Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars50
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 November 2012
After months of slow but necessary build-up we finally have another killer volume. And killer in the Kirkman sense of the word as the author/ butcher gets busy on his remaining cast.

To present a credible threat to our band of heroes takes something special. After the Governor and everything else they have endured it takes a different kind of menace to cause fear in Rick and the reader too. Kirkman has been driving us mad with trivialities and doldrums and the day to day boredom that much of a zombie aftermath would entail.

Did we make the mistake of believing the rosy glow on the horizon was something good? Time for us readers to get our comeuppance. There are shocks, surprises a wonderful twist and some hard to stomach brutality, the like of which we have not seen in ten volumes.

The art is great and there is nothing that distracts you from the drama unfolding before you. A real master of the craft isn't seen through spectacle and gratuity but through the subtle nuances that affect you without noticing why. Adlard knows his characters and his readers well and a small change of expression or shift in eye-line saves Kirkman a dozen words. This black and white world feels so authentic.

Definitely the most dramatic and engaging volume for some time. Definitely a Thumbs Up!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
I honestly don't think a comic has ever made me feel as shocked after reading it as this particular volume of the Walking Dead has - after reading it I was literally lying awake for hours feeling slightly sick with a few particularly brutal panels burned on my retinas (I'm sure people who have read this volume will know which ones I mean!)

I have followed the Walking Dead comics from volume one, the writer really does make you care for the characters, and you learn very soon that NOBODY is safe. I knew that previous volumes were leading the reader into a false sense of security and made you think maybe, just maybe, the characters had a glimmer of hope on the horizon...so I was waiting for it all to go pear-shaped, and it does that spectacularly in this volume.

There have been many moments in previous volumes that have shocked me, turned my stomach and given me an adrenaline rush while reading, but this volume seems to somehow crank these things up a notch higher, even though I didn't think that was possible after following the series for this long!

The artwork and storyline are amazing as always, but to get the full effect of the roller-coaster ride these books take you on, you really should start from the beginning.

Keep up the good work Mr. Kirkman!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Volume seventeen in the series of paperbacks that collect issues of the Walking Dead, popular horror comic about people struggling to survive in a world overrun by Zombies.

This is not a good jumping on point. New readers should start with volume one.

This volume collects issues ninety seven to one hundred and two of the monthly comic. As with all of them it runs them all together into one long narrative, although you can usually tell where each issue ends and the next one starts.

Volume sixteen ended with Rick having undertaken to help a newly discovered other community by taking on a nasty group of survivors who had been extorting them.

In this volume, he finds out it might not be as easy a war as he'd expected.

Some recent volumes of this have been character interaction and setting up future plots, and not had a lot of action or major events. This is just the opposite. Major things happen. Some of which are so utterly shocking you will never forget them for the rest of your life.

Once again, they push Rick into a position of having to make some very difficult moral choices.

It all ends on a very big cliffhanger with the promise of major drama to come.

A stunningly good volume and an unforgettable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 December 2012
Remember the days when The Walking Dead was infused with a real sense of danger? When the characters were constantly under threat & any one of them could seemingly be killed off at any time? Well those days are back.

While the end of volume 16 saw Rick enthusing about a new world emerging from the one which has now been obliterated by zombies, he soon discovers that it could be a very dark place indeed. That's because Negan & his Saviours - the group demanding supplies from the communities in the Washington area in exchange for protection - are much larger & more powerful than he had anticipated. A new world is emerging alright but it's under the control of a brutal psycho. It feels like a very long time since Rick & co. have come across a credible threat but they've got one now which may be totally beyond their abilities to cope with.

After a great many quiet, soap-operatic volumes, #17 is unflinchingly brutal, shocking & once again ends on one heck of a cliffhanger. For the first time in a long time, Kirkman has turned the dial all the way up to hardcore.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2016
*Minor Spoilers*
I feel like the story has never managed to re-create the suspense, drama and overall threat that the characters had during the prison act.... Until now. A new threat emerges in this volume and it's great to see a threat that the group not actually be able to overcome. It's refreshing and a much need change. Character development isn't immediately present but when you read later volumes, you realise this is one of the best and most important volumes in the whole series.

*Major Spoilers*
I felt like the death of... (One last chance to click away)

Abe was unnecessary and although shocking wasn't needed because of the Glenn death later on in the volume. It would have been better if it had been a minor character eg Eric. I love the ending and it sets it up brilliantly for the next few volumes!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
After a few volumes which some would say was lacking significant action, Robert Kirkman certainly made up for it with this epic volume.

Having promised the Hilltop safety from 'The Saviours', Rick may well have picked a fight he will regret for a LONG time. Some big, BIG changes take place in this volume, and the repercussions from which will certainly be felt for a few more volumes. Kirkman has certainly set up The Saviours, and their leader, Negan, as a long-term nemesis to Rick's group.

The artwork in this volume from Charlie Adlard is, once again, top-notch. A certain panel (Which some will no doubt have found stomach-churning) was of a tremendous, detailed quality.

There's a new Boss in town, and he should be feared!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
We have had a few issues of build up recently. It's been more about establishing the graphic novel, both for the writer and the characters he is creating.
This issue however slaps you in the face with how dark it gets. A huge feeling of dread creeps through the issue and is not easy reading in any way. There are deaths and big character developments. Something big will be happening in the next few issues and this is essential reading if you've been following up till now.
As with all graphic novels do not start here. Start with issue one and work your way here. The emotional impact will not compare unless you know how much it's taken to get here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
If your comments are going to spoil things for those who have not yet read the book then at least give them prior warning. I've never seen such a disappointed face after my husband read a post on here.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
I opened this volume of the walking dead prepared to be,let's be honest, bored like it happened in the last two/three volumes in the series. I was then very pleasantly surprised by a super thrilling ultra gory sadistic and ruthless action packed anything goes story that thankfully gets the saga back on its tracks. It was worth slogging through the previous instalments to get such an awesome pay off!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 March 2016
Just as the survivors are settling down to life as a part of a bigger world trading with Hilltop and clearing the saviours from the area a sudden harsh reality arrives in the form of Negan. The Saviours turn out to be bigger than Rick and the group could ever have imagined. With the constraints of television not in place the full awfulness of Negan will shock even hardened fans. In a word brutal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse