Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The "best original Sci-Fi title" keeps up the momentum, 22 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saga Volume 2 (Paperback)
Saga Volume 2 is a collection of issues 7-12 of Image's blockbuster Sci-Fi series. If you're looking at this and haven't read the first book then my advice would be to pick that up and give it a read. Although my review is "spoiler free" this book is entirely a continuation of Saga Volume 1 TP and therefore makes it an essential pre-read.

There is an awful lot to love here, bold colours and simple line art create a semi-retro style (maybe an early-days Byrne) yet it feels modern because of the distinct variations in palette for the different characters and locations. Considering that quite a number of panels in this book take place in space, Staples has turned what could be a boring empty void into something very visually engaging with bold blacks and reds. Something that can be quite hard to achieve in Sci-Fi books.

The writing is fun and witty. Vaughan has a great handle on his characters as the backgrounds behind some of the distinctive personalities we met in Vol 1 are explored. The dialogue is very fluid, and although the story does jump between the various intertwining arcs it's a seamless transition (a process where Staples distinctive art really supports the sudden change).

So then why only 4 stars? It's a great book, and essential reading for anyone who enjoyed the first volume. However, as someone who absolutely loved the first volume, this time round I just find myself simply enjoying the journey. Which isn't that bad a thing. Vaughan and Staples haven't increased the momentum generated in the first volume, but at the same time they haven't lost any.

So in short, this is a great continuation of the most interesting Sci-Fi series in comics right now. If you enjoyed the first one, you should read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic., 22 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saga Volume 2 (Paperback)
Great story, surprises, fabulous artwork. Characters you really root for. Comes alive off the pages. Can't wait for the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing series, and one that you're either going to ..., 13 Dec. 2014
By 
Alex (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Saga Volume 2 (Paperback)
Originally bought from comixology, but want the physicals as well.
Amazing series, and one that you're either going to love or hate.
Saga is a no-holes barred Sci-fi fantasy space opera inspired by star-wars.
Everything about it feels really creative and fresh. If you're interested, the first comic of this volume (this volume being made of 6 individual comics) is free on comixology (at time of writing). So, go check that out, if you like it, buy them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, intriguing, different, 20 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saga Volume 2 (Paperback)
In the second volume of Saga, we learn more about the characters and a few new people are introduced. The series is truly compelling. The universe of Saga is so different from anything I've read, but instead of being strange, it's easy to accept as the story holds together so well. I'm really beginning to feel something, and not just for the main protagonists. It's a deep, rich universe to explore... and I want more!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saga Volume 2 (Paperback)
Just brilliant. If you aren't following this series already - you have to start. Best comic book out at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saga, Vol. 2 (Kindle Edition)
Saga is a good read, with three dimensional characters, great storyline and rich universe. It's a pity I can't get other books from the series on my Kindle Fire, they seem to have disappeared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZINGLY ADICTIVE, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saga, Vol. 2 (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book especially The Lying Cat. The Saga comics offer a very gritty theme that you don't find anywhere else
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saga Volume 2 (Paperback)
A truly great and innovative story-line which is accompanied by some superb art-work - I'm currently reading through Vol. 3 which is equally as good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 14 April 2014
By 
Daniel Baxter (Warwickshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saga Volume 2 (Paperback)
Fans of Sci-Fi & Fantasy will love Saga, and newcomers will still love it. The story deals with other-worldly plots, but with relate-able themes, including sex, marriage, loss and the concepts of war. With a good amount of well placed humor and some beautifully drawn illustrations.

Easily the best graphic novel of the last 5 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Saga is awesome, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saga Volume 2 (Paperback)
Saga is a graphic novel I would highly recommend. The writing and graphic nature of the pictures are worth every penny spent. Can't wait for next volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saga Volume 2
Saga Volume 2 by Brian K Vaughan (Paperback - 2 July 2013)
£7.69
In stock on January 29, 2015
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews