Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kirkman and Mcfarlane make a great team!
Just finished reading volume 1 today and my expectations were certainly met. Its a fast paced story which doesn't hold back on the blood and gore but it's surprisingly subtle comedic moments make it an enjoyable read. Ryan Ottely's bold and striking pencilling works seamlessly with Kirkman's writing. Mcfarlane's contributions are reminicent of his spiderman days and its...
Published on 9 April 2010 by P. Zarcilla

versus
3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kirkman on a bad day
Robert Kirkman, the man who writes both Invincible and The walking dead, churns out this run-of-the-mill and very poor title. It is packed with horrible cliches (the main character being a drunken priest who is down on his luck, every woman in this book is a supermodel - yet badly drawn). The poor soul is sucked into the secretive world of shady governments and violence...
Published on 1 Nov 2010 by godzilla78


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kirkman and Mcfarlane make a great team!, 9 April 2010
By 
P. Zarcilla (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Haunt Volume 1 (Paperback)
Just finished reading volume 1 today and my expectations were certainly met. Its a fast paced story which doesn't hold back on the blood and gore but it's surprisingly subtle comedic moments make it an enjoyable read. Ryan Ottely's bold and striking pencilling works seamlessly with Kirkman's writing. Mcfarlane's contributions are reminicent of his spiderman days and its most pleasing to see him on good form. Gregg Capullo's panelling is masterful and adds a great sense of dynamics to the overall reading experience. All in all you've got a great team making a great comic. Looking forward to more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great start, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haunt Volume 1 (Paperback)
This had the potential to be a great series but it veered into a different story down the line. That being said it is worth a look just for the art and the beginnings of a great story. Value for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRULY AMAZING!!!!!!, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haunt Volume 1 (Paperback)
I first saw this graphic novel as a recommendation, as i am a big fan of The Walking dead, so i decided to have a look, as i thought it is made by image comics (same as The Walking Dead, and had Kirkman's name on it (again , same as The wWalking dead). so naturally as i had read The Walking dead i had very high expectations........which were met 100%. it kept me interested throughout the book, and i loved every moment of the action and gore. I couldn't wait to read the next volume, so i ordered all the next volumes up until volume 4, and so far i am not disappointed one bit (but be aware in volume 4 the writers change and so does the design style, it becomes a bit more cartoony, but the story is still really good) i highly recommend getting this as it is truly magnificent, and i say if you like the walking dead, you should like this too, much like i did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haunt Volume 1 (Paperback)
Great book and service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fancy style at it's finest!, 7 Jan 2011
This review is from: Haunt Volume 1 (Paperback)
This paperback is sweet and a great way to get the first story arc of Haunt (#1-5) with it's artistic team fully operative.I'm saying this because,from #6 on,penciller Ryan Ottley leaves the collection to focus on Invincible to say one of his big projects and the pencil duties will be taken care by Greg Capullo (He is totally kick-ass too,so you should stop crying now and read his issues,awesome ones!).It's awesome to see Mcfarlane with his hands in another creation and even more great to be Robert Kirkman the other co-creator of this hot read.

First story arc introduces us the main characters in Haunt universe,apart from present us the origin of this amazing hero,Haunt ,which is the union of the two Kilgore brothers,Kurt and Daniel.Enjoy and rush to get the second one! :3
(Includes covers at the beginning of each issue included in the tpb)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Haunting, 5 Jun 2011
This review is from: Haunt Volume 1 (Paperback)
I've been a fan of Spawn and the Walking Dead for ages and so I thought about buying this volume one of the first five issues of the comic book on a chance that it might surprise me and it did. The story is a simple concept and as it unfolds you get to see a violent government world which is on a par with the Spawn of old with Al Simmons.

Ryan Ottleys art is enough to make a start on the story in a visual sense with Todd McFarlane providing some rare inks to the pencils which was a nice touch. Robert Kirkmans storytelling also sucks you into the story as usual with the characters getting explored from every angle and that is always great to read.

Although I do prefer Volume 2 as Greg Cappullo is a more capable and an artist that seems to draw amazing camera angles and stuff, this first volume is essential to get the gist of the story and it's still good enough to create a sense of fun and imagination whilst reading it, like a movie it delivers some good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kirkman on a bad day, 1 Nov 2010
By 
godzilla78 (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Haunt Volume 1 (Paperback)
Robert Kirkman, the man who writes both Invincible and The walking dead, churns out this run-of-the-mill and very poor title. It is packed with horrible cliches (the main character being a drunken priest who is down on his luck, every woman in this book is a supermodel - yet badly drawn). The poor soul is sucked into the secretive world of shady governments and violence with no thanks to his deceased brother. As for the art by Capullo and Mcfarlane....less said the better. It's very untidy and quite frankly very ugly, as if the 1990's are back in fashion. Its really a shoddy attempt to do a form of supernatural spiderman and it's not worth wasting your money on. Kirkman wrote this guff on auto pilot me thinks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Haunt Volume 1
Haunt Volume 1 by Robert Kirkman (Paperback - 6 April 2010)
£7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews