Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well presented; an excellent gift.
Evidently the reason for purchasing this particular edition of the text is aesthetic. Otherwise, it being out of copyright, you would grab it for a couple of quid from a 'classics' range or for free on the internet; so, it is on the aesthetic that I shall focus. The stories are all familiar and so there's no need to comment on those, but the presentation of the text is...
Published on 6 Jun 2012 by Sancho Panza

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fairy tales
Did not know what to expect from this book. Fairy tales of old without happy ever after endings in some cases. I did read it all all and it was a pleasant interlude between my usually preferred style of fiction.
Published 5 months ago by Michelle


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well presented; an excellent gift., 6 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A House of Pomegranates (Calla Editions) (Hardcover)
Evidently the reason for purchasing this particular edition of the text is aesthetic. Otherwise, it being out of copyright, you would grab it for a couple of quid from a 'classics' range or for free on the internet; so, it is on the aesthetic that I shall focus. The stories are all familiar and so there's no need to comment on those, but the presentation of the text is excellent. The jacket is solid and heavy and has the embossed design of the 1914 edition. The Jessie King illustrations are pencil and watercolour; often simple, but always expressive and attractive. Another reviewer criticises these as being too dull for children; not being one myself, I can't comment authoritatively, but I reckon unredacted Wilde stories are probably a bit difficult for modern children anyway, regardless of their illustrations; so whether the hollow-eyed Balamory-guzzling monsters would like them is beside the point.
The paper quality is high and the layout is elegant. Addressing the purest of the purists, I should point out that the typeface is a modern one and not that of the edition from which the illustrations are taken but it's nevertheless very pretty and the ensemble would be good value at twice the price.
Which is not a hint to the booksellers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fairy tales, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Did not know what to expect from this book. Fairy tales of old without happy ever after endings in some cases. I did read it all all and it was a pleasant interlude between my usually preferred style of fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommend the book to everybody, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like Oscar Wilde a lot. These stories are very good and kind but sad, they are about good side of human nature
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ., 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Who wouldn't be delighted to find the public domain list of FREE classic literature. This is fantastic. All the titles I've always wanted to read and for free - this is my kind of kindle heaven. I love the way they arrive on your kindle, they're so quick, it's like magic. Thank you public domain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Well deservced Oscar!, 29 Jan 2013
By 
L. Galloway (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am an Oscar Wilde fan and have read a number of his books and plays. This one does not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was disappointed with this book. I think it might have been written for children so perhaps I'm expecting too much from it. The stories are child-like, and I didn't find much evidence of Oscar Wilde's wonderful witticisms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A House of Pomegranates (Calla Editions)
A House of Pomegranates (Calla Editions) by Oscar Wilde (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2011)
23.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews