Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jim Davis
This is a great "boys own" adventure story. While there is no real depth the story is well told and the descriptions are beautifully written. Masefield really brings the location and the characters to life and the relationship between Jim and the smugglers has a real Treasurer Island feel about it. We live in the valley where the story is set and therefore it has...
Published on 16 July 2003

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Historical adventure with poetic touch
This is a fun but unremarkable adventure story in the days of smuggling. What lifts it into the 'put it on your reading list' category is John Masefield's marvellous gift for language and for character, and his own detailed knowledge of adventure and the sea.
There is no supernatural or spiritual side to this story, so fans of 'The Midnight Folk' or 'The Box of...
Published on 31 Jan. 2003 by Martin Turner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Historical adventure with poetic touch, 31 Jan. 2003
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim Davis (Paperback)
This is a fun but unremarkable adventure story in the days of smuggling. What lifts it into the 'put it on your reading list' category is John Masefield's marvellous gift for language and for character, and his own detailed knowledge of adventure and the sea.
There is no supernatural or spiritual side to this story, so fans of 'The Midnight Folk' or 'The Box of Delights' may find that what they are looking for isn't there.
On the other hand, fans of Geoffrey or Henry Treece and children's historical fiction will find this to be a classy and exhilerating example of the genre, with well crafted characters and a child's eye view of an alarming world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Do Young Minds Still Read Books Such as This?, 16 Nov. 2011
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim Davis (Paperback)
This is a review of the edition published in 2002 by The Chicken House and with an introduction by Michael Morpurgo. The tale was written by John Masefield in 1911. I wanted to read `Jim Davis' because of my links to the area of South Devon in which it is set. The names of Kingsbridge, Salcombe, South Pool, Stokenham, Torcross, Strete, and Dartmouth all appear in the novel, although there are few if any actual scenes in many of these places. Its prime setting is in "the combe country, where the Gara runs down the valley to the sea."

It is set in the late Napoleonic wars (which makes Masefield's reference to Big Ben at the Houses of Parliament somewhat anachronistic), down on the coast of South Devon, where young Jim Davis becomes unwittingly involved with a fierce gang of smugglers. The pace is fast: there are five changes of costume for Jim in as many chapters. The book is designed for children and would appeal most perhaps to boys (and like-minded girls) aged between ten and fifteen. I did not find it a page-turner (but, then, I'm forty-six).

Michael Morpurgo uses his introduction to inform about the art of good storytelling and the importance of the right ingredients. As for the tale itself, Morpurgo writes how "You can feel the wind and salt spray in your face, as you read it, and feel your heart pounding in terror - just like Jim Davis." Perhaps. But I am curious whether in today's world such stories as this still appeal to young minds. As one of the other reviews says, to me the story is fun but unremarkable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jim Davis, 16 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Jim Davis (Paperback)
This is a great "boys own" adventure story. While there is no real depth the story is well told and the descriptions are beautifully written. Masefield really brings the location and the characters to life and the relationship between Jim and the smugglers has a real Treasurer Island feel about it. We live in the valley where the story is set and therefore it has special meaning for us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim Davis (Kindle Edition)
I read this book when I was at school and i enjoyed it then, so thought i would re-visit it. I was not diappointed. Good childrens book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars jim davis, 12 Nov. 2011
By 
Mr. M. J. Barker "Mike" (Sedgeford Norfolk England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim Davis (Paperback)
I read this when I was young and is one of my favourite novels, it is nice to have an up to date version in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim Davis (Paperback)
Haven't read it yet ....but highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jim Davis
Jim Davis by John Masefield (Paperback - 18 April 2008)
£5.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews