Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift
Bought as a present for a friend who has become addicted to the TV series and now the graphic novels too! She loves it, and me for giving it to her!
Published 4 months ago by Simon Ladbrook

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jesus saves!
Nothing dramatic happened in this one in comparison to the others. Although it kept the integrity and continuity of the storyline. It felt like a filler episode though.
Published 6 months ago by ollydiva


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The smallest war ever begins!, 12 Jun 2014
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 19 TP: March to War (Paperback)
After 19 volumes of The Walking Dead, I’ve gotten a feel for how this series works – or at least I thought I did. Usually after a couple of exciting books full of action, Robert Kirkman takes a volume to cool things off and have the characters talk about what just happened. That’s what volume 19 started out like and I thought, bah, another boring build-up book – and then the second half EXPLODED!

Rick and Jesus are assembling a force to take down Negan, recruiting fighters from Hilltop and the Kingdom without Negan knowing about the tsunami that’s brewing right under his nose. But then he inadvertently kicks things off when he goes to Rick’s place to collect tribute while Rick’s away in the Kingdom making plans. Now this war is on!

It’s tricky reviewing a series this far deep into the story. Chances are if you’re still interested in this series, you’re going to read volume 19 whether the reviews say it’s good or not, in which case you’ve already read this and know what happened, so whatever I say won’t be a spoiler. On the other hand, maybe you’re reading this review and you’ve not read this far yet and want to know if it’s still a good series, in which case I don’t want to give away plot points, especially in this volume as they’re pretty damn surprising! At any rate, I’ll err on the side of caution and keep spoilers out of this review.

The thing you should know is when you put Rick and Negan together, sparks fly (and not the romantic kind)! The tension between these two is cray-cray and Kirkman knows readers are waiting for the moment when Rick kills Negan (it couldn’t be the other way round - could it?) and tantalisingly plays with that expectation here to thrilling effect. With this opening salvo, who lives and who dies?

And I have to say, if the Christian Jesus were half as cool as the Jesus in this book is, I’d have converted years ago! He appears and disappears from rooms without a whisper, he’s deadly without guns or knives, he moves like a ninja – he’s basically Batman without the outfit! I know Kirkman’s got a tendency to take out characters on a whim and, besides Glenn, there hasn’t been a character death – out of the dozens – in the 19 volumes that’s really stuck out, but I’d be really upset if Jesus got the axe! But you know if he did and he became zombie Jesus, someone would make the “I thought he was supposed to rise after 3 days, not 30 minutes!” line.

Also some of Kirkman’s trademark awkward dialogue makes an appearance here. Andrea repeatedly says to herself “we don’t die” referring to her and Rick, which doesn’t sound so much like dialogue as Andrea reading Kirkman’s notes after he forgot to write her lines.

Volume 19 starts slow but begins sprinting at the halfway mark and doesn’t stop until the end – it’s an absolutely blistering read! This human war – amidst the zombie apocalypse of all things – has begun and it looks like it’s gonna be the best thing to have happened to the series yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 13 Mar 2014
By 
Simon Ladbrook (Westminster, London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 19 TP: March to War (Paperback)
Bought as a present for a friend who has become addicted to the TV series and now the graphic novels too! She loves it, and me for giving it to her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Black and white and read all over, 5 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 19 TP: March to War (Paperback)
The story running through issues #109-114 of Image Comics; ‘The Walking Dead’ is collected as The Walking Dead Volume 19 TP: March to War. This is my first Walking Dead comic, though I have read the author’s excellent ‘Invincible’ series, so I thought I should give it a go. I wasn’t expecting much – more fool me, having read Invincible in its entirety in the space of a month – having seen some zombie comics in the last Free Comic Book Day bundle, and was not impressed by their quality, and having no interest in zombies for their own sake. However, imagine my surprise to find no zombies – apart from one or two wandering about as part of the scenery – and instead finding myself in The Day of the Triffids (Penguin Modern Classics), or Survivors - Series 1-3 Box Set [DVD] [1975]; though with more firepower on display. This was an excellent post-apocalypse story, as several communities who are being intimidated/oppressed by another group with superior firepower, organise themselves in order to throw off the yoke of imperialism and the rule of the lawless – “no taxation without representation” being a phrase that springs to mind.

Although there is obviously a lot of back-story, this being volume 19, I was able to easily follow the storyline, pick up references to the on-going situation, and understand what was going on, without any trouble; and many of the problems (and opportunities) that the various communities experience were masterfully shown, but ‘in passing’, as part of the flow of the story and dialogue, not in exposition or overly dramatic scenes – all a great tribute to the writing skills of Robert Kirkman.

I shall now hunt down the rest of the series in my local libraries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intensity Increases, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It feels like the slightest hint towards the many events which take place within this volume would not do justice so... at this point anyone who has kept up with the series to this point will continue to be blown over by the sheer tension which has amounted with recent happenings, so buy and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs Up!, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 19 TP: March to War (Paperback)
This is an excellent volume. There is a buzz, a tingle in the air. The excitement of a plan coming together. As the communities prepare to stand together there is a gripping tension that pervades this volume.

There are still some nice character touches and the reappearance of someone you may have forgotten about. Kirkman doesn’t do what you expect which is why after all this time The Walking Dead still seems fresh and novel.

The art is great and there is the return of the double page spread, one of which is a classic rug-pull. The character expressions are wonderful and there are some really nice close-ups.

A great volume that uses tension masterfully and makes you cling on for dear life until the next book. Thumbs Up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 19 TP: March to War (Paperback)
still keeps getting better and better and full of surprizes as what the human race that is left would do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars how much longer..., 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 19 TP: March to War (Paperback)
I am starting to wonder how long Mr Kirkman can keep this going.
That said tension character development and moody art work never disappoint.I am sure I cant be alone in thinking that Rick is close to meeting his maker and passing the baton to Carl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The brilliant series continues, 14 Dec 2013
By 
K. Trebell (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 19 TP: March to War (Paperback)
The latest collection from the walking dead sees Rik and the group dealing with the aftermath of Negus and his brutality and attempting to build an alliance to overcome him and win back their freedom.

This story is something of a slow burner but it builds to an exciting conclusion and hints that major events are on the way.

The quality and strength of the characters and world continues here and it builds nicely from the shocking events of the last book. We also finally get to see Ezekiel and his cat in action!

Another great episode in a brilliant series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't wait, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 19 TP: March to War (Paperback)
The next compendium is to far away so I resorted to buying the volumes. Fantastic series. Hope it goes on for a long time yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Headminding, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 19 TP: March to War (Paperback)
Another great suspense storyline, i felt the graphic seems to be a let down.Can't wait to see the next volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Walking Dead Volume 19 TP: March to War
The Walking Dead Volume 19 TP: March to War by Robert Kirkman (Paperback - 19 Nov 2013)
10.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews