Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boux! Another Splendid Collection!
Volume 1 of Prophet was one of my favourite comic title of last year, if not THE favourite. It was a stunning read; grown up science-fiction storytelling of the highest order. It immediately brought to mind the works of Moebius, and his work in Metal Hurlant (Heavy Metal) magazine, as well as works from other prolific sci-fi writers and artists.

In this volume...
Published 17 months ago by Mabs (Nexus Wookie)

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 90's Image Comics by way of French sci-fi epics
I love this series (despite my rating, I'll explain later), and love Graham's work in general. The story now begins to focus on Old Man Prophet, who wants to stop the Earth Empire from being resurrected (against the mission of one John Prophet....). The story focuses on him bringing back the last remaining (surviving...) members of his old group, and some of his back...
Published 16 months ago by DPVC


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boux! Another Splendid Collection!, 5 July 2013
This review is from: Prophet Volume 2: Brothers TP (Paperback)
Volume 1 of Prophet was one of my favourite comic title of last year, if not THE favourite. It was a stunning read; grown up science-fiction storytelling of the highest order. It immediately brought to mind the works of Moebius, and his work in Metal Hurlant (Heavy Metal) magazine, as well as works from other prolific sci-fi writers and artists.

In this volume the story opens up further as we learn more about Father Prophet, whom we glimpsed at the end of volume 1. Gradually we learn why he loathes the Earth Empire so much, of which he was once its brightest star. But he has come to realise the Earth Empire's cruelty and so, with his allies in tow, plans to strike a deathblow to her far reaching hands. And hence a character we viewed as an antagonist in the closing stages of the last volume, becomes our protagonist. We even start to feel sympathy towards him especially as we learn more about his life, from lost love, betrayal, and in the present his close friendship with four others;

Jaxson: who we first saw in the last volume seeking his friend, he resembles a robot.
Diehard: once a human but his exo-skeleton is now his only identity. He craves for normalcy and a link with his past.
Hiyonhaoiagn: the 'old tree' who is basically, a walking talking tree, setting roots where ever he decides to sit. He has a penchant for 'fire water', a liquid which I presume is like an alien version of Vodka, but a 100 times more potent - and flammable!
Rain - East: a lizard like humanoid. An assassin whom John free's on the Scale World.

These characters are one of the reasons why this comic is such an enjoyable read. They may appear alien in appearance, but they share a mutual respect and love for one another. In the case of Diehard, there is a beautiful moment in the comic when we see him starring at Rain-East, her reflection visible on his smooth featureless face. It is obvious he yearns for her. There's also a hilarious moment later on, involving Rain-East and her 'biological mass'. The comic is full of moments like these which provide light relief, against the backdrop of war and ever present danger.

We also have a single issue following the 'tailed Prophet' from the last volume and his exploits, wherein he is side tracked from his mission as he is captured by a alien war race and made to work in the 'weapon fields', which resemble paddy fields but war heads grown instead of rice! He teams up with a few of his imprisoned comrades and plots to escape their captors. By the end, he too like Father Prophet has become detached from the Earth Empire's control.

Brandon Graham along with his co-writers continues to guide this series in a direction which very few comics can match. And the artwork for Prophet is absolutely magnificent. Although we have only two artists on board this time (as opposed to four last time round, in fact five if you include Emma Rios' short story), the artwork within this trade is simply aweinspiring. Whether Giannis Milonogiannis' beautiful expressive style, or Farel Dalrymple's solo issue, with his amazing double page spreads - the artwork for Prophet is simply a class apart.

This is a breath-taking collection of adult science fiction comic. It can get a little difficult to follow at times, but that's part of the fun - going back to the previous issues looking for clues and in the process just admiring the depth and scope of the series. Image's other sci-fi hit, Saga is rightly an acclaimed series, both in Vaughan's script and Fiona Staples' superb artwork. But for me, Prophet is something else entirely......

And that extra bit special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looks good and encourages thought, 6 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prophet Volume 2: Brothers TP (Paperback)
The artwork is incredible and a pleasant change for the mainstream Marvel stuff (which can bit hit, miss or generic)
The characters and ideas are really left field which make it a refreshing read that catches you of guard in a good way
It definitely needs a couple of re-reads and is of no use without part one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great art, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prophet Volume 2: Brothers TP (Paperback)
Great story - great art - story flows well as the character reincarnates - recognizing the face on the different characters as the story evolves gives an extra depth to the story - love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing., 10 Aug 2013
By 
A. Forrest - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prophet Volume 2: Brothers TP (Paperback)
Great artwork, great "story". Its just as imaginative as the first book, where they keep throwing stuff at you that you (i felt anyway) could never think of yourself. Its like you showing electricity to someone a 100 years ago. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 90's Image Comics by way of French sci-fi epics, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prophet Volume 2: Brothers TP (Paperback)
I love this series (despite my rating, I'll explain later), and love Graham's work in general. The story now begins to focus on Old Man Prophet, who wants to stop the Earth Empire from being resurrected (against the mission of one John Prophet....). The story focuses on him bringing back the last remaining (surviving...) members of his old group, and some of his back story too.
Now to explain my rating. The art style is without a doubt, an acquired taste. I loved it personally and it brought to mind the French comic artist Moebius. This won't be too everyone's taste. Those who love the artwork of modern superhero sagas, stay away....you've been warned.
The story/plot could do with some coherence, but I wasn't put off by this. A lot of the concepts in the story are implied, and you are definitely left with some food for thought.
A lot of the story is passed through narration, with not a lot of focus on dialogue.
Old fans of Image series can also find a few homages too (particularly Supreme...) among the truly alien (and alienating) concepts and images through the story.
Its worth noting too that you will have to read the first volume to truly get to grips with the story. You can't pick up from here even though a 'new' protagonist is introduced.
You will either grow to love this series, or be left cold by it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate crap, 31 Aug 2013
By 
P. Rö "Pale Rider" (Trondheim, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prophet Volume 2: Brothers TP (Paperback)
Volume 2 is even more incoherent than volume 1. It's quite a challenge to understand what's going on. In general I like science fiction, but science part totally lacks in the Prothet. How can crystals fuel a spaceship? It's just rubbish. A rewier is comparing Prophet with Moebius. I think that's sacrilegious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prophet Volume 2: Brothers TP
Prophet Volume 2: Brothers TP by Brandon Graham (Paperback - 9 July 2013)
£10.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews