Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sets things up nicely after recent shocking events
This is the latest volume in The Walking Dead series, tales of survival in a world of the dead.

I have to admit to being stunned after the last volume of the walking dead (17) and wondering where this was going next.

Kirkman has handled this beautifully here. There's no one dimensional bad guy here and no stereotype being recycled, this is a whole...
Published 14 months ago by K. Trebell

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Getting silly.
I'm a long-standing fan of the Walking Dead in all its forms, and have been since the first trade collection came out. But where once I eagerly snapped up each new collection, I've slowly got to the point where now I'll just read it in the library, more out of mild curiosity than engagement.

Since arriving at the current compound, there's been no-one introduced...
Published 12 months ago by Paul Stapleton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sets things up nicely after recent shocking events, 8 Jun 2013
By 
K. Trebell (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Volume 18: What Comes After (Paperback)
This is the latest volume in The Walking Dead series, tales of survival in a world of the dead.

I have to admit to being stunned after the last volume of the walking dead (17) and wondering where this was going next.

Kirkman has handled this beautifully here. There's no one dimensional bad guy here and no stereotype being recycled, this is a whole new kind of monster But if this shows us anything it's that this is a new kind of Rick, a new kind of Carl and the survivors are not who they were.

This is building beautifully and I couldn't put this down racing through it in one session.

Truly gripping and a sign the series is still thriving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hope, purpose, dreams and the future all hang in the balance!, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Volume 18: What Comes After (Paperback)
This is the next chapter in what can only be described as one of the toughest spots Rick and the others can possibly find themselves in.

Do things get worse, or will thing get better from here?

Hope, purpose, dreams and the future all hang in the balance as the group try to find their feet again, cling to one and other and make the next step together... Or will they?

Time to find out...

The Walking Dead is one of the best comic book series I have ever read and reviewed! I would highly recommend this to everyone and anyone, as long as you had read the other 17 volumes so you know the characters and story thus far.

Well worth the investment - Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still walking tall, 11 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Volume 18: What Comes After (Paperback)
Like other reviewers i was beginning to think that maybe the series was losing its way, how wrong I was.
Volume 18 is back with a bang, Negan's character is awesome, the dialogue and everything about him is brilliant. He comes across a little like Merle from theTV series. Plus along with another new character who looks promising, this instalment shows the series still has plenty of legs.
If you are a fan of the TV show do not try and pick the comics up here, go back to volume 1 and enjoy the whole epic from the start.
Buy it, buy them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Walking Dead, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Volume 18: What Comes After (Paperback)
Another good volume of the series that hasn't really let us down and has been good enough to spawn a decent TV series and video games, Although one of the games is terrible (Survival Instinct) the point and click ones (Seasons one and two so far) from TellTale games are great, In fact if you like graphic novels and you like the Walking Dead ones you really should check out "The Walking Dead" games from Telltale that are available on Steam, It's basically an interactive on screen graphic novel where you get to shape the events to some extent, Things like who dies and who lives, Where you hide, when you run, It was a lot of fun, even for an old man like me. Give them a try, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Definitive Installment to the Walking Dead, 6 July 2014
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Volume 18: What Comes After (Paperback)
Following the events of the Volume 17: Something to fear, this is an extremely defining installment to the walking dead.
After being completely shocked at the seriousness of the events that occur in the previous chapter, I had no idea what to expect when begging Volume 18.
Begin to retrieve more information about 'The Saviors', but prepare to still be left wondering what the F*CEDY F*CKING F*CK goes on inside Negan's head.

A new side to many characters is discovered throughout this beautifully crafted chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Visiting Evil's House, 9 Jun 2014
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Volume 18: What Comes After (Paperback)
Evil Fonzie - he might be a nutjob but he’s not boring!

After the last volume, I said that Negan was the most two-dimensional of bad guys but Robert Kirkman gives his character some unexpected depth in this book. After Negan and his Saviors show up to collect tribute from Rick’s group, future serial killer Carl Grimes (Rick’s 12 year old son) stows away on one of Negan’s trucks - with one of Abraham’s giant machine guns!

When he’s inevitably caught, what does Negan do? I won’t spoil it but given his entrance into this series I was expecting much darker repercussions for young Carl than what he gets, and Negan’s explanation to Rick for how he dealt with Carl makes sense in the long term given what they’re doing.

Via Carl, we see what Negan’s compound looks like which is as depressing a place as you’d think. His stranglehold over the ordinary people living in the factory with him, along with some weird points system and warped laws, makes the whole place feel like a cult. We also find out the sad story behind Dwight - the Two Face-lookalike - and how his face became that way.

Negan’s a great element for the plot because whenever he shows up, the scene’s immediately tense as he’s totally unpredictable. Will he snap and brain someone else a la Glenn, or will he laugh horribly and move on? Also, now Rick and co. have an urgent goal - get rid of this psycho asap!

How to get rid of someone as seemingly all-powerful as Negan? Approach another colony for help. Rick and Jesus visit a new character, Ezekiel, who’s the leader of one of the colonies in the trade network Jesus spoke about, to join forces and topple Negan once and for all.

This part of the book felt a bit Game of Thrones-y, not least because Ezekiel demands everyone call him king and his guards actually dress like ye olden knights for some reason, and the divided kingdom/different colonies setup reads like the many houses in Westeros banding together to defeat the Lannisters. But hey, I’m looking forward to the conflict anyway.

18 volumes in and the series is still very readable and exciting, so full credit to Robert Kirkman and Charlie Adlard for sustaining it for this long. Granted there have been ebbs and flows with the quality but bringing in Negan was a great move that’s really pumped new life into the series, and it looks like a white knuckle ride from here on out with all out conflict between Rick and Negan.

To war, then! It’s weird how the zombies almost feel like an afterthought at this point…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 13 Mar 2014
By 
Simon Ladbrook (Westminster, London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Volume 18: What Comes After (Paperback)
Bought as a present for a friend who has become addicted to the TV series and now the graphic novels too! She loves it, and me for giving it to her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Volume 18: What Comes After (Paperback)
Bought as a gift. Happy with price and product. Person receiving said gift was over the moon. Will definitely purchase the rest of the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't go wrong, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You can't go with with this book. Every volume gets better and better and it needs 5 stars as a great horror comic. I never want to see it end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 28 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. Ben J. Holland "Dutchy" (Southampton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Volume 18: What Comes After (Paperback)
Kirkman continues to weave sublime stories into the fabric of this universe. Really enjoying this new plot. More Negan and Lucille the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Walking Dead, Volume 18: What Comes After
The Walking Dead, Volume 18: What Comes After by Robert Kirkman (Paperback - 18 Jun 2013)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews