Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An old story, retold...
from the LEAPFROG book series.

From the back cover:-

'On a cold winter evening, a little match girl tries to keep herself warm.
What wonderful things will she see in the flames of her matches?'

Example of text:-

`It was a cold winter evening.
A poor little girl was trying to earn money by selling matches.
As the...
Published on 10 Mar 2008 by A Customer of AMAZON-UK!

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing adaptation
Much preferred the original version. Modernising classics like this takes away some of the magic. So disappointed. Beautifully illustrated however.
Published 11 months ago by gemmajones


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An old story, retold..., 10 Mar 2008
from the LEAPFROG book series.

From the back cover:-

'On a cold winter evening, a little match girl tries to keep herself warm.
What wonderful things will she see in the flames of her matches?'

Example of text:-

`It was a cold winter evening.
A poor little girl was trying to earn money by selling matches.
As the sun set, party lights lit up in the windows.
The little match girl huddled behind a wall to keep warm.
"If I light just one match," she said, "I could warm my frozen feet."....'

And so she does.......and each time she lights a match she sees another vision in the flame..... before it flickers away.

A `happy' ending...... of sorts, and although it may not appeal to every young reader.... it certainly opens scope for discussion along the lines of life after death for an older age group.
(n.b. - The pictures of the `lifeless body' may upset more sensitive readers, therefore I would recommend adult perusal first, if possible.)

32 high quality shiny pages in the popular 2-page spread format. Numbered pages with clear, easy-to-follow text. Illustrated throughout.

'Leapfrog has been specially designed to fit the requirements of the National Literacy Strategy. It offers real books for beginning readers by top authors and illustrators.'

There are a number of `Leapfrog' stories to choose from and these are listed on the very last page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i bought this as a present and i loved it. The illustrations are lovely. Its just a shame it seems so short. However it is only one story so what can you expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book, 22 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Little Match Girl (Hardcover)
i read this story as a child and i remember how sad i felt for the little girl. Each picture that came when the match was lit was magical and you wanted each image to stay and as a child it teaches you to think about how other children just like you are suffering in the world. Children will always love this book even though it is sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Matchstick Girl (Hardcover)
Beautiful illustrations and lovely hard cover. The actual story is one of the best ever written and the combination makes for a perfect gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good service, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very pleased with the book . Good fast service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars pretty!, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got this for our 5-year old granddaughter and she loves it, especially the OLD-DSTYLE pics..... must say so do i!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sad heart warmng stry, 28 Mar 2014
By 
S. hicks "silvershe" (herts,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this story. It covers humanity greed abuse cruelty and love awe. Such a classic story....
Thanks. for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWSOME, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was very sad at the end but it was still great.bit short though could of done with more pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing adaptation, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Much preferred the original version. Modernising classics like this takes away some of the magic. So disappointed. Beautifully illustrated however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely story, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really good book. Makes u wonder what's more important in life. I think everyone should read this book. Awwww
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Little Matchstick Girl
The Little Matchstick Girl by Hans Christian Andersen (Hardcover - Jun 2008)
Used & New from: £19.27
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews