Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Actual Running Time, 1 May 2009
By 
Perkins "...the Uncanny" (Birmingham, West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phase IV [DVD] [2008] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Can I just point out this is not the 93 minute version as stated, but the 84 minute version.

The longer version is unobtainable, even from 'other' sources, but this is as good as you're going to get at the moment.

A weird and truly original film, I hope the uncut version surfaces soon with Saul Bass' original ending of Earth ruled by ants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally, after all these years!, 18 Feb 2009
By 
nannosthermos (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phase IV [DVD] [2008] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Finally, after all these years it is here on glorious DVD.
A strange surreal and bizarre film. A ridiculous premise, maybe but a must have for fans of science fiction and dystopian drama.
Too bad Saul Bass only made this one movie.
The picture quality and sound is more than fine.
A great experience.
Too bad, however that the original artwork is not included on the release. The original poster is terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Movie, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phase IV (DVD)
Massively underrated sci-fi movie from a time when science fiction was as much cerebral as special effects and convoluted plot. Definitely worth adding to any DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Phase IV, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phase IV [DVD] [2008] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Really enjoyed seeing this again after all those years. Well acted amazing photography for the early 1970s. Excellent buy!! Elephant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Saul Bass original, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phase IV [DVD] [2008] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is a unique Sci-fi movie, and a work of art. Highly recommended ! The mood and imagery transcends the 1970's period feel. Land Art aficionados should own this too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Subtle yet horrifying experience, 12 Dec 2010
This review is from: Phase IV [DVD] [2008] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I decided to watch this, after seeing the trailer, and I was surprised at how much I did enjoy this. There are some particularly horrible scenes, the ant surviving in someones hand, aftera chemical attack which will haunt me forever! It is slow, but definitely worth sticking with it, as its a brilliant classic sci-fi horror!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Phase IV - Ants - Very good, 5 May 2010
By 
Ms. Emma Louise Boobier (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Phase IV [DVD] [2008] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is an excellent take on the old 'insects take over the world' story line. It's an intelligent film but also a very entertaining film. Unfortunately this doesn't have the extended ending, but after some research it seems that version isn't included in any cut now anyway, which is a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Oct 2014
This review is from: Phase IV [DVD] [2008] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Probably the best creature feature ever. Strange other worldly 1970s scifi. they dont make films like this anymore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their taking over, and we don't even realise it, 16 Jun 2009
This review is from: Phase IV [DVD] [2008] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is a clever film. But Its a real slow burner.

Three scientisis in a remote research station are slowly being driven mad by equipment failures, ants keep getting inside their equipment short circuiting it. Time, and time, and time, again.

Who would belive the ants had a plan.
Who would belive they were killing themselves on purpose to do it.
And Who would belive such little things could out wit man so easily.
No one would... until it was too late to escape!

I have'nt seen the dvd, but saw the film on UK tv many years ago. Three people slowly going mad. The low budget makes this film. A bigger one would have spoilt it.
It should be required watching for all would be film makers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Thoughtful Science Fiction, 17 Mar 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phase IV [DVD] [2008] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is one of my top five all-time films and one that I return to often. Yes the budget is modest, and the acting sometimes not quite Oscar worthy, but it is much more than the sum of its parts.

This is a thoughtful science fiction story that weaves its magic in the imagination of the viewer. It is intelligent and enigmatic, and not some B-movie monster flick. Not that there is anything wrong with monster films, but they are not usually "science" fiction - this most definitely is.

I'm very glad to finally have this on DVD after suffering a second generation VHS copy for years. The transfer is very good given the relatively low grade source material, but I don't think there are any extras, which is a shame as I would love to know more about the making of the film. My only real complaint is that it is Region 1 rather than Region 0, but this is a common mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Phase IV [DVD] [2008] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: £12.61
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews