Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The saga continues here
Robert Kirkman's Walking Dead is a 'never-ending' dystopian Zombie survival horror, designed to satisfy the fan who has been left wondering what happens next after the credits have rolled in zombie-flicks. This is Book 7 in the series (as the title might suggest!) and collects issues #73-#84. Animated by Charlie Adlard, the series is entirely black & white, apart from the...
Published on 14 Oct 2011 by J. Morris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A few issues but still a good story
3.5 stars

Another good installment to this series. However, I didn't like it as much as the last few. I think this was mostly due to the first half of the book being quite slow. There just wasn't much happening for a while, and I know its because the plot was building up to somthing bigger but I prefer the action packed sections.

Another reason I...
Published 4 months ago by Alison Wadsworth


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The saga continues here, 14 Oct 2011
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Walking Dead Book 7 (Hardcover)
Robert Kirkman's Walking Dead is a 'never-ending' dystopian Zombie survival horror, designed to satisfy the fan who has been left wondering what happens next after the credits have rolled in zombie-flicks. This is Book 7 in the series (as the title might suggest!) and collects issues #73-#84. Animated by Charlie Adlard, the series is entirely black & white, apart from the vivid and artistic covers of the original issues which are collected in the back of the books.

In Book #7 The survivors settle into their newly-found & fortified town. Whilst they are initially distrusting of the original settlers, testing times prove everyone is on the same side, even if they have a difference of opinion on how to achieve their goals. As they continue to fortify and regain some semblance of society, they are plunged into their worst nightmare as a herd approaches. Tired of running, Rick decides to fight but will this prove their undoing? Time will tell...

Highly recommended for dystopia fans, zombie fans and graphic novel readers in general, a shining beacon for the genre!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Book 7 (Hardcover)
My son loves these books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A few issues but still a good story, 19 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: The Walking Dead Book 7 (Hardcover)
3.5 stars

Another good installment to this series. However, I didn't like it as much as the last few. I think this was mostly due to the first half of the book being quite slow. There just wasn't much happening for a while, and I know its because the plot was building up to somthing bigger but I prefer the action packed sections.

Another reason I didn't find this one as good was the 'rushed' feeling of the relationship developments. I know its the zombie apocolypse and nobody knows whether each day might be their last but there were some really 'hasty' relationships formed and seemed really fast and rushed and a little cringe worthy.

But other than those two things I did enjoy reading this installment. Especially the second half when all hell breaks loose - quite literally. Those types of sections are what this author does best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Serious Zombie Madness Awaits You, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Book 7 (Hardcover)
Okay, so you've read up to Book 8 so I presume you're a fan. This entry of zombie madness does not disappoint. Not only is it jam packed with gore, storytelling, artwork and plenty of zombies, it also gave me one of my biggest OMG moment so far. You'll know the one I mean when you read it. A must for every fan who has been mad enough to read this far in the series.

Also the price of £16.90 (price correct 20/01/14) is very reasonable, considering the RRP is £25.99!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bought as a present, 18 Oct 2013
By 
Mrs. G. C. Gosling (East Sussex Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Book 7 (Hardcover)
was well received by the birthday boy who had asked for this as a birthday gift , not my cup of tea though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Walking Dead Bk 7, 14 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Walking Dead Book 7 (Hardcover)
A continuing story of survival horror indeed; The Walking Dead: Book Seven collects issues 73 to 84 [also available as trade paperbacks #13 and #14] of Robert Kirkman's excellent post-zombiepocalypse comic series.

The first half of The Walking Dead: Book Seven contains the `Too Far Gone' storyline and follows Sheriff Rick and his group as they begin to settle in to life behind the walls of the community. Despite the need to be ever vigilant to zombie swarms attempting to break into the `burb, life is about as tranquil as can be expected in a world where death is quite literally walking the streets. However, the new arrivals find it hard to settle and integrate into the relative normalcy of life in their new safe haven. Rick in particular is a man on the edge.

The pacing of The Walking Dead takes a noticeable slowdown with `Too Far Gone' as Rick and his not so merry crew adapt to the sedentary and reasonably peaceful life of Alexandria Safe-Zone. In keeping with life in a more average gated community, there isn't all that much in the way of danger and mayhem to be faced. But it's still The Walking Dead so, despite the relative lack doom and lacerated body parts, there's still plenty of tension and anger bubbling away below the surface. Just as the newcomers find it difficult to relax into the community and to trust their new neighbours, so the more established citizens worry about who and what they have welcomed into their midst.

In `Too Far Gone' it seems that all the zombie-related events that have occurred since he awoke from his coma and discovered that the world had gone to hell in a handbasket are catching up with Sheriff Rick. Now that he can stop running again for a while and really cogitate on what has occurred, Rick seems to be becoming his own worst enemy. Unprepared to believe that there might be a possibility of peace, he sees danger and conspiracy around every corner. He's also more than a bit trigger happy too. The rest of his original crew are better at coping with tranquillity than their leader but even some of them manage to become embroiled in conspiracy and intrigue.

There are a lot of new characters to get to know in `Too Far Gone' as the personalities of the citizens of the community are more fully developed. While not all of these newcomers are particularly thrilling - some are very reminiscent of people previously encountered during the series - there are some interesting additions to the cast. While `Too Far Gone' couldn't be described as vintage Walking Dead, it is still an interesting story where the characters are given time to stop and breath, the plot is twisted and turned some more, and the groundwork is laid for something big.

The second story in Book Seven is `No Way Out' and it is a far more tense and gory prospect than `Too Far Gone'. Dystopian societies are rarely peaceful and the citizens of Alexandria Safe-Zone, both new arrivals and established townspeople, discover that they must work and fight together if they are to protect their own particular home at the end of the world from the latest deadly danger to stumble upon them.

`No Way Out' marks a welcome return to the origins of The Walking Dead, where the zombie threat was the big bad and survivor on survivor violence was really a second tier issue. While it's always interesting to have a few baddies in the group to illustrate the fact that even the end of the world can't stop the evil machinations of ordinary folk, zombies on the rampage should always be at the core of this series. In order to combat the threat to the community Sheriff Rick and Michonne have to bottle-up their personal angst and get back to being badass slayers of the undead, which is all for the good too. Ultimately, there isn't a great deal of story progression in `No Way Out' but it is nevertheless a very exciting and, indeed, rather traumatic instalment in The Walking Dead saga.

The Walking Dead: Book Seven is illustrated throughout in stark black and white by Charlie Adlard. The absence of colour evocatively reflects the absence of real `life' that the survivors are having to deal with and it is also the perfect style for truly concentrating on the emotions and experiences of the individuals rather than illustrating the world at large. Adlard is excellent at capturing facial expressions and so reflecting the inner turmoil of the characters. The zombie battle scenes are downright amazing too. Being a special edition, Book Seven also includes colour reproductions of all of Adlard's original comic covers for the `Too Far Gone' and `No Way Out' story arcs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great story well packaged and fast, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Book 7 (Hardcover)
as the title surgesses, very happy with the service, fast and well packages so there you go i'm a happy chappy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars book, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Book 7 (Hardcover)
it was a gift for my son for christmas so he has not give it back so must be ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 7 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Walking Dead Book 7 (Hardcover)
Volume 7 of The Walking Dead was utterly brilliant. Once opened I had to read it all despite needing an early night and the ending was so shocking that it kept me awake for a long time afterwards. I would recommend this to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant cover to cover in one sitting!, 21 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Book 7 (Hardcover)
well... what can i say but wow...

came back from uni lasnight to see it had been posted. literally started reading it then and finished around 1.30am this morning. it has everything in it that any avid zombie fan wants.

im a tad disappointed about the end=/ but all in all a fantastic read! 10 out of 10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Walking Dead Book 7
The Walking Dead Book 7 by Charlie Adlard (Hardcover - 18 Oct 2011)
£17.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews