Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ear ye, Ear ye!, 15 Feb 2011
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chew Volume 3: Just Desserts (Paperback)
In this volume, Tony Chu and Amelia Mintz start to date seriously and explore the dining delights of their city much to the detriment of illegal meat traffickers, while we catch up with Mason Savoy's goings-on since his disappearance in the first book. Throw in a psychotic chicken, a siege, a unique Thanksgiving dinner, and a mysterious energy beam, and you have another strong book in this superb, underrated series.

Rob Guillory's art continues to be superb, even getting better by the issue. The full cover spread of issue #15 is included here and is a riff on Da Vinci's last supper. John Layman continues to supply dynamite scripts that have snappy dialogue and brilliant setups. His move in the last chapter of this book just pushes the story further into more interesting territory. Not a single issue has been dull and it's entirely to Layman's credit that he's kept the pace up this long and doesn't show signs of flagging.

A superb next book in the series. If you're a fan then you're buying this whether I recommend it or not but if you're wondering if the quality of the first two books is maintained or not I can happily say that if anything the story gets better. I love this series and loved this book and cannot wait for the next volume to hit the stores!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Chappy, 19 Jun 2014
This review is from: Chew Volume 3: Just Desserts (Paperback)
Introduces the 'other guy', made me laugh. Its also a good, excuse the pun, taster for the next one. It seems as though its setting up more background and groundwork for future story arcs whilst exploring in more depth the world in which these powers are possible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ambitious volume., 16 Feb 2014
Most issues collected in "Just Desserts" are on par with the best issues of the series I've read so far, in terms of writing. Chew's creative team (John Layman and the amazing Rob Guillory) have a lot of tricks up their sleeves, and it feels like they're only scratching the surface.
Plot-wise, after the madness of International Flavor, we get to learn more about Tony Chu, his family and some of his past acquaintances. The intriguing dynamics between Chu and his family members are the definite highlight of the book. As for the rest, tensions are building-up slowly but surely between our protagonist and his enemy, Savoy. Oh, and Director Applebee is still being a jerk.
Just Desserts is an ambitious transition volume, a set-up for the next exciting installments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another delicious meal in the chew series, 21 July 2013
By 
Grace (Wokingham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The more I read of this series which works really well on my kindle fire the hungrier I get for more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Highest Thumbs Up!, 25 July 2012
This review is from: Chew Volume 3: Just Desserts (Paperback)
It would be so disappointing if the quality of this fabulous work dropped. Thankfully it doesn't. Rather than getting lazy and complacent with success the Chew team becomes even more daring and experimental in terms of art, narrative and ambition.

Like expert plate spinners you constantly wonder how they can keep this many narrative threads alive and distinct. The huge global conspiracy is there. The outer space mystery is there. Plus every character gets a decent amount of page time and there is room to introduce Tony's entire family including his... gasp, shock, horror, [I won't ruin the surprise].

Even in such a short time Chew has established its own conventions. The obligatory prologue; the single issue mystery; the life or death phone call; the hidden background details; the creative lettering; and so on. This attention to detail and blatant charm make you love the book and its wonderful characters. The narrative creativity keeps everything fresh and challenging.

The art is still consistently good with slightly more risks being taken with the techniques and some bold choices. Such as a six page mute sequence that is pretty much a repetition of the same close-up that cryptically foreshadows a major character reveal.

This is excellent through and through with writer and artist at one with the project. Like the perfect meal all its ingredients are skilfully chosen and expertly blended to create a masterpiece. The highest Thumbs Up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 5 Sep 2011
By 
g0lum (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chew Volume 3: Just Desserts (Paperback)
This is quite simply one of the best new comic book series of the last few years!

Each volume is as good as the last. Consistantly good writing and artwork. I am only ever dissapointed when it ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fine dining..., 13 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Chew Volume 3: Just Desserts (Paperback)
Once again a well executed story with a lot of fun and original characters that makes you want more! The artwork remains a clean line, almost manga style, and the story tells us more about the main character and its twisted past. The main reason why it is a successful comic is due to the fact that it is not taking itself too seriously, and that it remains full of food related references that make me giggle non stop!
Cannot wait for the next course!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Noun,noun,noun,noun, 8 Feb 2011
By 
Nicholas A. Herring "Nick Herring" (Dorset, Poole) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chew Volume 3: Just Desserts (Paperback)
If you haven't been reading this then you should really get the first two books. Trust me, you will not be disapointed. Deffently one of my favourite comics at the moment, because it is something different from what you find in the likes of Marvel and DC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chew Volume 3: Just Desserts
Chew Volume 3: Just Desserts by John Layman (Paperback - 7 Dec 2010)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews