Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An impressive book
I purchased this book as a present for my nephew, who is a professional artist. Apart from the excellent collection of Edgar Allan Poe stories which speak for themselves, I was most impressed by the superb ilustrations which accompany them - all quality graphic images which explains why this hard-back book (even after discount) is quite expensive. My nephew the artist...
Published on 15 Jan. 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book Quality
Whatever you do, KEEP THIS BOOK AWAY FROM LIQUID - I accidently spilt some water on it, and black die instantly seeped from the cover, staining a lot of its inner pages.

The printing technology did not exist in the last century to properly reproduce many of Clarke's colour illustrations, however his black and white printed illustrations were more faithful to...
Published on 11 Jun. 2012 by Clare Devaney


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An impressive book, 15 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Mystery and Imagination (Calla Editions) (Hardcover)
I purchased this book as a present for my nephew, who is a professional artist. Apart from the excellent collection of Edgar Allan Poe stories which speak for themselves, I was most impressed by the superb ilustrations which accompany them - all quality graphic images which explains why this hard-back book (even after discount) is quite expensive. My nephew the artist wanted the book for its illustrations as much as for its stories - which says much for the quality of this aspect of the work. The book is physically large and heavy, and you are certainly aware that is is a quality publication as soon as you pick it up. All in all a worthwhile purchase on every level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 1 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Mystery and Imagination (Calla Editions) (Hardcover)
This fine book contains the work of one the world's great storytellers. I don't need to tell you about Edgar Allen Poe, since you already know him and his work. This book brings together most of his work along with line drawings and illustrations - some in colour - by Harry Clarke. The simple drawings compliment perfectly the dark, macabre stories.
A great book which will leave your spine tingling, make your blood run cold and leave your senses reeling.
Would have received 5 stars instead of 4 if not for Amazon's slow delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny for the illustrations alone, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Mystery and Imagination (Calla Editions) (Hardcover)
I bought this after coming across some Harry Clarke illustrations from it in an Art Gallery.
It is a very big, heavy book (I was surprised to get such quick, free delivery) and worth every penny for the illustrations alone.
I have even started reading the text, although mainly in order to understand the pictures better.
A very good buy, that will last for ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 17 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Mystery and Imagination (Calla Editions) (Hardcover)
I came across this book while searching for the illustrations from Harry Clarke
and don't regret buying it. The stories and illustrations really complement each other
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book Quality, 11 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Tales of Mystery and Imagination (Calla Editions) (Hardcover)
Whatever you do, KEEP THIS BOOK AWAY FROM LIQUID - I accidently spilt some water on it, and black die instantly seeped from the cover, staining a lot of its inner pages.

The printing technology did not exist in the last century to properly reproduce many of Clarke's colour illustrations, however his black and white printed illustrations were more faithful to his original work.

That said, the black and white illustrations in this book do not compare to the beautiful quality of his originals, some of which are on display in the Crawford Art Gallery in Cork City, Ireland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tales of Mystery and Imagination (Calla Editions)
Tales of Mystery and Imagination (Calla Editions) by Edgar Allan Poe (Hardcover - 26 Dec. 2008)
£34.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews