Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book
Fantastic array of recipes for a very wide range of different types of cheese. Also contains some stunning and inspiring photography. Much the best book for the amateur cheesemaker - and I've read a few!
Published on 8 May 2012 by peterfenton

versus
30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not international!
A beautiful book, but only useful for North Americans (perhaps only Californians, even)! All of the recipes use homogenized, pasteurized milk rather than raw, and then you have to add back in calcium chloride. All of the temperatures are given in fahrenheit only (no celsius, and my thermometer is celsius only), and there are no recipes for making your own starters, just...
Published 22 months ago by Suzanne


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not international!, 13 Mar. 2013
By 
Suzanne (Varese, Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Artisan Cheese Making at Home: Techniques & Recipes for Mastering World-Class Cheeses (Hardcover)
A beautiful book, but only useful for North Americans (perhaps only Californians, even)! All of the recipes use homogenized, pasteurized milk rather than raw, and then you have to add back in calcium chloride. All of the temperatures are given in fahrenheit only (no celsius, and my thermometer is celsius only), and there are no recipes for making your own starters, just in case you live someplace where there is no fancy cheese making supply shop, but only a standard farmer's consortium with basic supplies. I started making cheese using Rita Ash's "Cheesemaking Self Sufficiency" book, which is excellent, but pretty basic, and wanted to take my skills further. Although I did get some good ideas from this book (using dried herbs, honey, wine), I found it a bit too "sanitized" (In Ash's book she says to use your clean hands to stir the milk, for example, while this one suggests a whisk), and, if you really had to go out and buy, or mail order, all the equipment the author says you need (which you do not really need!) you'd be better off buying your cheese already made,from a shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 8 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Artisan Cheese Making at Home: Techniques & Recipes for Mastering World-Class Cheeses (Hardcover)
Fantastic array of recipes for a very wide range of different types of cheese. Also contains some stunning and inspiring photography. Much the best book for the amateur cheesemaker - and I've read a few!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Artisan Cheese Making at Home: Techniques & Recipes for Mastering World-Class Cheeses (Hardcover)
I love this book.Its my pride and joy. I am slowly progressing and working my way through the recipes and advancing in the art of cheese making. I had a little issue in making one of the cheeses . I wasn't sure if for the stilton I was to hang the curds in a bag in the whey.Looked up on you tube and no it was to be suspended over the top. So occassonally the book could be more specific so if attempting the cheese recipe for the first time you know exactly what to do. Got to say though it is pretty detailed and well worth investing in.The measurements are in cups gallons and quarts so be prepared to covert (not difficult).Front of the book explains the cheese making' lingo 'and has a lovely page on what went wrong and how to avoid in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars artisan chesemaking, 15 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Artisan Cheese Making at Home: Techniques & Recipes for Mastering World-Class Cheeses (Hardcover)
fab book, but much more advanced than I thought. It's brilliant for taking you through the stages and loads of gourmet cheeses to try. i think i have been a little ambitious in buying this as my first foray into cheese making - but cookery is a difficult as you want to make it and i think i'll 'grow' into this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Whey, 13 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Artisan Cheese Making at Home: Techniques & Recipes for Mastering World-Class Cheeses (Hardcover)
I found this book after a couple of false starts trying to find a book which had enough detail about both the process of making cheese and some of the basic science of what was happening. This book filled that gap perfectly. Lots of information, lots of detailed recipes and helpful troubleshooting advice when things don't turn out as you planned. I have already made some of the cheeses and plan to try many more, a really great resource.
Its also a beautiful book with detailed pictures of how some of the hand made cheeses should turn out. If you are really interested in making cheese at home this is the book you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hannah, 16 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Artisan Cheese Making at Home: Techniques & Recipes for Mastering World-Class Cheeses (Hardcover)
Lovely looking book, some excellent recipes. It was bought as a present so I didn't spend ages leafing through its crisp, clean, beautifully printed pages. My friend seemed to be very pleased (though we are yet to try any homemade cheese from her :( ).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 25 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Artisan Cheese Making at Home: Techniques & Recipes for Mastering World-Class Cheeses (Hardcover)
This book Is layer out beautifully and easy to follow. There is a good foreword, pictures for the cheeses and a great recipe repertoire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version, 16 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book for reference and a good read on cheese making, however now need a hard copy as I think I prefer my reference books to be a book -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Artisan Cheese Making at Home: Techniques & Recipes for Mastering World-Class Cheeses (Hardcover)
Learning
I also have Paul Peacocks book which is very good too - I think you need that one first to get the basics going then I use this to advance. Im combining ideas from both now. Its good to have different perspective too.
As a Book
It beautiful - great quality pictures, pages, etc.. in this respect it knocks Pauls (still very good book) - into the corner. Pauls is of course priced appropriately and I think of the two - for the beginner its very important.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Clear and instuctive, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Artisan Cheese Making at Home: Techniques & Recipes for Mastering World-Class Cheeses (Hardcover)
This is an american book so some of the measurements might need a bit of translating, however it is wonderfully written, and so clear and concise. It is laid out in order of experience so you learn new techniques with each new cheese you make, as you go through the book. That is such a fantastic idea as cheese making can be a bit tricky. This book also puts a lot of importance on cleanliness as cheese can be a breeding ground for the wrong types of bacteria.

The first few cheeses are incredibly cheap to make, and as the book goes on you can buy little bits that you need so it never gets stupidly expensive. I bought 3 cheese making books with this one, and this is by far my favourite one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Artisan Cheese Making at Home: Techniques & Recipes for Mastering World-Class Cheeses
£25.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews