Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and informative
As someone that knew a lot about fabrics and sewing but only the basics of fabric printing, I found this book to be brilliant. I dream of becoming a fabric designer and this book makes you feel that the dream could come true, with practical advice on how to realise it.
It contains information on pattern repeats, colour, motif size, copyright as well as printing...
Published on 26 Nov 2011 by Lotti

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alright
It's ok; not particularly inspiring and the photos aren't terrific. It's too technical for me as I was after ideas more than anything. There are better books out there for inspiration.
Published 11 months ago by G. Abbott


Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and informative, 26 Nov 2011
This review is from: A Field Guide to Fabric Design: Design, Print & Sell Your Own Fabric; Traditional & Digital Techniques; For Quilting, Home Dec & Apparel (Paperback)
As someone that knew a lot about fabrics and sewing but only the basics of fabric printing, I found this book to be brilliant. I dream of becoming a fabric designer and this book makes you feel that the dream could come true, with practical advice on how to realise it.
It contains information on pattern repeats, colour, motif size, copyright as well as printing techniques, fabric type, weight etc. The book is well laid out and contains lots of lovely images of some great fabric ranges.
I read it from cover to cover as it was a great read. I throughly enjoyed this book and it is one that I know I will continue to dip in and out of for years to come. This book is a keeper and I definitely recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabric design know how, 10 Feb 2012
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Field Guide to Fabric Design: Design, Print & Sell Your Own Fabric; Traditional & Digital Techniques; For Quilting, Home Dec & Apparel (Paperback)
This is bound to be a very popular book as fabric designing is so desirable and so now. Kimberly starts by taking a look at contemporary fabric design, she then goes deeper into the fundamentals of design and colour. Patten layout and repeats is a good section. She looks at different ways of designing - by hand drawing, Illustrator and so on. There is an in-depth look at printing methods and producing fabric. Designers give their insight too. I liked the layout and design of this book and it has very good content, written in an easy to understand style with excellent supporting photographs. Basically this book will take you through exactly what you need to know to be a fabric designer. This review first appeared on yarnsandfabrics website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Includes more than i expected, 20 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Field Guide to Fabric Design: Design, Print & Sell Your Own Fabric; Traditional & Digital Techniques; For Quilting, Home Dec & Apparel (Paperback)
This covers a lot of areas; design, colour, tutorials, design by hand and computer, illustrator, photoshop, colour-ways and collections, printing block, digital and screen, career, profit, business and advice from the pro’s. This is a very comprehensive book and has a wealth of info and things to try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful and informative, 17 Aug 2013
By 
Peter Coupe (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good book if you are a beginner to design or a newcomer to the idea of putting your creative ideas onto fabric. Lots of methods and ideas covered and plenty of technical stuff too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great..., 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to understand, step-by-step instructions for creating repeat patterns. Easy to read, plus a mini-guide to using software to create patterns as well as hand drawn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wooo fabrics, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Field Guide to Fabric Design: Design, Print & Sell Your Own Fabric; Traditional & Digital Techniques; For Quilting, Home Dec & Apparel (Paperback)
A fantastic item if you are getting to know about fabrics. Love this book
Also a very good price thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alright, 27 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Field Guide to Fabric Design: Design, Print & Sell Your Own Fabric; Traditional & Digital Techniques; For Quilting, Home Dec & Apparel (Paperback)
It's ok; not particularly inspiring and the photos aren't terrific. It's too technical for me as I was after ideas more than anything. There are better books out there for inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Field Guide to Fabric Design: Design, Print & Sell Your Own Fabric; Traditional & Digital Techniques; For Quilting, Home Dec & Apparel (Paperback)
As a graphic designer and crafter wanting to get into fabric design this book is a great place for me to start
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good beginners guide, 24 Nov 2013
This review is from: A Field Guide to Fabric Design: Design, Print & Sell Your Own Fabric; Traditional & Digital Techniques; For Quilting, Home Dec & Apparel (Paperback)
I purchased this book to help me create my designs. It has a wealth of information that has helped me and still helping me. Very good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews