Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars By far the best possible Arabic-English dictionary
I only have a single objection: The font type of the Arabic could have been of a better choice.
When you start studying Arabic, until you get your grips on, the clarity of the text that is directly related with the font selection of the book you are referring to is of utmost importance. At the early stages, this clarity in the letters you read plays the single most...
Published 19 months ago by S. Malandreniotis

versus
29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Caution - this is a reprint of the old 3rd edition
I note that neither the publisher nor Amazon say this is the 3rd edition, first published in 1976 (the 2011 date on Amazon is the reprint date of this dictionary).

If you want the old 3rd edition, then go for it.

However, Arabic courses and academics will recommend the 4th Revised edition, 1994, sold by Amazon - link below
Dictionary of Modern...
Published on 6 July 2012 by Booker


Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Caution - this is a reprint of the old 3rd edition, 6 July 2012
This review is from: Arabic-English Dictionary: The Hans Wehr Dictionary of Modern Written Arabic (Paperback)
I note that neither the publisher nor Amazon say this is the 3rd edition, first published in 1976 (the 2011 date on Amazon is the reprint date of this dictionary).

If you want the old 3rd edition, then go for it.

However, Arabic courses and academics will recommend the 4th Revised edition, 1994, sold by Amazon - link below
Dictionary of Modern Written Arabic: Arabic-English

If you wish to check my comments above, then the edition I am reviewing has 1130 pages. The latest 4th edition has 1301 pages. The original had 1110 pages, so the reprint I am reviewing has added 20 pages as another review has complained about. A link to the original 3rd edition on Amazon is below:
A Dictionary of Modern Written Arabic (The Hans Wehr Dictionary of Modern Written Arabic)

Hopefully this has given the extra information lacking in the description, to enable potential customers to make up their minds before investing their money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars By far the best possible Arabic-English dictionary, 25 April 2013
By 
S. Malandreniotis (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I only have a single objection: The font type of the Arabic could have been of a better choice.
When you start studying Arabic, until you get your grips on, the clarity of the text that is directly related with the font selection of the book you are referring to is of utmost importance. At the early stages, this clarity in the letters you read plays the single most important role in the success of your efforts. A clearly typed word will tell you right there and then if you are on the right path, remove ambiguity and quickly reward hours of hard study or keep you in the grey zone for longer that you deserve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's exactly what I wanted, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm very pleased with this dictionary.
I consider Wehr's dictionary the best Arabic dictionary I've seen. In my opinion it's a bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for Arabic students - intermediate and advanced, 9 Oct 2014
By 
A. R. Dainty - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arabic-English Dictionary: The Hans Wehr Dictionary of Modern Written Arabic (Paperback)
A very useful, absolutely necessary dictionary for all students of Arabic - recommended to students once past the beginner's stage, as it helps to expand vocabulary much more than online translators. It is easy to use and well laid out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very comprehensive, 21 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arabic-English Dictionary: The Hans Wehr Dictionary of Modern Written Arabic (Paperback)
Excellent depth and coverage of the language. Be aware though this is an Arabic-English not English-Arabic dictionary. It makes a huge difference when looking up words. Perhaps best to get the usual bi-lingual versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arabic-English Dictionary: The Hans Wehr Dictionary of Modern Written Arabic
£27.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews