Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have reference and inspiration book
I have an extensive collection of embroidery/textile craft books - I love them! Just when you think you can't possibly find a book as good as your best in the existing collection you come across a gem.

This book is packed with inspiration and very clear instructions for working stitches in threads, yarns and ribbons. There are also suggestions for what the...
Published 21 months ago by Mrs. L. Burn

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review
I thought it had no new material and was just a repeat of her old work.Pictures good.explanations good.I was disappointed
Published 19 months ago by Maxy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have reference and inspiration book, 17 Jan 2013
By 
Mrs. L. Burn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free-Form Embroidery with Judith Baker Montano: Transforming Traditional Stitches Into Fiber Art (Paperback)
I have an extensive collection of embroidery/textile craft books - I love them! Just when you think you can't possibly find a book as good as your best in the existing collection you come across a gem.

This book is packed with inspiration and very clear instructions for working stitches in threads, yarns and ribbons. There are also suggestions for what the stitch can create well. ie this stitch works well for... I was pleasantly surprised at the variation and distortion of 'well known' embroidery stitches. Montano has prepared little photographic samples of stitch combinations as well as clear instructions on how to create stitches.

If you are looking for a book with start to finish projects this, I would say, is not for you. However, if you want inspiration with a new take on working with fibres or just plan to leaf through and enjoy a thoroughly well written and illustrated book, it is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new stitcher, 2 Feb 2013
By 
corgiboys (Worcestershire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free-Form Embroidery with Judith Baker Montano: Transforming Traditional Stitches Into Fiber Art (Paperback)
The ideas in the book are so contemporary. I've never enjoyed embroidery so bought this book to see if I could start to like it. I loved it - using traditional stitches in a new and exciting way was so creative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a help!, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free-Form Embroidery with Judith Baker Montano: Transforming Traditional Stitches Into Fiber Art (Paperback)
This book is not only interesting to look at but really useful too. It gives suggestions for suitable stitches to reproduce or create trees, flowers ,coral etc . It shows how to use thread and fabric to 'paint' pictures ànd gives ideas on how to present finished pieces. There are lovely hand painted illustrations of a variety of trees and plants and advise on the combination of stitches required to reproduce them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Free Form Embroidery, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very useful book.
Explains pictorially how to do the stitches, but even more importantly suggests when and where to use the stitches giving examples in Judith Baker Montano's own work.
I have the book on my kindle which is ok, but is in black and white , however I have found it incredibly useful in colour on my laptop, strategically positioned in front of me while working on my embroidery pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Free form hand embroidery at it's best!, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free-Form Embroidery with Judith Baker Montano: Transforming Traditional Stitches Into Fiber Art (Paperback)
If you love to hand stitch embroidery and want some inspiration then buy this book. Illustrations and drawings show you how to use the stitches in a real art form. This author understands embroidery and art from pesonal experience. You can design your own images or copy those in the book. I have shown it to friends who are now buying it too. Fab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book ,packed with ideas, 28 Mar 2013
By 
J. Hales (W Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Made me want to instantly rummage thought my photos, fabric and threads and get started on creating a master piece. The sort of book I'll keep going back to again and again. Love it, as I do her two embroidery stitch books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't beat a Montana!, 13 Jun 2013
By 
PB (East Anglia UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free-Form Embroidery with Judith Baker Montano: Transforming Traditional Stitches Into Fiber Art (Paperback)
Excellent condition and delivered ahead of time. Any Montana book is good and I would recommend it as a good read and an excellent tutorial. Loads of ideas to use and adapt for own interpretation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loevly book, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free-Form Embroidery with Judith Baker Montano: Transforming Traditional Stitches Into Fiber Art (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book filled with soem intersting textile ideas and provides goodtutorials for people who may have nit trie dthese techniques before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very beautifully presented book., 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free-Form Embroidery with Judith Baker Montano: Transforming Traditional Stitches Into Fiber Art (Paperback)
This book was a gift for my mother and the pictures inside were beautiful. My mother has gone away with inspiration and many new ideas because of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clear and beautiful, 26 Mar 2014
By 
Jo (GREAT YARMOUTH, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
easy to follow with clear simple diagrams. I love the the exploration of one scene/topic in limited stitches very effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Free-Form Embroidery with Judith Baker Montano: Transforming Traditional Stitches Into Fiber Art
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews