Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars19
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.37+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 February 2009
I am able to understand what I've read and can put it into practice, found it to help me understand why I get the reactions from others and how to workout what to do next.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
If you're a TA student you've probably been referred to this seminal text by Eric Berne on your reading list. If like me you've an all round interest in analytical psychology you'll be keen to explore how TA fits into the continuum of psychotherapeutic theory. This book does that. Berne recounts his Freudian roots and his own mentors before explaining his own development of the ego state model. His case history illustrations are short and humorous unlike many other writers. It's an easy read if your familiar with the TA principles but not suitable for those wishing for a self help or introductory text. If you're a student of TA you'll be glad you've read it and be reassured that TA follows a tradition of proper psychoanalytic theory and not a pop psych', 'reach for the sky', Californi-fad.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2010
I am shamed to admit that my knowledge and understanding of this incredible man is patchy and incomplete, I know somebody who is currently training in this expansive field and have learned a little about Eric Berne and TA from them.

As far as I can understand Transactional Analysis is a growing field in Psychotherapy, it deals with social relationships and interactions by helping clients to understand themselves and the world around them, this seems to me to combine client centred therapies with other mainstream elements of psychotherapy. I am not qualified to say for certain, and have only the conjectures of ignorance to offer.

I will therefore content myself to say that I am incredibly pleased with the service received, this item arrived in record time and in wonderful condition, your service was exceptional in every way and I thank you very much.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2012
It is the original classic and definitive Transactional Analysis sourcebook. Not an easy-to-read guide, more a technical handbook/casebook focused only on the transactional model and which does not acknowledge scope to integrate with other therapeutic treatments, but then that's not its function.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
Thanks very much. Enjoyed the book very much. Easy read, which is what I need. One again thank you. Regards
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
thanks a lot. send books always so easily. books are very important. i like to read very much. thanks again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2015
Not the copy shown but 1993 edition received is adequate. Received this yesterday 7th August. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2015
required for work, but would recommend this service to family and friends for other items
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2015
Found this book to be heavy going and rather ordinary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2015
Great book on T.A. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)