Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bi-polar information, 25 Feb 2011
By 
C. E. Cooper "cazzita" (Adelaide, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide: What You and Your Family Need to Know (Paperback)
My neice thinks she has bi-polar and is in the process of being diagnosed (or not). I wanted to find out more about bi-polar generally and also to look at ways to help her and her family if she is diagnosed. The book is Amerian based but really is useful as there are parts to fill in making it a work in progress book too. There are lots of case histories and it answers the many questions that are raised when faced with bi-polar. I have learned a lot already and would recommend this very latest edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars help someone close to you, 22 May 2012
By 
Sd Nicholson (blackpool uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide: What You and Your Family Need to Know (Paperback)
Purchased because our daughter has being diagnosed as having Bi-Polar,
It will not only help her but the entire family to both cope with and survive,
it also came highly recommended by her councillor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written practical guide, 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide: What You and Your Family Need to Know (Paperback)
Miklowitz's book about how to live with and to live with one that has bipolar disorder is well written. Miklowitz writes with deep respect for everyone who is in touch with the disease. Be that the ill person him- og herself, family relative, friends or work colleagues. The book gives you a well founded review of the disease itself and the medications and various therapy techniques available to improve life conditions and hopefully make this more bearable. According to Miklowitz's you can't do without medication, in which I certainly agree, while therapy can do a lot of good, but it can't stand alone, and works onlyunder the condition that medical treatment is undertaken.
Most exciting perhaps is the chapters about especially what you as a patient can do to improve your condition. The book reviews different tools - eg. a mood chart - which can be of help in coping with the disease. I think tools like these can be very important for many. Think about relatives, colleagues and so on, who perhaps find it very difficult to accept that bipolar disorder is a disaese which you can medicate, but probably not cure. Often they get the impression that the patient uses the excuse, that because of this his or her behaviour is out of his or her own control. Here you get some tools where you a least can try to do something actively to make conditions better.
The books mix of reviews of the disease, its medication, therapy and tools for working actively as a patient with yourself in combination with its writing style makes it in my opinion an excellent book for all who wants to know more of the subject without needing reading several hundred or thousands pages.
My recommendations to this book.
Niels Peter Hermansen
The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide: What You and Your Family Need to Know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, but OK, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide: What You and Your Family Need to Know (Paperback)
This book seems to be written for the person who actually has the bipolar disorder.

My brother has recently been diagnosed with bipolar disorder, and I also have a co-worker with that diagnose.

The book is mainly a self-help guide for people with bipolar disorder. I had expected it to be more of a guide to the family and friends of a person with bipolar disorder.

I still find the book useful, though.

It helps me to understand what's going on with my brother and my co-worker, if I read between the lines.

It may be of some use to myself as guidance and early warning, since I think that I have a touch of bipolar myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough, credible and accessible, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide: What You and Your Family Need to Know (Paperback)
Crystallises experiences with family member, provides clear and thorough explanation of the illness, and provides very valuable toolkit to seek to moderate future episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for reference, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide: What You and Your Family Need to Know (Paperback)
This is a good book on bipolar disorder, written in plain English.
Good book for bipolar sufferers, family and friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use as a reference book as a sufferer of bipolar, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide: What You and Your Family Need to Know (Paperback)
Easy to use as a reference book as a sufferer of bipolar, also easy for members of the family to pick up and relate to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book., 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My family and I really could have done with being given a copy of this book 15 years ago when I was sectioned for a few weeks and had the daunting task of getting my life back on track afterwards. It may well have prevented a large amount of heartache.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide: What You and Your Family Need to Know
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews