Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treasure
This is not your average book of knitting patterns.
Originally published a number of years ago, it is also not just a new edition. The whole book and all the patterns have been revisited, revised and reviewed and the result is a beautiful, cloth-bound book worthy of any coffee table… and yet many of the patterns do not seem out of the realm of coming to life in...
Published 10 months ago by Multikulti

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Too beautiful - could do with a spotlight on the models
Didn't expect the book to be the old-fashioned gets sticky when damp covering.
Too much thought in making this a beautiful object and not enough in making it clear what the patterns are - I hate it when darkish patterns are photographed in an atmospheric way rather than in decent lighting where you can clearly see what you are about to spend a considerable amount of...
Published 1 month ago by laura


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treasure, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tudor Roses (Hardcover)
This is not your average book of knitting patterns.
Originally published a number of years ago, it is also not just a new edition. The whole book and all the patterns have been revisited, revised and reviewed and the result is a beautiful, cloth-bound book worthy of any coffee table… and yet many of the patterns do not seem out of the realm of coming to life in the hands of a reasonably well-versed knitter (which I didn't expect - I thought it would all be so intricate I'd hardly dare even try a pattern, but not so!).
It's eye-candy and practical all at the same time; each of the patterns has thought and point behind it, being inspired by women in Tudor history and imagined by two women (mother and daughter themselves) who have really considered who each was and what each garment pattern represents. It is eminently readable.
I'm smitten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, beautifully crafted and designed down to the last detail, 4 July 2014
This review is from: Tudor Roses (Hardcover)
What a stunning book! Not cheap, but worth every penny. Beautifully presented, hard-bound with cloth cover and front illustration on top of that. High-quality gloss paper inside - made like a photographic presentation book. 14 carefully crafted and designed kitted tops, two of which could also be easily adapted/would be suitable for men being more unisex in their make-up. The actual knitting instructions are extremely detailed and clear, down to precise body measurements, yarn descriptions, chart keys and finishing techniques. Nothings seems to be left out, unclear or leaving the knitter in doubt. Each garment has multiple illustrations to show it from various angles presented and photographed most professionally. Can I fault this product? Definitely not! Will I be proud to show it to my friends? Definitely!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superbly presented, 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tudor Roses (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book with stunning designs. Each design is accompanied by a short story attempting to give an insight into each of the Tudor Ladies who inspired the creations. The patterns are not for novice knitters but I think they will give motivation to those who wish to further their skills. Even If you never manage to knit any of the designs, this book will still be a joy to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tudor roses, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tudor Roses (Hardcover)
not for the fainthearted, but the design and construction of these garments is actually simpler than you imagine at first glance. Patience and perseverance will be needed, but every one has that understated "wow" factor that is just Alice!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A BEAUTIFUL BOOK, 27 Nov. 2014
By 
Miss S (Wirral, Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tudor Roses (Hardcover)
I Purchased this book as part of a Christmas gift for my mother and it arrived today , well packed and in bubble wrap .

I only had a quick glance but is absolutely breathtaking . Much larger than your average book with and amazing cover shot . I have to admit I didn't take a lot of time to look into the book but a quick flick and they are all stunning and different creations I love it and im hoping mother will too .

Of course I will take time to have a look into the book and see if there is anything I would like to make but its a lovely book and nice to see our names "Catherine" and the knits for those .5 stars out of 5 !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tudor Roses (Hardcover)
This book is superb. The history is well researched, the storylines for each character beautifully written, and the patterns are incredible. This would make a wonderful book for anyone to look through, not just knitters. Indeed, I think many of the patterns are probably too complex for the inexperienced knitter, more aspirational targets for a journeyman piece. I forgot to mention the photography, the models, the accessorising clothing are all evocative eye-candy, and when my knitting mojo deserts me I shall revisit the stories and patterns in this inspirational book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too beautiful - could do with a spotlight on the models, 1 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tudor Roses (Hardcover)
Didn't expect the book to be the old-fashioned gets sticky when damp covering.
Too much thought in making this a beautiful object and not enough in making it clear what the patterns are - I hate it when darkish patterns are photographed in an atmospheric way rather than in decent lighting where you can clearly see what you are about to spend a considerable amount of time & money creating
But great patterns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tudor Roses, 25 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tudor Roses (Hardcover)
Loved this book. Has a lot of lovely patterns and history of the Tudors and Stewarts. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value and quality, 12 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tudor Roses (Hardcover)
Excellent did not expect this quality and size of publication binding gorgeous thank you! Was very surprised and happy with purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tudor Roses, 13 May 2014
By 
Mrs. Y. Main "ysmain" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tudor Roses (Hardcover)
OMG... so many beautiful designs to choose from...each one has an unique pattern and design....there is not one pattern in this book that I will not attempt....a book to droll over many times....I pick it up and re read the stories......Alice Starmore has created a stunning book that should hit the headlines in the knitting world..Love it to bits a fantastic book....the cover in itself is so touchable I do not want this left on the coffee table to be messed with
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tudor Roses
Tudor Roses by Alice Starmore (Hardcover - 31 Jan. 2014)
£24.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews