Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Key muscles review
If you want to know more about the science behind what yoga does and which muscles are engaged and how then this book is fantastic. It's a standard text for yoga instructors and the combination of illustrations and insightful text are very well done and most informative.
Published on 22 Dec 2009 by C. Morris

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't translate to kindle
What a shame. This book could have been a great resource, but the images are too small, and their accompanying text too tiny to read unless you already know the names of the muscles and can work them out from prior knowledge. I guess that's why a 30 book sells for 5. Frustratingly, I'll probably have to buy hard copy too.
Published 2 months ago by Ruth Oakley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Key muscles review, 22 Dec 2009
By 
C. Morris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Key Muscles of Yoga: Your Guide to Functional Anatomy in Yoga (Scientific Keys): 1 (Paperback)
If you want to know more about the science behind what yoga does and which muscles are engaged and how then this book is fantastic. It's a standard text for yoga instructors and the combination of illustrations and insightful text are very well done and most informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best yoga anatomy book available, 7 Oct 2010
This review is from: Key Muscles of Yoga: Your Guide to Functional Anatomy in Yoga (Scientific Keys): 1 (Paperback)
As a Yoga teacher this, and it's companion book on the muscle usage in asanas, is probably the best and most useful yoga anatomy book I have seen. It offers very clear and precise details of the muscle engagement in each asana without being overly technical. It also offers very clear explanations which can be utilised in explaining postures to beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have Bible on the muscoskeletal workings of key Yoga postures!, 11 Jun 2012
This review is from: Key Muscles of Yoga: Your Guide to Functional Anatomy in Yoga (Scientific Keys): 1 (Paperback)
When I was studying to become a Yoga Teacher I found this book and others by the same Author extremely helpful in understanding which Asanas (postures) worked specific areas of the muscuskeletal system. Highly recommended for studying Yoga teachers and any committed Yoga practitioners wishing to deepen their knowledge of the benefits of Yoga on our muscle & skeletal system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Key Muscles of Yoga: Your Guide to Functional Anatomy in Yoga (Scientific Keys): 1, 27 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Key Muscles of Yoga: Your Guide to Functional Anatomy in Yoga (Scientific Keys): 1 (Paperback)
Wow, this book is a real eye-opener and really gets down into the details of what goes on when your body is in the various asanas. This has helped me a lot in personal practice and in my training. The book is a little on the pricey side but it is worth getting if you are serious about your practice and development. There is a second volume Key Poses of Yoga: Your Guide to Functional Anatomy in Yoga: 2 (Scientific Keys) but this one will have to wait a little longer due to the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful & Informative, 20 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Key Muscles of Yoga: Your Guide to Functional Anatomy in Yoga (Scientific Keys): 1 (Paperback)
This book is incredibly interesting & informative and contains the best and most beautiful anatomy illustrations I think I have ever seen. A must have if you have any interest in furthering your yoga practice or even if you are just interested in the miracle of human anatomy. Very highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Key Muscles of Yoga: Your Guide to Functional Anatomy in Yoga (Scientific Keys): 1 (Paperback)
I highly recommend this book for anyone looking to deepen their knowledge of yoga anatomy and physiology. It is beautifully illustrated and packed full of fantastic information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab resource for yoga teachers, 23 Jun 2011
By 
George A. Watts (Mid Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Key Muscles of Yoga: Your Guide to Functional Anatomy in Yoga (Scientific Keys): 1 (Paperback)
As a yoga teacher I'm always on the lookout for resources that will help make my classes more interesting. I've got 2 or 3 other yoga anatomy books, but this is my favourite. Other great resources for yoga teachers include: Yoga Teacher Business Kit [CD] [DVD], Yoga Teacher Lesson Plan Kit [CD] [DVD], Quick Yoga Sites [DVD] and Yoga Studio Business Plan Kit on CD [DVD].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I'm happy with the book, 7 July 2014
This review is from: Key Muscles of Yoga: Your Guide to Functional Anatomy in Yoga (Scientific Keys): 1 (Paperback)
Received today, thanks for the efficient delivery! I'm happy with the book, its much better than my other yoga anatomy book, so clear and concise, the illustrations are great. I have bought one other book by this same author from another supplier and can't wait to get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't translate to kindle, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a shame. This book could have been a great resource, but the images are too small, and their accompanying text too tiny to read unless you already know the names of the muscles and can work them out from prior knowledge. I guess that's why a 30 book sells for 5. Frustratingly, I'll probably have to buy hard copy too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So clear, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Key Muscles of Yoga: Your Guide to Functional Anatomy in Yoga (Scientific Keys): 1 (Paperback)
This series is extremely clear and useful, especially when explaining to students with little or no anatomy knowledge as the illustrations are so simple - in the most positive way.

App's have now surpassed these books for me however as seeing the body in motion is much more beneficial in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews