Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars80
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 April 2014
If you don't take yourself, the EU or this book too seriously, it is a bit of fun. Some experiments are dangerous. I bought it, if only to annoy people of a Tony Blair ilk by keeping it on my coffee table.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2003
After being inspired by the webpages scattered throughout the Internet known loosely as 'The Anarchist Cookbook', I came across this, and I can only assume that the web-based versions are imitations of this - needless to say large amounts of it can be found freely on the Internet, but lacking the hand-drawn diagrams of the 'real McCoy'. However, this book should not be taken seriously. Not only is it at least 20 years old, but in over 15 publishings it has never been updated. William Powell, at the time, claimed he got his information from secret sources of his. Now, he is trying in vain to get this book taken out of print (some legal loophole or other prevents this from happening). This book contains hugely erroneous information, which, if taken seriously, may maim or kill you. Search the internet for 'anarchist cookbook error' and you will understand. And its author does not endorse it. It is a timeless classic, but is by no means the definitive 'be-all-and-end-all' of anarchist treachery. And now that the price has risen from £16 to £30 it hardly seems worthwhile.
0Comment|64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2001
I would recommend this book to anyone who has an interest only in the methods used in this book, I am in the British Army and I can say from experiance "The methods used are only best used if you understand them 100%". The making of bombs or other things in this book are unstable and will cause you to hurt yourself or kill your self. You have been warned.
0Comment|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 1998
Putting any of the information given out in this book to use would be suicide, as all of the techniques listed inside are outdated to say the very least...not to knock it's great historical value though, as it will always be a staple for any true anarchist! If anything this book is a novelty item.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2000
Well, this is it. The original underground illegal infomation publication. It caused a lot of debate when it was first relesed, back in the seventies. Now it is very out of date, with a lot of references that apply only to US laws and lifestyle. The recipies don't work all the time - many are dangerously unstable. Yet, parts are still releviant to today, in the UK. A must buy, simply because it is a classic. And don't think that you wont waste your money and download it, because there isn't a full copy on the Net.
11 comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 1998
I have been following these types of books for years and, since the hippie movement, this would be considered the great grandfather of anarchists books. Just remember though, just because grand-dad is old, doesn't mean he is right. Or for that matter, it doesn't even mean that he has a clue...
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
Bought this book as an impulse buy, was concerned at first about buying this item as I come from Northern Ireland and the attention it might bring to my door. Received an e mail telling me that I was to expect delivery in 7 to 10 days time but it arrived the next day. The book is in great condition and when I read through it, it really isn't something that I thought it was going to be. Most of the methods are out-dated and any one who has served in the army would know better methods but the information about drugs etc is something I'll enjoy reading but everything else is something I already knew about or know more effective methods and devices. I'm really happy with what I received, just don't expect this to be amazing as I'm also aware this book would also be the censored version. Another thing, this book was written in the 70's, tactics, equipment and methods always change. But it's fun to have I guess. Hope this helped.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2011
First published in the turbulent '60's, this book has attained a sort of cult status for that time. It reflects many of the mores and problems of that generation of young people, and is worth it for a read for that, if for no other reason.
So far as bomb-making and all of that, the book is technically good, but the methodology involving use of nitrogen compounds, particularly red, fuming nitric acid and cotton, to make guncotton, is fundamentally ununsound and unsafe. You could blow a hand off or worse very easily, following Powell's directions. I think "The Monkeywrench Gang" and others of its genre are more in tune with today's eco-warrior desires. Also, the book never mentions the superiority of Oxydol and its green beads, as a binding agent for homemade napalm. For shame.

Even with these quibbles, the book is entertaining, and offers a clear glimpse into the mentality of a now-settled generation.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
If you're planning on buying this for educational purposes, it will only teach you one lesson; this book is a scam. So apparently what passes for "detailed" instructions is merely drawing a diagram and labelling it with the vaguest tags possible. For example, the TNT "instructions" were just a group of squares with no practicality; one was even labelled: 'battery'. There isn't a universal battery, and no other information was included. I'm afraid the only thing I will be blowing up is this book in a bonfire. If it weren't for the interesting introduction of anarchism, this would have gotten 1 star.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2006
This book is very informative as to how to get yourself killed. Being a student of chemistry i can safely say that THE RECIPIES IN THIS BOOK ARE VERY INACCURATE. It's more of a good read than an explosives manual, if you want to make a bomb, look elsewhere.

On the whole a very good read, but don't take it seriously.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)