Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dystopian future, defended by supersoldiers, and apparently run by the Scots
The story running through issues #1-4 of Image Comics’ new series from Greg Ruka and Michael Lark is collected as Lazarus Volume 1 TP. This is an expertly written and superbly illustrated story. The setting is sketched in with a caption and a bit of dialogue here and there; no exposition or huge chunks of descriptive detail are needed for the reader to be able to...
Published 1 month ago by No More Mr. Mice Guy

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didnt really click with me,
I could see why some may like it, it just didnt click with me,
that being that im more a Green Lantern, Batman and Spiderman, The Walking Dead and Saga fan
Published 7 months ago by Manny Inayatullah


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dystopian future, defended by supersoldiers, and apparently run by the Scots, 6 Sep 2014
By 
No More Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The story running through issues #1-4 of Image Comics’ new series from Greg Ruka and Michael Lark is collected as Lazarus Volume 1 TP. This is an expertly written and superbly illustrated story. The setting is sketched in with a caption and a bit of dialogue here and there; no exposition or huge chunks of descriptive detail are needed for the reader to be able to read between the lines with just a glance and for a fully-formed world to manifest, such is the skill of the creative team. I can write a paragraph here to describe the setting of the story, and that would be more descriptive text than the writer needed to use.

THE SPOILER ZONE
This is a dystopian/post apocalyptic sort of future based on Mafia families and stories – though the rulers are not the Mafia as such. In fact the ones we meet all have Scottish surnames, though that must be just a coincidence, surely…? Anyway, the only people who matter are members of the Families; they have ‘serfs’ who work for them and the rest of the population are ‘the Waste’. Think about all the ‘good’ Mafia stories you have seen, and it falls in to place.

Each Family has a Lazarus – a super-soldier who is the protector/hitman for the family members and who works directly for the Father.

The first issue introduces all the players, sets up their characters and the background. It seemed fairly obvious what was going on, and there are a few obvious plot lines for future development. However, it is still a masterfully constructed and illustrated story – you don’t just create such a complex world that the reader can understand straight off without careful planning.

THE SPOILER ZONE
For a detailed breakdown of the individual issues, see Lazarus Volume 1 TP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing near-future story that will blow you away!, 21 Nov 2013
By 
M. Middleton "stewartmiddleton2" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lazarus Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
A gripping, fantastically-drawn story by 2 comic legends. The near future: power and wealth are now concentrated not in the hands of governments or corporations, but cartel-like Families, who own their own compounds and territories. And like the present-day cartels and governments, each is trying to gain the upper hand over the other...
This is where their Lazarus comes in, each Family having created a semi-artificial being who is part superspy, part Terminator-like killing machine.
But what happens to a killing machine that starts to have...doubts? Read it and find out. 10 stars, never mind 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dystopian future, defended by supersoldiers, and apparently run by the Scots, 9 Jun 2014
By 
No More Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The story running through issues #1-4 of Image Comics’ new series from Greg Ruka and Michael Lark is collected as Lazarus Volume 1 TP. This is an expertly written and superbly illustrated story. The setting is sketched in with a caption and a bit of dialogue here and there; no exposition or huge chunks of descriptive detail are needed for the reader to be able to read between the lines with just a glance and for a fully-formed world to manifest, such is the skill of the creative team. I can write a paragraph here to describe the setting of the story, and that would be more descriptive text than the writer needed to use.

THE SPOILER ZONE
This is a dystopian/post apocalyptic sort of future based on Mafia families and stories – though the rulers are not the Mafia as such. In fact the ones we meet all have Scottish surnames, though that must be just a coincidence, surely…? Anyway, the only people who matter are members of the Families; they have ‘serfs’ who work for them and the rest of the population are ‘the Waste’. Think about all the ‘good’ Mafia stories you have seen, and it falls in to place.

Each Family has a Lazarus – a super-soldier who is the protector/hitman for the family members and who works directly for the Father.

We join this story as the Carlyle family Lazarus is attacked just as another Family launches an assault on a Carlyle facility. These scenes introduce all the players, set up their characters, and sets the wheels in motion for this introductory story. It seemed fairly obvious what was going on, and there are a few obvious plot lines for future development. However, it is still a masterfully constructed and illustrated story – you don’t just create such a complex world that the reader can understand straight off without careful planning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dystopian future, defended by supersoldiers, and apparently run by the Scots, 21 May 2014
By 
No More Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lazarus Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
The story running through issues #1-4 of Image Comics' new series from Greg Ruka and Michael Lark is collected as Lazarus Volume 1 TP. This is an expertly written and superbly illustrated story. The setting is sketched in with a caption and a bit of dialogue here and there; no exposition or huge chunks of descriptive detail are needed for the reader to be able to read between the lines with just a glance and for a fully-formed world to manifest, such is the skill of the creative team. I can write a paragraph here to describe the setting of the story, and that would be more descriptive text than the writer needed to use.

THE SPOILER ZONE
This is a dystopian/post apocalyptic sort of future based on Mafia families and stories - though the rulers are not the Mafia as such. In fact the ones we meet all have Scottish surnames, though that must be just a coincidence, surely...? Anyway, the only people who matter are members of the Families; they have `serfs' who work for them and the rest of the population are `the Waste'. Think about all the `good' Mafia stories you have seen, and it falls in to place.

Each Family has a Lazarus - a super-soldier who is the protector/hitman for the family members and who works directly for the Father.

The first issue introduces all the players, sets up their characters and the background. It seemed fairly obvious what was going on, and there are a few obvious plot lines for future development. However, it is still a masterfully constructed and illustrated story - you don't just create such a complex world that the reader can understand straight off without careful planning.

Issue #1 opens with the Carlyle family's Lazarus being violently killed in the middle of a burglary. However, she gets up after a minute or two and kills the intruders, introducing us to the world of a Lazarus. She is then sent out to the site of a recent attack on a Carlyle Family facility, where she is forced to execute an innocent staff member as a scapegoat. These scenes, and the interpersonal interactions surrounding them, introduce all the players and background information, without the need for any expository captions whatever.

Issue #2 gives us a look inside the Lazarus, courtesy of a medical scanner, followed by a look inside the Family, courtesy of various Family members interacting, arguing and plotting. We also discover that Eve (A.K.A. Forever), the Lazarus is not genetically a member of the Carlisle Family, though she doesn't know it. We also have our suspicions raised that one of the Brothers is a loony troublemaker, and is up to something with one of his sisters. Eve is then sent on a secret mission to the Family Moray, in Mexico, who were responsible for the attack in issue #1.

Issue #3 sees Eve as a guest of the Family Moray Lazarus (Joacquim) in Mexico, awaiting the arrival of the head of Family Carlisle. Brother Jonah in LA is getting very nervous that his father has discovered what he and his sister Johanna are up to, and decides that Eve will not be returning from Mexico... where she is negotiating peace terms with the Morays. On their arrival at the Border, the two Lazaruses (Lazarii?) are attacked...

Issue #4 sees Forever fighting off an attack by Carlisle commandos, while Johanna prepares her alibi, and Jonah panics. There is a hint of attraction between Joacquim and Forever, and on the final page, Forever gets an anonymous email hinting at something that we already know about the Lazaruses...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast, fierce and fictional, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lazarus Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
Post apocalyptic, dystopian game of thrones about rich people double crossing each other and the likable pawns in their power struggles. There are twists and turns which manage to be neither boringly predictable nor unsatisfying obtuse. It rumbles along at an astounding pace without sacrificing story line, violence is gratifying without being unnecessary and the characters range from deviously abhorrent (without becoming too cliched) to tantalizingly grey. The 'Sci' element lends credibility to the events and technologies without becoming tiresome while the 'Fi' is contextualized through recognizable and relatable concepts widely considered plausible in our own uncertain future. It maintains both heart and mind though is devoid of sentimentality. The art is super good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars increadible combo, 28 Dec 2013
By 
Andreas Hurtsen "Bp" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lazarus Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
The Rucka/Lark combo is fantastic. And the futuristic storyline is simple, horrible and curious questions. I really look forward to the next issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely fantastic graphic novel!, 14 Sep 2014
This review is from: Lazarus Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
Greg Rucka has exceeded all expectations with this new series. Volume 1 has masterful world building, and a very unique character in the form of a genetically modified human named Forever Carlyle. The near future dystopia is not cliché as most dystopian fictions are, and the structure of the world's political sphere is based on family control over different areas. Would really recommend picking this graphic novel up, and the four page 'preview' at the back of the book that wasn't shown in any of the floppies/single issues is really great and delves deeper into the dynamic between Forever and her father.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really different and has staying power, 1 April 2014
By 
P. Cranfield - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lazarus Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
I have to admit to being a fan of most of Greg Rucka's work, so I came to this in the hope that it would be a good read. In fact it's more than that. When working with Michael Lark he seems to come into his own, and this is no exception.

A great start to what become a really strong fan cult favourite series. The concepts of the Lazaruses (Lazari?) protecting the families from outsiders and each other is a really intrguing one and I hope it will be given the time to develop and unravel.

Great start, guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A new series that shows promise, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lazarus Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
I'm not gonna give spoilers so I'll just say that I like the genre and gave it a chance and I'm glad I did and I'm now patiently waiting for the next episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 17 Dec 2013
This review is from: Lazarus Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
Rucka created a fascinating world in which the wealthy are few and powerful while the poor are many and often hopeless. It's a world of intrigue, schemes and violence, but rays of humanity shine through, mainly thanks to the titular Lazarus - Forever Carlyle. The first trade paperback is by no means huge, but manages to be satisfying, neatly characterizing the core characters, introducing us to the world and laying the groundwork for future intrigues while also presenting us with a good story.
Michael Lark's dynamic action scenes also deserve a mention, as they move smoothly and pack a punch. The quiet scenes, too, are handled very well, with lots of little details. It would be criminal not to mention Santi Arcas' colours, as they constitue a large part of the books feel.
The first volume of Lazaurs is, simply put, awesome and I can't wait for the next one to come out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lazarus Volume 1 TP
Lazarus Volume 1 TP by Greg Rucka (Paperback - 22 Oct 2013)
£6.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews