Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scary book
this was not as scary as Rosemary's baby but it is still a good read and it's good to know what happened after the first book ,I would recommend this book .
Published 23 months ago by A. Mills

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Was this book written for a joke or a bet ?!
If (like me) you have read "Rosemarys Baby" and were enchanted by the clever writing, sympathetic characters (all of them, even the bad guys) and great plot twists, you will doubtless (like me) eagerly await this sequel.
DON'T read it !
This book is poorly written, with one dimensional characters, cliched plot devices and rehashed events from the first...
Published on 9 Sep 2001 by nickygrimshaw


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Was this book written for a joke or a bet ?!, 9 Sep 2001
This review is from: Son of Rosemary (Hardcover)
If (like me) you have read "Rosemarys Baby" and were enchanted by the clever writing, sympathetic characters (all of them, even the bad guys) and great plot twists, you will doubtless (like me) eagerly await this sequel.
DON'T read it !
This book is poorly written, with one dimensional characters, cliched plot devices and rehashed events from the first novel. Mr Levin is capable of so much more, as anyone who has read "Stepford Wives" and "Boys from Brazil" can testify.
That said, "Son of Rosemary" could at least be written off as a poor and unnecessary sequel - bad, but not unforgiveable (think of all those "Elm Street" movies), were it not for the fact that it completely betrays the original classic in an ending that a primary school child would be ashamed of.
I feel that we have been short changed by an author who is capable of so much more. If you haven't read "Rosemarys Baby" yet, I highly recommend it - but please, please avoid "Son of Rosemary" like the devil himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware! (but for all the wrong reasons), 18 Nov 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Son of Rosemary (Hardcover)
The idea of a sequel to 'Rosemary's Baby' is rich with horrific, delicious possibility. How could Levin ever top that masterpiece which ended so cataclysmically and tantalising with the birth of the AntiChrist? Levin fans will be sure, as I was, that he can do it, because let's face it, he hasn't disappointed us yet. But somehow, sadly, this sequel is a spectacular misfire - a woefully unworthy partner to, and ultimately a shameful mockery of, the first instalment. Everything about it is quite quite awful. Apart from a cunning stunt in a department store, this lacks Levin's usual jet black wit and the plot drags inconsequentially towards possibly the most appalling climax ever committed to paper. In all his other novels, Levin has delivered us a devastating blow, but fans just simply won't believe the twist he's resorted to here...although it's not worth finding it out for yourself, it's just too painful to divulge. Stick with the original...although Levin has hitherto been a stunning thriller writer, leaving the future of the AntiChrist to OUR imagination at the end of 'Rosemary's Baby' is now, sadly, the best thing he never did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It really is as bad as they say!, 22 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Son of Rosemary (Hardcover)
I really wish I had taken heed and NOT read this book! The plot is a joke, the supposed anti-christ is about as scary as David Ike and the ending is like a bad episdode of 'Dallas'!
If you have read Rosemary's Baby then under no circumstances should you read this book! Mr Levin, you should be ashamed of yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Roast Mules. Or not., 7 May 2011
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Fans of Ira Levin's 1967 hit, "Rosemary's Baby" are advised to steer clear of this ridiculous and amateurish sequel. It's hugely disappointing and not even worth the penny that Amazon is charging for used editions.

This story begins 30 years after the first novel ended; Rosemary was in a (Satan-induced) coma all that time but is now happily reunited with her beloved son, Andy, who just happens to be revered as the Greatest and Most-Loved Man on Earth. He's planning a big celebration to unite all of mankind on New Year's Eve, 2000, but Rosemary suspects he may have another kind of party in mind.

The story could be told in five pages but is drawn-out to 255 confusing, boring, silly, and ultimately insulting pages. It bears no resemblance whatever to Levin's first novel which was masterfully-written and ultra-scary. He obviously wrote this one to cash in on his reputation and the result left me shaking my head, sorry I wasted my time with it. It was so dopey, I almost didn't finish reading it, but I assumed it would pay off in the end. Wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Truly awful, 3 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Son of Rosemary (Hardcover)
Surely Ira Levin didnt always write as badly as this? It was uncredible, unbelievable, badly written, etc etc. How could Rosemary nearly have sex with her devil son and then be ok with him the next minute? It was like wake up and smell the tannis! And the ending! What a cop-out! Was he hoping for an immediate film offer? I dont think so Ira. Having said that I read it in a day..indicative of his past storytelling or the lightness of content? Only the devil knows...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's that bad you must read it, 24 Sep 2009
Look at Amazon.com for far more reviews of this book than there are here. The reviews are entertaining and worth reading and some of them will make you laugh out loud. The book, however, isn't worth reading but once you have read the reviews you will want to read the book just to prove to yourself that it is as bad as everyone says it is. However, try not to take the ending at face value, if you understand it you will find it's the best bit of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars just hellish!, 31 Oct 2010
By 
J. Turner (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
and not in a good way. This very long awaited sequel to 'Rosemary's Baby' is horrific and nightmarish for all the wrong reasons. It was obviously written with a movie in mind - I don't know if that movie ever got made, frankly it couldn't be any worse! The characters are stereotypical cardboard cut outs, with Rosemary's character so dumbed down, she just isn't the same person. And the ending is the one that all aspiring writers are told to avoid like the plague! I just wonder if it was Mr Levin's idea of a joke, but it isn't funny at all. I was genuinely surprised that the book was that bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh Dear, 24 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I agree whole-heartedly with the other reviews here - this book is an uneccessary sequel to what was a great little book. I took both Rosemary's baby and Son of Rosemary on holiday, and the dip in quality between the books is quite obvious, with Son of Rosemary feeling overly simple and pointless.

And the end, of course, is the most stupid thing ever. I laughed out loud after closing the book it was that ridiculous. This isn't really worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't read it, 31 Mar 2008
By 
The book isn't *that* bad even if it's not near as good as the first, but the ending is so utterly bad that I must say to anyone who read the first book and liked it enough to want to read a sequel, don't bother it's not worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring!, 17 Jun 2012
By 
D. King (Sevenoaks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very disappointing. I loved Rosemarys Baby and most of Ira Levins other books but this is silly and confusing.I cannot believe he wrote it! Don't waste your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Son of Rosemary
Son of Rosemary by Ira Levin (Paperback - April 2010)
Used & New from: £1.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews