Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Minimal by Alissa Haight Carlton
This is a real visual feast for anyone who loves bold colours and a fabulous new modern approach to quilting. There are no small blocks or requirements to buy 20 fat quarters, just plain bold minimal shapes and therefore less fabric wastage. The quilts are constructed in larger pieces, not built up in a grid like way, often using the full width of the fabrics. The quilts...
Published on 21 Mar. 2012 by milly the milliner

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sewing Teacher
I have many, many resource books on patchwork and quilting, but thought this new resource would prove helpful to my students (in my teaching classes) as a new and contemporary approach to traditional quilts. I have to say that while the book was well written and well presented, I did not find the projects - or the whole concept - particularly inspiring. Nor did my...
Published on 17 April 2012 by Sewing Teacher


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Minimal by Alissa Haight Carlton, 21 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Modern Minimal: 20 Bold & Graphic Quilts (Paperback)
This is a real visual feast for anyone who loves bold colours and a fabulous new modern approach to quilting. There are no small blocks or requirements to buy 20 fat quarters, just plain bold minimal shapes and therefore less fabric wastage. The quilts are constructed in larger pieces, not built up in a grid like way, often using the full width of the fabrics. The quilts vary in size from baby quilts and lap quilts to a 90 x 95 inch giant. Some requiring just two fabrics, the fabulous quilt on the front page uses just four. The tips are highlighted and the construction and cutting is visual - which really helps when cutting out. In addition two ways of machine quilting the quilts giving interesting results - all beautifully explained. However, the clear diagrams and well-explained instruction really do help to give confidence. With such an array of Kona solids (Robert Kaufman), Cotton Couture solids (Michael Miller) and Bella Solids (Moda fabrics) , amongst others, there is every reason to buy this wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely clean lines, 4 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Minimal: 20 Bold & Graphic Quilts (Paperback)
FOR WHOM IS THE BOOK?
A beginner, who knows how to handle fabrics, square them up for cutting, will receive all information necessary to make a quilt at home. The book is particularly useful, if you're still unsure how to work with solids only, as most quilts showcase a tiny bit of patterned fabrics or none at all. If you've heard of the Modern Quilt Guild, but don't know what it's about, "Modern Minimal" is a great introduction to this aesthetic.

THE SECTIONS:
Introduction
White Negative Space: Drip, Oddballs, Broken Stripes, Cell Service.
Colorful Negative Space: Art Deco, Red Square, Pick Up Sticks, Basket Weave.
Improvisational Piecing: Cobblestones, Mosaic, Cluster, Empty Shelves.
Monochromatic Quilts: Mustard, Forest Curve, Hot Spot, Choppy Waters.
Baby Quilts: Don't Fence Me In, Boxes, Building Blocks, Sherbet.
How to make a quilt

THE PATTERNS:
- They are modern. They are minimal. Buy the book, if this is your style.
- Apart from the four baby quilts, all quilts are in the size range lap-twin-queen.
- They follow the same, clear structure: What you need, Cutting, Assembling the quilt top, Making the quilt back, and Quilting options (option 1 and 2).
- The diagrammes for cutting and assembling will rock your socks off, that's how good they are.
- Working with modern patterns often requires stepping outside of traditional blocks; the book teaches you how to tackle the vast fields of negative space among others. Use these skills to draft your own patterns (I haven't found a book quite like this, will therefore soak up all techniques taught here)!

STRENGTHS AND WEAKNESSES:
- The pages are easy to read; not too crammed, nice photography, great layout/typography choices.
- A tiny minus for never showing a quilt back, but only describing it verbally in a few sentences.
- The introduction contains great tips, especially the ones on how to work with solids.
- How to make a quilt contains the best description I've seen so far of how to make a quilt sandwich. To get even more information, a video tutorial such as a Craftsy class is a good idea to watch.
- A huge smile for all the quilting options, as the large pieces are a challenge to quilt nicely.

There are many quilts in "Modern Minimal" that I want to make. Some colours aren't my favourites, but it's easy enough to switch them out (you don't buy the exact same fabrics for traditional quilts either). I might also do the reverse - put patterned fabrics where solids are now and vice versa - just to increase the options and learn more through experimentation. This is a keeper in my bookshelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing, 17 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Modern Minimal: 20 Bold & Graphic Quilts (Paperback)
As the title says ... "simply amazing". Desiigns are very modern & contemporary with amazing results. A modern twist on quilting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!!, 27 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Minimal: 20 Bold & Graphic Quilts (Paperback)
Fabulous modern quilts. I have to say I hate over fussy quilts, but these designs are contemporary and will fit into any style of home. Fantastic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sewing Teacher, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Minimal: 20 Bold & Graphic Quilts (Paperback)
I have many, many resource books on patchwork and quilting, but thought this new resource would prove helpful to my students (in my teaching classes) as a new and contemporary approach to traditional quilts. I have to say that while the book was well written and well presented, I did not find the projects - or the whole concept - particularly inspiring. Nor did my (adult) pupils, whose ages range from 21 to 70. So I was a little disappointed with the content, and they were not inspired enough to want to purchase the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely adult quilts, 25 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Minimal: 20 Bold & Graphic Quilts (Paperback)
The adult quilts were lovely. I haven't actually tried making one yet, but the instructions seem quite straight forward. I was a little disappointed by the baby quilts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Modern Minimal: 20 Bold & Graphic Quilts
Modern Minimal: 20 Bold & Graphic Quilts by Alissa Haight Carlton (Paperback - 28 April 2012)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews