Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential "Go-to" Exercise Physiology Text
This book by McArdle et al is essential reading for those studying fairly basic to moderately advanced exercise physiology. For those who want something a little easier to read, I would start with "Exercise Physiology" by Sharon Plowman and Denise Smith 3 Ed.(Exercise Physiology for Health, Fitness, and Performance also available on Amazon. For more advanced "stuff", I...
Published on 10 Nov. 2010 by David Riddell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
needed
Published 4 months ago by James


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential "Go-to" Exercise Physiology Text, 10 Nov. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exercise Physiology: Nutrition, Energy and Human Performance (Hardcover)
This book by McArdle et al is essential reading for those studying fairly basic to moderately advanced exercise physiology. For those who want something a little easier to read, I would start with "Exercise Physiology" by Sharon Plowman and Denise Smith 3 Ed.(Exercise Physiology for Health, Fitness, and Performance also available on Amazon. For more advanced "stuff", I would also recommend "ACSM's Advanced Exercise Physiology". In my opinion, McArdle's .. book is an indispensible text for all readers interested in exercise physiology other than for those who only require a really basic knowledge of the subject. PS I own all 3 of the titles I have mentioned.

As with Plowman and Smith's text: perhaps, one of the best features - the full text online access (including additional resources such as worksheets with answers, quiz banks and much more).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick delivery, packed with information!, 3 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exercise Physiology: Nutrition, Energy and Human Performance (Hardcover)
Item received very quickly, was on my essential reading list at University and upon opening I can see why! This book is packed full of information and I can see already that it is going to play an important role in me gaining my degree! Would definitely recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This sports science book covers the gap between sub-standard personal training fitness education and deeper fitness knowledge., 15 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exercise Physiology: Nutrition, Energy and Human Performance (Hardcover)
I am a personal trainer who, as an ex-athlete and coach, am disappointed by the publications on sports training put out for personal trainers. This book covers the gap between sub-standard personal training fitness education and sports science.
I have not studied sports science, but as an ex-athlete having competed nationally or internationally in four sports, I found this book to be quite comprehensive - it seems to be the number one book for general sports science recommended to sports science students.
In my working profession, I have found that even some qualified sports scientists (of sport's specific experience) do not properly understand everything that this book or their degree has to offer. So, for the average fitness professional wanting to increase their knowledge and become more comprehensively knowledgeable about human performance, testing and training, this is an excellent start.
For an athlete who has competed at elite national and/or international level with a good knowledge on the mechanisms of training for elite performance, this book is a good base reference publication with a scope wider than individual sports knowledge will entail and quite substantial depth to the knowledge provided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really happy with it, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exercise Physiology: Nutrition, Energy and Human Performance (Hardcover)
This book has been recommended several times by highly qualified sports scientists so just had to get it. It has everything you need to know about sport and exercise physiology and I'm really glad to have it in my bookcase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book you can buy, 2 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exercise Physiology: Nutrition, Energy and Human Performance (Hardcover)
Best book you can buy 100% if your s sport scientist - I am in finally year of uni and have bought every copy and it offers great help all year round
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars University reading, 16 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exercise Physiology: Nutrition, Energy and Human Performance (Hardcover)
Fantastic purchase very reasonably priced exactly as needed for successful completion of my sport health and exercise degree. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exercise Physiology: Nutrition, Energy and Human Performance (Hardcover)
Excellent reference book very informative I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn about the body's systems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Download the text, 21 Oct. 2010
By 
flyinghyphen "flyinghyphen" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Exercise Physiology: Nutrition, Energy and Human Performance (Hardcover)
This book does not come with a CD-ROM. Instead, the purchaser can download the full text from:

[...] then enter a code which can be found under a scratch-off panel.

These instructions can be located on the inside front cover of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Exercise Physiology: Nutrition, Energy and Human Performance (Hardcover)
Useful information which gave excellent background for essays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exercise Physiology: Nutrition, Energy and Human Performance (Hardcover)
On reading list for my grandson at Uni. Met his requirements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Exercise Physiology: Nutrition, Energy and Human Performance
Exercise Physiology: Nutrition, Energy and Human Performance by Victor L. Katch (Hardcover - 1 Nov. 2009)
Used & New from: £16.12
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews