Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and inspiring
You can change your brain by how you use it. In this lovely book the author has distilled a mixture of neuroscience, psychology and mindfulness into 52 simple yet powerful daily mental practices. You can work through the book focusing on one topic a week, or just pick one that you fancy - no rules here. The idea is to do something from the book each day as it is daily...
Published on 16 May 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars useful practical strategies for self-helpers
If you haven't come across these ideas before - it could be quite a revelation. Having read widely around mindfulness I didn't find anything which was 'new' for me. But book is well-written, chapters are short and easy to read. The idea of following suggestions in one chapter for one week is an excellent idea for self-helpers wanting to start putting the ideas into...
Published 16 months ago by M. Ledingham


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and inspiring, 16 May 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Worthing, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just One Thing: Developing A Buddha Brain One Simple Practice at a Time (Paperback)
You can change your brain by how you use it. In this lovely book the author has distilled a mixture of neuroscience, psychology and mindfulness into 52 simple yet powerful daily mental practices. You can work through the book focusing on one topic a week, or just pick one that you fancy - no rules here. The idea is to do something from the book each day as it is daily practice that brings development and change.
Each short and easy to read chapter starts with a title like 'Be Mindful', 'Aspire without attachment', or 'Respond, don't react', then has some very pertinent background information, which really helps with the following section on how to do it in a short daily practice. The book's simplicity and kindliness make it very accessible and therefore powerful in bringing about helpful change. I suggest keeping it to hand so that you see it and dip in often [daily].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 6 Nov 2012
This review is from: Just One Thing: Developing A Buddha Brain One Simple Practice at a Time (Paperback)
Fascinating insight from a man who is a scientist and at this same time, spiritual. Personally, I am working my way through the chapters a week at a time, allowing the information time to absorb. Particularly interesting was the revelation that our brains are programmed to be like Velcro for negative experiences yet like Teflon for positive ones. I intend to use this book to defy Teflon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars useful practical strategies for self-helpers, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just One Thing: Developing A Buddha Brain One Simple Practice at a Time (Paperback)
If you haven't come across these ideas before - it could be quite a revelation. Having read widely around mindfulness I didn't find anything which was 'new' for me. But book is well-written, chapters are short and easy to read. The idea of following suggestions in one chapter for one week is an excellent idea for self-helpers wanting to start putting the ideas into practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB AND NEEDED., 19 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just One Thing: Developing A Buddha Brain One Simple Practice at a Time (Paperback)
I KNOW OF RICK HANSON'S WORK AS I HAVE A CD WITH MINDFULNESS MEDITATIONS AND ADVICE,AND IS BRILLIANT.I SUFFER FROM CHRONIC DEPRESSION,WHICH I KNOW WILL NEVER BE CURED,HOWEVER HIS STYLE OF GUIDANCE AND ADVICE IS SUPERB.IT'S NOT RELIGIOUS,AND IN PARTICULAR THE WHOLE PREMISE OF THIS BOOK IS TO NOT BOMBARD YOU WITH TOO MUCH INFORMATION AT ONCE.YOU CAN JUST FLICK TO A PAGE AND THERE WILL BE A SUBJECT,EG LEARNING TO HAVE COMPASSION WITH YOURSELF,AND BECAUSE IT'S ONE PARTICULAR ASPECT AT A TIME,IT REALLY SINKS IN.AN EXCELLENT BOOK WHICH SHOULD HELP A LOT OF PEOPLE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed, 17 Jun 2014
By 
M. Partner "mike" (china) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just one thing
I really enjoyed “The Buddha’s Brain” and so came to this book with high expectations. What I got was disappointing. This is a book of current nostrums about how to improve your life by concentrating on changing your patterns of thought one at a time, hence the title, and focussing on one of them for one week, consecutively. My problem with this is that change is dependent on using these cognitive injunctions, in other words we are telling ourselves what we should do. Three ways in which this is unsatisfactory, I think. Firstly we are here talking about changing cognitive habits and it is fairly well attested as to how difficult this is. Although the idea that it takes 21 days to change a habit, coming from Maltz, is not accurate, one week as a general rule seems questionable. Secondly the whole idea that we can use cognitive injunctions of this sort to help us make this change, although a major type of recipe in the self-help movement, ignores totally what we are learning about “The New Unconscious” and its relationship to our lived experience. It is now thought in some quarters that the conscious may simply be there to rationalise what the unconscious has “decided” to do. Thirdly, and not so central, if an author chooses to cover such a vast territory he/she takes on the responsibility for accuracy across a wide range, particularly when recommending action. A case in point here is that of the benefit of anti-oxidants which are clearly “a good thing” even though there is quite strong evidence emerging that the value of these, is not fully clear. Some of our friends, the mice, have been dying early when given anti-oxidants, whilst those denied have lived to a riper age. The same seems to be true of the use of some dietary supplements too.
Sorry, disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just One Thing: Developing A Buddha Brain One Simple Practice at a Time (Paperback)
This is a clear, easy to follow guide and a book you can dip into again and again- would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book suggested by a friend, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just One Thing: Developing A Buddha Brain One Simple Practice at a Time (Paperback)
I have only just started to read this book, after a good friend suggested it might be of help to me. Passages I have read so far are very insightful and one paragraph about dwelling on negative thoughts was so telling, I acted on it immediately. Those few words alone were worth buying the book. Sometimes simple truths are not self-evident. The proliferation of self-help books is often scoffed at, but this one might actually HELP you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simple straightforward practices, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great practical advice for developing compassion acceptance and love
Would highly recommend this book - baby steps which practised consistently reveal contentment and joy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just One Thing: Developing A Buddha Brain One Simple Practice at a Time (Paperback)
A lovely book - provides short mindfulness exercises which are easy and informative to read. I find it helps motivate my practice in everyday mindfulness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing book!, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this book has. Helped. Me so. Much! It does. What. it say,s! Would recommend to family and friends why not try a sample?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Just One Thing: Developing A Buddha Brain One Simple Practice at a Time
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews