Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Horse feathers
A paperback collection of a four issue long comic series. Telling a complete and self contained story over the course of four issues and a single volume.

It's a story full of violence and strong language and adult moments, so this is strictly for grown up readers only.

It's written by popular writer Grant Morrison, and drawn by the very talented...
Published 9 months ago by Paul Tapner

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter drivel
Stay away from this one. The artwork is passable but the cliched backstory, uninvolving characters and constant, unrelenting barrage of swearing makes it come across as though it was penned by a twelve year old who has just discovered the word f***. Being a fan of Preacher, The Boys and so forth I have no problem with swearing at all but this is just childish crap...
Published 15 months ago by Andy Barnard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Horse feathers, 28 July 2014
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Happy! Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
A paperback collection of a four issue long comic series. Telling a complete and self contained story over the course of four issues and a single volume.

It's a story full of violence and strong language and adult moments, so this is strictly for grown up readers only.

It's written by popular writer Grant Morrison, and drawn by the very talented Darick Robertson.

It's New York. It's Christmas. And Nick Sax, a one time good cop now a hitman, is wounded and on the run from the Mob, for a secret they think he possesses.

Then he meets Happy. A small blue horse with wings. Who can talk. Happy Is the imaginary friend of a girl who is in great danger. And Nick's one chance at redemption....

The tone of this does take a little getting used to, as it tries hard to get in as much of the violence and language and adult moments as possible. Presumably to emphasise the kind of world Nick is in.

As a result when Happy appears the resulting relationship between the two - since Nick reacts as well you would under such circumstances - is something that takes a time to click.

And yet, reading all issues in a row, this does build up a decent momentum as a story and starts to get you hooked. Turning both into a pretty decent action thriller and a good character drama. As Nick reveals he's not quite lost all his humanity.

It's not quite five star material, and it's not a comic that will appeal to everyone. But it's not a bad read and not a story I shall forget in a hurry. For the right reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Anti-hero + blue stuff = success., 26 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Happy! Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
The Anti-hero concept is very hit and miss. It has been used so often as to become somewhat hackneyed, but fear not, my friends! Grant Morrison has many tricks up his sleeve. One of them is called "Happy!".
So who would have thought that a pegasus-looking imaginary flying blue horse with Looney Toones qualities would fit so well in such a grisly story ?
I have to say that the first two issues were a bit of a letdown. I thought
Happy (the character) was an annoying and irritating little #@"!& of a creature and I felt very little pathos for Sax, the detective-turned-hitman who is able to see and hear Happy. However, thanks to Grant Morrison's storytelling and the fantastic plot twists, the characters grew on me and I ended up caring enough to be willing to overlook lines like "...you look like something a s*** shat out".
Happy is well written, very well drawn, compelling and funny; the ingredients you need to enjoy a graphic novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy reader!, 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happy! Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
This is an odd one. But odd doesn't mean bad. In this case it means good, very good. But it is odd.

Nick Sax is an ex-cop and now he is a hitman for hire. He resides in the night chasing and being chased by murderers, villains, gangs and self-medicates with casual sex. He gets hooked up in the chase for a demented, murderous Santa Claus. But he has help from a friend, Happy.

Happy is a blue horse. A tiny (imaginary?) blue horse. Amongst the grime and shadows of a traditionally draw comic book comes a cartoony, Disneyfied flying blue horse who sprinkles blue feathers into Nick's life. It's like a happy version of Donnie Darko and more than once put a big smile on my face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Utter drivel, 9 Feb. 2014
By 
Andy Barnard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Happy! Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
Stay away from this one. The artwork is passable but the cliched backstory, uninvolving characters and constant, unrelenting barrage of swearing makes it come across as though it was penned by a twelve year old who has just discovered the word f***. Being a fan of Preacher, The Boys and so forth I have no problem with swearing at all but this is just childish crap.
There are way better graphic novels to spend your money on than this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting premise, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happy! Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
Whilst this is a very violent and sweary book the overall story is an interesting spin on the normal gangsters and bitter ex-cop stories. I felt in places the swearing cold have been taken out for some more witty dialogue but overall a very entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great new twist on a noire story, 22 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happy! Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
A relatively straight forward story. But well written and brilliant artwork! The story and the art are both very dark and gritty. Not for the sensitively minded or young of eye. A good fun, different take on the modern noire genre of comics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I do read a lot of graphic novels and crime ..., 16 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Happy! Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
I do read a lot of graphic novels and crime novels and this just didn't do it for me. Its OK but a mediocre crime tale. If the originality is a talking imaginary horse I'd want a few more surprises
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 15 Feb. 2014
By 
Mr Peter Rogers (Monmouth, South Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happy! Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
Surprising, shocking, disturbing, heartfelt and set at Christmas. It's like a Shane Black movie! One of my favourite graphic novels in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HAPPY A great story a great graphic novel, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happy! Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
Awesome story line. Grant Morrison is a master of inter-dimensional story telling. Darick Robertsons art work is phenomenal as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great comic!, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happy! Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
I really liked this comic a lot. If you are reading this review because you can't decide either to buy 'Happy' let me convince you.
First of all 'Happy!' is a fun ride with good dialogue, an amazing art wich goes very well with the story mood. Imagine a mix of 'TUMOR' (by Fialkov) with a tinny little pinch of Garth Ennis 'PUNISHER'.
Morrison establish a very good relation from the begining with the characters and after 4 pages you're already hooked into the plot.
The only thing that keeps me from give it 5 stars, is the very last page of the comic, wich still this day I can't understand the meaning of it. But the story as far i'm concerned is very satisfying. The price in amazon is very accessible and you don't have to be a Grant Morrison fan to like this book.

Final words, I higly recomend this amazing and very entertaining comic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Happy! Volume 1 TP
Happy! Volume 1 TP by Grant Morrison (Paperback - 30 April 2013)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews