there are also sections on Diabolo, Starcraft and some concept art for games never released.
The artists comments are worth a read as these guys have a sense of humour!!!

I personally enjoyed seeing all of the early concepts and (especially in the warcraft section) watching the art grow and improve over time.

Personally, I don't regret buying this at all! It's quickly become my favourite Art book. Full of inspiration and gorgeous art! It won't disappoint! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For all lovers of Blizzard Entertainment games, 4 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Blizzard Entertainment (Hardcover)
I will only say that the only downside to this book is its weight and size. It's huge and definitely not a book you will find me hauling around.
With that said, I can't describe enough how much I love the contents, especially the WoW section. The artwork is fantastic, as you'd expect from any Blizzard artwork, if only they would make in game graphics like their artwork.
Word of advice: Be careful with the edges of the covers, they may look hard but i damaged mine just by taking the book out of my bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blizzard at its best., 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Blizzard Entertainment (Hardcover)
This is great book, big heavy and great for flattening curly cut film strips. It covers a wide range of the Blizzard products but as Warcraft is their main big product, it is this game that dominates the book. I like the way it included sketchs, ideas and input from others including art created by their fan base.
If you like Blizzard then this is good book for you, plus it could be used as inspiration for fantasy/figure painters plus digital artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A huge Art book, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Blizzard Entertainment (Hardcover)
This art book is huge, in size (>A4) in number of pages (>350) and in quality.

Every page of this book is exellent, from the begining of Warcraft to Diablo 3, with some Starcraft arts.
There are about almost all the works of Blizzard with some texts of the artists.

A must have for every fan.

And 6th star for the price :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Blizzard Entertainment (Hardcover)
Ordered as a gift for my husband at Christmas, he loved it.
Detailed concept art and finished drawings for Blizzard games.
It includes; Starcraft, Diablo and warcraft. Goes into full detail for each character within each game, with annotations from the artists and their influences.

Great book for any hard-core Blizzard fan. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Blizzard Entertainment
The Art of Blizzard Entertainment by Blizzard Entertainment (Hardcover - 7 Feb. 2013)
£32.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews