Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !
Whislt Im not a big comic book reader, I am a massive fan of 'zombie' fiction, and this is first rate. Real gritty stuff - I love character development and this has it by the bucket loads - can't wait for more to be released !
Published on 24 Jan 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dragging on for too long
It’s fine to give Rick and the survivors a respite - they’ve definitely earned it after what they’ve been through - but it’s wearing a bit now and I’m beginning to think this safe colony is the worst thing to happen to this series as it completely neutralises any menace and momentum the story had.

A whole lot of nothing happens in...
Published 3 months ago by Sam Quixote


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !, 24 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 13: Too Far Gone (Paperback)
Whislt Im not a big comic book reader, I am a massive fan of 'zombie' fiction, and this is first rate. Real gritty stuff - I love character development and this has it by the bucket loads - can't wait for more to be released !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who to Trust and who to kill!, 23 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 13: Too Far Gone (Paperback)
Sometimes with the Walking Dead comics I find the conversions with the characters don't quite feel right. However Volume 13 I think was spot on with the way the characters interacted and spoke. And there's a big cast of characters once again, so there's lots to be discovered, both good and bad. Volume 13 continues the build up about the new community that Ricks group was brought to in Volume 12. There's a fair bit of action in this volume but it's in short bursts. Watching Rick snap is one of the best moments from any of the comics so far. Who to trust in the community, and carrying weapons is the predominent theme. This volumes clever as well as even though the Zombies don't feature that much as the main threat or concern(it's more about fitting into the community and protecting it), you get some good moments with them and little snippets and you know that they are out there and they will get you in the end. The zombie presence more than ever seems to signify their doom even behind a closed community.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the build-up continues, 21 Dec 2010
By 
Neil J. Pearson (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 13: Too Far Gone (Paperback)
The series continues with its current phase of the gang being the ones taking over an "idyllic" refuge and while there are several interesting momentsm it's clear that Kirkman is setting this story up for something big. What works well in this collection is how it makes the reader question whether we're rooting for the villains here and there are several occsions where that could be the case. This is balanced by the fact that the core group are survivors and it's clear that you need to be tough to make it in the world of the walking dead.
I was disappointed to see the "ghost-phone" story return as that's single-handedly my least favourite addition to the entire series and it does feel like a lot of the regular cast don't have much to do while only one of the new additions (of which there are several) really appears to be og interest. That said there is a great building of tension and regular readers of the series should know that something is about to go very wrong. It just isn't quite there yet but the build-up is mostly enjoyable and the series is back to a consistenly strong level again.
It should go without saying that the art, by charlie adlard, is very strong throughout and always adds to the atmosphere that Kirkman is creating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a slow book but it sets up the next ones great. Looking forward to the next few books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dragging on for too long, 25 May 2014
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 13: Too Far Gone (Paperback)
It’s fine to give Rick and the survivors a respite - they’ve definitely earned it after what they’ve been through - but it’s wearing a bit now and I’m beginning to think this safe colony is the worst thing to happen to this series as it completely neutralises any menace and momentum the story had.

A whole lot of nothing happens in this volume, the biggest of which is probably Rick taking it upon himself as new constable to deal with a case of domestic abuse by beating the crap out of the abusive husband on his own lawn! This scene of course underlines once more that, yes, Rick is kinda losing it after all he’s been through… and? Do we really have to keep pointing out that they’ve changed and aren’t yet ready to settle down to “normal” life - wasn’t that what the whole last book was about?

Glenn and Rick pilfer some guns from the colony’s lockup (weapons are forbidden) which involves Glenn surreptitiously sneaking in and unlocking the outside window so he and Rick can climb in, grab what they need and climb back out. And then Rick says he’ll somehow get back in to lock the window from the inside - a scene we never see. How does he do that? It took a lot of effort for Glenn to make it in with a group who were heading out and needed guns and he was being watched nearly the whole time - how would Rick do it alone? It’s a small detail but felt like a plot hole because if it were just that easy, why spend the time to have Glenn go in, in the first place, to unlock the window?

Another small thing that irked me was Charlie Adlard’s art when he was drawing Michonne - when she and Rick are talking as they walk their beat, he draws part of her face completely white with a line separating the white from the darker skin. I think he’s going for a lighting effect but it completely fails and looks like she’s wearing a plastic jaw or has painted her face partly white for some reason! Either way, very poor artwork from Adlard, who’s normally pretty good.

They’re building a new wall (because construction work is so fascinating to read!) and Abraham shows how tough he is by taking out a bunch of zombies by himself; Glenn and a new person head into D.C. to grab some medical supplies; and finally some idiots with guns try, and fail, to storm the colony’s walls. This volume feels like a retread of stuff we’ve already seen, and done better, before.

The Davidson backstory - the former leader who had apparently turned evil - was mildly interesting and I’m already guessing that it was fabricated by Douglas and he’s really the evil one, but we’ll see how that plays out. Meanwhile there’s just a lot of dull moments - some characters we barely know die, Andrea goes on a first date, Glenn and Maggie have relationship issues… zzz...

I really hope this colony blows up or something so they’ll be forced back out into the wilderness soon because a whole lotta nothing is going down right now and it’s super boring to read! Too Far Gone? More like they’ve been here too far long - let’s kick it up a couple gears, guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 13: Too Far Gone (Paperback)
My son collects these books, and as always was really pleased with his latest addition. Book arrived on time and in great condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The walking dead, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 13: Too Far Gone (Paperback)
excellent people to do business with,cant wait for the next chapter to come out,well actually its volume 20 that I am now waiting for so please carry on writing them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better then the tv show!!!, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excilent better then the tv show !!!
im now up to date with the last issue waiting for the next with baited breth
The cliff hanger endings of each issue will drive u to whant the next at each issue i cant recomend this enough!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 29 Aug 2013
By 
D. Burkmar (hampshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 13: Too Far Gone (Paperback)
No need to go into detail, if you have got this far on the series, then you should know that this one is ofcourse going to still be really good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 13: Too Far Gone (Paperback)
To me it is just a comic, to my daughter it is a perfectly contructed work of art. It was a good buy and I will no doubt be talked into buiying further issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Walking Dead Volume 13: Too Far Gone
The Walking Dead Volume 13: Too Far Gone by Robert Kirkman (Paperback - 7 Dec 2010)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews