Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars28
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 October 2014
Great compendium of flavour matches. Some helpful new ideas, and lovely suggestions for mixing ingredients. NOT a recipe book though, nor quite one for real beginners.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
Inspires you to create new dishes and try things you wouldn't normally put together!! Fab as a coffee table book aswell
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
as a bloke who loves reference books (me), or as a woman who loves cooking (my wife), this disappoints by not listing all the flavours and ingredients, so often you'll excitedly pick this up to find an alternative solution to your culinary curiosity, only to have your hopes dashed because it doesn't offer an alternative to turmeric for your Asian sweetbreads (or whatever).
but then, if it DID cover everything you wanted, it would probably have to come as a 13-volume set and would cost five (or perhaps 13) times as much, so actually i'll cut the author some slack - she's done an incredible job to research as much as she has.
and whilst sometimes i do wonder just how objective her flavour knowledge (taste?) is, it is a thankless task she's taken on. well...apart from the several pounds of my money with which she's been thanked with each sale.
but hey...it's a real pretty book and makes for good coffee table (kitchen counter?) pick-up-and-browse reading. and it made an original and still appreciated gift for my wife (she's nodding, so i done good).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
Beef with coffee garnished with cigarettes........ its so entertaining It makes me laugh,smile and cook
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2015
Bought it for my wife, and I've enjoyed the results ever since!

Glencairn
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
truly superb book for food and cookery lovers. So many food pairings to explore!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
A fantastic and clever book, well worth having one on the shelf for reference
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
gave this to a friend as a birthday present and he hasn't stopped thanking me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
I think this is an excellent book for suggesting unusual pairings or perhaps opening the mind to new ideas when confronted with an ingredient. Many of the pairings are predictable if you are an experienced/adventurous/ used to experimenting type cook but it is definitely an interesting one to dip into and have on the cookbook shelf - and lets face it what keen cook ever needs to justify another cookbook? LOL
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
Great book for matching flavours and matching ingredients
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)