Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Walk Alone
I am largely writing this to even up the star rating following the review left at the bottom of the page which clearly has nothing to do with the book but is directed at royal mail and Amazon.
I wish people would find the correct place to put their comments!
Anyway, after a fairly energetic run, I found teh 15th installment of Walking Dead a little slow paced...
Published on 10 July 2012 by D. Mortimer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rick beats up Jesus
Ah, there you are, story! Promise me you’ll never leave - it was horrible without you… Robert Kirkman had the characters digging trenches and… worrying about food… oh it was the worst! Thank zombie jesus that’s all past us!

And speaking of jesus, a long haired peacenik with some crazy ideas calling himself Jesus shows up at the...
Published 6 months ago by Sam Quixote


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Walk Alone, 10 July 2012
By 
D. Mortimer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 16 TP: A Larger World (Walking Dead (6 Stories)) (Paperback)
I am largely writing this to even up the star rating following the review left at the bottom of the page which clearly has nothing to do with the book but is directed at royal mail and Amazon.
I wish people would find the correct place to put their comments!
Anyway, after a fairly energetic run, I found teh 15th installment of Walking Dead a little slow paced and withdrawn.
I'm please to say that no.16 picks up the pace again and starts things moving again.
Yes, it's another change in direction, but at least Kirkman has the vision and decision to move the story into a different place.
I'm liking that the characters are probably about to evolve again and will be interested to see what comes next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everything changes (again), 22 Jun 2012
By 
Sam Woodward (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 16 TP: A Larger World (Walking Dead (6 Stories)) (Paperback)
Rick's community is ticking over, getting into a routine of killing zombies, improving their defences & foraging for supplies. Then a stranger nicknamed 'Jesus' turns up on their doorstep. He says he's from a community of over 200 survivors & is looking to trade. He also knows of at least a couple of other groups nearby who he already trades with. And so in just a few short pages, Rick's world is once again transformed. This could be the "historic" birth of a new civilisation - but can 'Jesus' be trusted? Or will Rick's paranoia earn them the wrath of a much larger group & deprive them of a chance to build a new world?

Another great volume, which once again left me intrigued as to what will happen in volume 17. In some ways it covered old ground, with Rick & co. encountering a similar set of problems to when they met the Washington community, albeit on a larger scale. But there's also some nice new touches, like using the name Jesus & his community being a 'city' on a hill (Jerusalem?). And once again, there's questions as to just how many marbles Rick has lost & whether a new civilisation could ever hold a place for someone like him.

16 volumes in, this series is still consistently great & gets more & more interesting the longer it goes on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rick beats up Jesus, 1 Jun 2014
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 16 TP: A Larger World (Walking Dead (6 Stories)) (Paperback)
Ah, there you are, story! Promise me you’ll never leave - it was horrible without you… Robert Kirkman had the characters digging trenches and… worrying about food… oh it was the worst! Thank zombie jesus that’s all past us!

And speaking of jesus, a long haired peacenik with some crazy ideas calling himself Jesus shows up at the colony. Turns out there are other colonies surrounding them with more survivors, all trading with one another - and would Rick like to join Jesus and the rest of them? Rick being Rick - not even the saviour can tell him what to do! - he beats Jesus up and takes him hostage… before realising that he was telling the truth and wasn’t trying to rob/murder him and his kid. D’oh!

That’s pretty much it for this volume! And I’ve realised why these books are being stretched out. We’re into the part of the series now where the TV show has taken off and become a hit so the longer he can get away with the bare minimum of story, the more he can spin out the books and TV episodes and make more money. Kinda like the George R R Martin method, where the end gets further and further away but the cheques keep getting bigger and bigger, so you just shrug and let it keep getting away from you.

But yes, at least we do have a story now even if it’s recycled from earlier in the series. A group of nutters led by someone called Negan is terrorising the Hilltop outpost and Rick decides he and his battle-hardened group will destroy them, in exchange for much-needed supplies. This Negan chap sounds a lot like the Governor, no? Well, I’ll take that over the ditch-digging any day, even if it’s surprising just how few ideas Kirkman has - how many more Governors are we going to see in this seemingly never-ending series?

I’m not religious but Jesus is alright with me - he takes out the two toughest characters in the series, Michonne and Abraham, single-handedly and without a gun! I’m secretly hoping he turns out to be the actual Judeo-Christian saviour and the series turns out to have been really about the Second Coming: the dead walking the Earth after the Rapture, Jesus’ battle with the Antichrist - can you imagine if that was the plan all along? Like the comic book Insane Clown Posse.

Of course it wouldn’t be The Walking Dead without a paper-thin character you neither know nor care about being killed horribly and the characters over-reacting in a scene we’ve seen dozens of times before. And how is Carl still alive? Seriously, the kid had a hole in his head the size of a golf ball but he’s alive and walking about having just come out of a life-threatening coma!

I suppose that’s the price we have to pay for having a story again - throw logic out the window! But it’s nice to have a plot injecting some much needed energy into proceedings and giving the characters something to do. Rick and Jesus vs Negan (and maybe the Antichrist?) - get some!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars next installment of the walking dead, 26 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 16 TP: A Larger World (Walking Dead (6 Stories)) (Paperback)
I, like many others, have been waiting excitedly for the latest trade paperback volume of The Walking Dead. Well now it's here! When I first saw the cover art my first thought was that it's not as striking as some of the others have been, pretty dull really for a comic, but you can see the significance in depicting the community and by the 16th issue you can pretty much conclude that people aren't picking it up for the cover art, but because they're already well established with the series (and we shalt not mention the TV show).

I always wait for the trade paperback to be released rather than reading them issue by issue so it was quite a while ago that I read volume 15. Because of this I was a bit confused when I began reading but I quickly picked up the storyline again and was soon absorbed in the post-apocalyptic world of Rick Grimes.

Now if you were expecting a zombie killing fest in the one you will be disappointed. It's primarly a character and storyline development issue so the pace is anything but fast, but we're introduced to a whole range of new characters, the main one of which is named Jesus and is rapidly becoming a favourite of mine. The majority of the story revolves around the arrival of Jesus (with some butt kicking by Michonne thrown in) and how he claims to be part of a large community who wants to set up a trade system with Grimes and his gang. The ending, without giving anything away, definitely sets the scene for a very action-packed next issue which I'm quite excited about!

I loved the character development in this one, especially that we got a glimpse at how Sophia and Carl were coping with the whole thing and I can't wait to see how Rick and Angie pan out even though there are a lot of confused feelings there (mainly on Rick's part).

Pretty much the only fault I have with this volume is the lack of those lovely zombies, or Walkers, or whatever. They're definitely there and they definitely get owned but there just isn't enough of them, and they're aren't really involved in the plot much. Not good enough to satisfy a fan, even one who usually holds the importance of the storyline above all else, so unfortunately one star lost for that.

I'll definitely be rushing to read the next installment when it's released so a nice 4 star rating overall for this volume.

In Short

The art is fantastic as usual and the plot very good, with a nice set up for the next issue.
A lack of zombies which is disappointing, but lots of character development and a nice addition to the series.
4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great way to enjoy the comics, 14 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 16 TP: A Larger World (Walking Dead (6 Stories)) (Paperback)
After acquiring the comics by other means in the past, I decided to buy some of the volumes for easier reading.

The volumes are made very well with a soft paper coating (Feels like some magazines) and the paper inside is of a high enough GSM to make it seem like a quality made item.

If you haven't' or don't want to purchase the individual comics these are a greay way to read this amazing series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read¬!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 16 TP: A Larger World (Walking Dead (6 Stories)) (Paperback)
Read this, don't watch the TV show, because after reading, you will be let down, just like Harry Potter. Monkeys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CHRISTMAS PRESENT, 1 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Graham Bawden ""Quinch"" (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 16 TP: A Larger World (Walking Dead (6 Stories)) (Paperback)
We purchased this volume plus two others (15 & 17) as a Christmas gift for our daughter-in-law who is collecting the whole series. She enjoys the series greatly and was pleased to receive the three volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Vol 16 and still not bored., 11 Feb 2014
A new character emerges in this Volume and we follow Rick and co debate whether he is a friend or enemy.

After the last volume i was left wondering were this comic was going and what else could actually be done to surprise. Vol 16 leads us into the next stage of the survivors journey and pans out the next obstacle Rick has to face. While the result is not something i expected, im still intrigued to find out what happens next.

My main gripe at the moment is that i feel a lot of the text is da ja vu. The last few pages in particular felt like something i had just read four or five volumes ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better then the tv show!!!, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excilent better then the tv show !!!
im now up to date with the last issue waiting for the next with baited breth
The cliff hanger endings of each issue will drive u to whant the next at each issue i cant recomend this enough!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Run for your live, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 16 TP: A Larger World (Walking Dead (6 Stories)) (Paperback)
The best comics about zombies ever (love it also on TV). Great drawings, great story - please print quicker - it's to thrilling to wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Walking Dead Volume 16 TP: A Larger World (Walking Dead (6 Stories))
£10.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews