Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good runners companion
I have read a lot of running science literature (as a PhD and medic) and enjoyed reading this book cover to cover. The detailed science is generally covered well (minor discrepancies re. the description of the phagocyte lineage) and it is a good read, covering all the topics that concern running. I am going to do the injury prevention exercises and run consistently from...
Published on 7 Nov. 2010 by jellybean

versus
5 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very poor
Compared with other available "running Books" (Daniels' running formula, for example) this is the worst. Too general statements, very few detailed explanations on exercises, too vague. Really not useful. Do not recommend at all!!
Published on 26 May 2012 by Domingos Henrique


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good runners companion, 7 Nov. 2010
This review is from: The Runner's Body: How the Latest Exercise Science Can Help You Run Stronger, Longer, and Faster (Runners World) (Paperback)
I have read a lot of running science literature (as a PhD and medic) and enjoyed reading this book cover to cover. The detailed science is generally covered well (minor discrepancies re. the description of the phagocyte lineage) and it is a good read, covering all the topics that concern running. I am going to do the injury prevention exercises and run consistently from now on!
I'm sure it would be very useful to nearly all runners. A great all-round running book that I will lend to friends and am likely to come back to time after time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very informative book, 9 Mar. 2010
By 
This review is from: The Runner's Body: How the Latest Exercise Science Can Help You Run Stronger, Longer, and Faster (Runners World) (Paperback)
I appreciate strongly this book :
It is written by 2 PhD & (long) distance runners & coaches (and 1 journalist )
It provides organized and valuable scientific informations ( the studies supporting the conclusions or indications are indentified )
It diferenciate what is proven, and what is assumed.
Of course, it is written for a very large public, and no background is required in biology or medical science.
The book is organized in 5 parts (musculoskeletal syst./Cardio respiratory syst./ Metabolic syst. / Central nervous syst. / Immune syst.) of 30 to 40 pages each ; where can be found focused and accurate informations ( for example, as a short sample, I notice : "developing more resilient legs" // "palletofemoral pain syndrom; description and causes; training through it; treatment and rehabilitation"// "the importance of speed work" // " a black swan in fluid intake: reason to challenge the paradigm" ( a very necessary explanation about deshydratation, what it is and what it is not, and the important question of hyponatremia, and a clear point about biased drinking advices yet regularly adress to runners ) // .."sports Drinks: an ineffective Method of replacing Sodium " // ...// "running technique: earning Style points" // .. "runner's high" ; "better than prozac " (a summary about neurotransmetters produced during exercise, and their potential effect on mental health and condition ) // "radicals and inflammers" "free radicals, anti oxidants and muscle damage" // ...
As a whole, it allows a deeper understanding of the biology of training and recovery, with supporting scientific argument clearly identified (and weighted), and clear & practicable advices.
It does not provides a detailed training program for the 10K or the marathon (whih can be found in numerous others books) but a general accurate background which will help the runner to understand and improve any training.
As a whole, being a 50y old recreative runner (40K / week) since 8 years, after reading 5 or 6 books written by long distance runners; I found this book unique because it provides a true scientific insight .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good read on the science of running, 15 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Runner's Body: How the Latest Exercise Science Can Help You Run Stronger, Longer, and Faster (Runners World) (Paperback)
I am a chi running instructor and although there is a mixed view at the end of this book I was prepared for that. What I liked was the 'dull thud of references' throughout the book. Having a Science and sports background it was good not to get some blinkered view but a real look at the sports and medical evidence re the effects of running, preparation, biomechanics, immune system and energy considerations; really interesting and well worth the purchase. What I would say is that the referencing stopped at the end when the authors clearly had a difference of opinion about whether form can be taught or not.....I have already passed this on to my clients as a 'strong recommend'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes Sense At Last, 9 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Runner's Body: How the Latest Exercise Science Can Help You Run Stronger, Longer, and Faster (Runners World) (Paperback)
If you frequent any of the running websites or read the magazines, you will likely be as bewildered as I was by all the different and sometimes conflicting advice. I was also skeptical due to the superficial nature of many of the articles.

This book purported to consolidate the truth from all the latest research and it delivers. It has really changed the way I train and I feel that what I do now is based upon sound knowledge. Well worth buying in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just what I needed, 17 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Runner's Body: How the Latest Exercise Science Can Help You Run Stronger, Longer, and Faster (Runners World) (Paperback)
Ironically I had just woken up with a severe case of doms when this book arrived in the post. Skipping straight to chapter 2 I read about the temporary condition I had, exactly why I got it (damn downhill mountain running) and how to aid the recovery (3day rest with no anti inflammatory pills). This book contains a good mix of research based info, humour and anecdotes which is perfect for the beginner or even an experienced runner looking for something fresh. It's well laid out and you can dive into whatever chapter is most beneficial to you at any given time, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book., 30 Jan. 2012
By 
Tony (Poole Dorset) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Runner's Body: How the Latest Exercise Science Can Help You Run Stronger, Longer, and Faster (Runners World) (Paperback)
I bought this book for my wife,being a runner, which she constantly refers to saying that it is very informative and understandable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Expert, 9 Mar. 2013
By 
Dr Certain (Rickmansworth, hertfordsgir United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Runner's Body: How the Latest Exercise Science Can Help You Run Stronger, Longer, and Faster (Runners World) (Paperback)
As a runner, an osteopath and a specialist in running , I can confirm this book is excellent. The logical sequence refreshing and the information plainly written so it appeals to all levels of those interested in science. Improvements could be made. It requires a reference section and system, so when the author quotes a fact we can be assured its peer reviewed and not a dodgy old wife's tale. That said, the facts presented all seem well based in science and appear well researched. If you are looking for a good understanding of what happens to your body in sport / running buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A simply-worded, but brilliant book., 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Runner's Body: How the Latest Exercise Science Can Help You Run Stronger, Longer, and Faster (Runners World) (Paperback)
This book explains the working of the human body during exercise in a clear but accurate manner. For anyone wanting to learn more about how to train, especially if they have limited understanding of human physiology (or even if, like me, they have a background in health care) I would thoroughly recommend this book as being thorough, and readable. It will continue to be a reference book for me for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book and training companion, 18 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Runner's Body: How the Latest Exercise Science Can Help You Run Stronger, Longer, and Faster (Runners World) (Paperback)
I've read lots of material on training, nutrition, physiology, etc. This is by far the best book on running that I have read. Clear concise and very informative. Dispels many training myths and provides science based remedies for those running problems. If your serious about running then you need to read this book and save yourself a lot of money. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Runners Body, 5 Dec. 2009
By 
Stephen Docherty (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Runner's Body: How the Latest Exercise Science Can Help You Run Stronger, Longer, and Faster (Runners World) (Paperback)
Very informative and enjoyable read. Learnt alot from the book and feel I am a better runner now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews