Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Negan's game. Part one
Twentieth volume in the series of paperbacks which collects issues of the Walking Dead, a horror comic that follows the exploits of a group of characters trying to survive after the world is overrun by Zombies.

This collects issues 115-120 of the monthly comic. Thus it's not really a jumping on point. New readers should begin with volume one.

As...
Published 4 months ago by Paul Tapner

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Also bought as a birthday gift
Purchased as a gift for a family member who collects this series. Not my cup of tea but if that's what someone else is reading then fine. Purchased with Vols 18 & 19
Published 3 months ago by Mr. Graham Bawden


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Negan's game. Part one, 12 Mar 2014
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 20: All Out War Part 1 TP (Paperback)
Twentieth volume in the series of paperbacks which collects issues of the Walking Dead, a horror comic that follows the exploits of a group of characters trying to survive after the world is overrun by Zombies.

This collects issues 115-120 of the monthly comic. Thus it's not really a jumping on point. New readers should begin with volume one.

As ever, this volume runs all six of the issues together into one long narrative. It does have some work from an inker on the art, which is new. But you probably won't notice anything different.

This one picks up from the end of volume nineteen, with Rick and his people on the way to war with Negan and his.

Rick has a plan. The attack begins. But will all his allies deliver?

And what might happen if Negan gets the chance to fight back?

This volume is subtitled all out war: part one. Thus you can tell from the off that it will end on a cliffhanger, and things won't all be resolved by the final page. It is a gripping read throughout, though, with excellent action moments plus some strong character ones as well.

But when it really becomes unforgettable is in the last third. Surprises and shocks abound amidst the action. Plus, as regular readers will know, nobody is safe. So you can't be sure if anyone is going to make it through.

Finishing with a big cliffhanger, this is a great volume. Roll on the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rick vs Negan, 17 Jun 2014
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 20: All Out War Part 1 TP (Paperback)
When superhero comics do purely fight stories, they tend to be pretty terrible (like Marvel’s AVX or DC’s Trinity War), but when The Walking Dead does it? Home run!

Maybe it’s because Robert Kirkman’s built up the characters over so long that we now care about them, or maybe it’s because the characters aren’t decades-old superheroes who will never die. Maybe it’s a more tense situation as Kirkman’s shown that he has no issues with taking out major characters to shake up a story.

Or maybe it’s because the story is more realistic – if a character gets shot, they go down, they don’t keep going because they don’t have superpowers. I think it’s because we all know Rick’s going to kill Negan and we’re waiting for that moment to come. At any rate, The Walking Dead’s latest and greatest storyline featuring a very small scale war between Rick’s group and Negan’s is completely engrossing.

Kirkman wastes no time in sending Rick out to formally declare war by striking first against Negan’s factory, and from then on the rest of the book follows how Rick’s forces fare against Negan’s outposts, the two characters pitting their tactics against one another in a desperate fight to the death. Lots of characters die followed with lots of twists and turns – I don’t want to give away details but I thought Kirkman’s plotting was absolutely first rate. I especially liked how Rick uses the zombies as tools in his plans!

The “Part 1” of the title might annoy some readers who were looking to see this conflict resolved in one volume, like when the Governor attacked the prison earlier in the series, but Negan has proved to be a more resilient and complex character than the Governor who won’t go down so easily. Plus this conflict is a much larger and more ambitious story than any other attempted so far and Kirkman crams in so many awesome set pieces that there’s no way this could be a done-in-one story.

Even though Kirkman skims over certain plot obstacles for those surprise moments when characters seemingly pop out of nowhere, there’s still so much happening in this book that you need at least one more volume to do the arc justice. And really, when you hit a rich narrative vein like this, why would you want it over sooner rather than later? Especially when things get turned up to 11 in the final act when Negan reveals a secret weapon that completely changes the balance of the war in his favour…

Jesus continues to be awesome in his action hero role, I love that Maggie’s playing a bigger role, Rick continues to flourish as a leader, now assuming the role of military commander, and Negan continues to baffle with his behaviour – he doesn’t condone rape but he doesn’t blink when it comes to murdering his own people? What a bizarre morality he has! I can’t nail down his character nor guess what he’s about to do next which is a big part of his appeal.

All Out War Part 1 is a fantastic read – it’s all killer, no filler and longtime readers of the series will love it. It’s blisteringly paced and you’ll fly through this in one sitting, wishing you had the next volume to hand immediately after (and if you’re reading this in the future, grab all parts of All Out War and read it as one!). Totally thrilling stuff, the series is at its best the more Rick and co. are up against it and never before have they been in more trouble than with evil Fonzie at their gates - 20 volumes in and the series has never been more exciting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing as always, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I dont normaly buy graphic novels but i have to say im rather hooked on this one. i love how the tv show has taken differant turnes as it gives somthing totaly new to read with each issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New exciting adventures of human survivors in a dark vision of future, 11 Mar 2014
By 
Denis Vukosav - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 20: All Out War Part 1 TP (Paperback)
‘The Walking Dead, Vol. 20’ by Robert Kirkman is latest release of popular zombie comic series which describe the dystopian world ruled by undead that beside its illustrated version infected the entire planet with excellent TV-series. This compilation consists of TWD issues from 115 to 120, which were all imaginatively and ominously illustrated by masterful drawings made by Charlie Adlard.

As I wrote in the review for the previous installment, no matter how often can be heard objections that TWD pace dropped a bit, this is still a story that we all eagerly follow expecting to see how it finishes or perhaps hoping that there is a chance to take the world back to the state as it was before the zombie outbreak. Some of the TV seasons and comic issues seem like fillers, like the authors ran out of inspiration or are simply reaping the fruits of labor repeating the same proven formula, but then suddenly something happens which shows how Kirkman had an idea from the beginning, and that all things are put together in an interesting mosaic while parts of the puzzle are slowly given to us.

Although it is hard to believe that there is someone who has just now heard of this franchise, or did not knew that TV-series is based on comics, the recommendations for its reading certainly stands as the comics are providing an additional aspect of imagination that the TV-series lacks keeping readers thrilled while taking part in the adventures of the survivors which are in greater danger from the other remaining people, but the zombies.

In its twentieth installment war between the factions is the main theme – the Saviors on one side, while Kingdom, Hilltop and Alexandra Safe-Zone are united on the second, the tide of war is changing and it is uncertain to predict anything…

What makes me particularly happy about this sequel is that unlike some of the earlier installments the elements of additional character development, emotions and good interaction among the protagonists are again present - all the things that marked the start of the series, but later gradually fell in the background. In this installment there will also be some deaths that I will not discover not to spoil the thrill, but it certainly would be surprising to readers who may have forgotten some similar situations in the past when on few pages many important characters disappeared without author’s mercy.

Overall, TWD 20 is another sequel for which many will say that it’s a filler and hardened fans will swear it’s brilliant, but nevertheless we all will read it because it delivers new exciting adventures of human survivors in a dark vision of future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 20: All Out War Part 1 TP (Paperback)
Was good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs Up!, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 20: All Out War Part 1 TP (Paperback)
This is the only volume of The Walking Dead to be labelled as part one of something. A subtle clue that things are about to change - or another marketing guru’s great idea. Like you aren’t going to buy the next volume, and the next, and the next.
Kirkman does a great job of showing you the scale of what is going to be The Walking Dead’s mano-a-mano conflict. Not just in terms of numbers but the ideologies at stake here. Both Rick and Negan see the folly of conflict but neither has it within them to back down. Each gives their own version of Henry V’s speech to their followers.
The dead only have one weapon but when humans go to war the tactics and arms are far more devastating. By the end you are wondering if anyone will be left standing when the smoke clears. We lose some people here but as readers we have learnt not to grow attached to the new people we meet so loss doesn’t have the impact it once did.
The art is fabulous. On first reading it is so subtle and elegant that you don’t notice just how skilled Adlard is. But going back it is easy to see that it is so in tune with the story that it appears invisible. There is great work going on with the visuals and everything is running like clockwork.
Thumbs Up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 20: All Out War Part 1 TP (Paperback)
Love these comics totally hooked. Easy fast read that has you hooked from start and doesn't matter if you have or haven't watched TV show brilliant x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BUY IF YOU LOVE THE WALKING DEAD, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 20: All Out War Part 1 TP (Paperback)
Loved every onw that was brought out and still love this one best graphic novels ever written I highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb., 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 20: All Out War Part 1 TP (Paperback)
Several years ago I chanced upon the first Walking Dead TPB in a local comic shop, and have been an avid reader ever since. This volume continues the outstanding level of quality in plot, artwork, character development and everything else that one has come to expect from Kirkman et al. The tension is palpable; I find myself both savouring this and impatiently crawling the web for release dates for volume 21, which cannot come soon enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Walking Dead is back to its best!, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 20: All Out War Part 1 TP (Paperback)
This was one of my favourite volumes since the prison ark. I would say the only thing I don't like about it is the constant running back and forth. I think that is the only negative of the T.V show, but it seems to have crept into the book a little. It is not a big negative at all though. The story is fast paced. The action is great. The author tells the story in a slightly different way half-way through, which I really liked. It gave a different feel to the whole thing. I am very excited about the next book. This is still my favourite series. I feel like the last few volumes have been slow and dragging a little, but this book sort of showed why that had to happen. Everything is coming together and I can't wait to see where it goes. Like always the book ended on a good cliff hanger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Walking Dead Volume 20: All Out War Part 1 TP
The Walking Dead Volume 20: All Out War Part 1 TP by Robert Kirkman (Paperback - 12 Mar 2014)
10.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews