Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book takes you from the body as a system to individual moleculas
The authors of this book describe exactly how ageing process works and how diseases such as cancer or heart disease develop. The detail is stunning - they explain everything atom by atom, molecule by molecule. The book contains a guide about how much vitamins or minerals to take every day - this is supported by a rigorous research - like all the topics in the book. The...
Published on 2 Aug 2010 by MG

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Books
Good book but a bit heavy reading but stick with it worth the money and interesting hope it helps me to live forever or at least until I win the lottery lol.
Published 14 months ago by alexander gordon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book takes you from the body as a system to individual moleculas, 2 Aug 2010
The authors of this book describe exactly how ageing process works and how diseases such as cancer or heart disease develop. The detail is stunning - they explain everything atom by atom, molecule by molecule. The book contains a guide about how much vitamins or minerals to take every day - this is supported by a rigorous research - like all the topics in the book. The book even contains a chapter with recipes and there's a week menu which shows examples of what to eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner. This book aims to change ones lifestyle with a focus on promoting longevity and preventing most diseases. I had this book for a while and it really opened my eyes in terms of what I should eat and what I shouldn't eat. There's also a list of supplements that are natural and don't have any side effects. Each of them is described in detail in terms of side effects and what are they good for, which organ or body function they support. The aim of this book is to help everyone to live a bit longer using current knowledge, to be able to benefit from the huge technological development in the future. I also tried some supplements, especially those from the Brain and Heart chapter and they really work. My memory returned, I feel fresh and I can run much faster than before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 22 Nov 2013
This review is from: Transcend: Nine Steps to Living Well Forever (Paperback)
Very interesting and astonishing and new content. Worth reading! I like the writer and follow his work. Try it and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wellness at cellular level, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transcend: Nine Steps to Living Well Forever (Paperback)
I found this book very interesting as living a healthy life is very important to me. As I am not an expert ,I did not know how to keep the cells of my body at their best but after reading this book, I know what I should be doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live Forever, 9 Sep 2013
This review is from: Transcend: Nine Steps to Living Well Forever (Paperback)
Want to live forever? This is the book for you. That may sound like a fatuous statement to accompany some woolly, magical thinking guide, but everything here is based on the latest scientific studies (all referenced, if you don't want to take the authors at their word). Indeed, Kurzweil is a leading scientific philosopher, best-known for his writing on the coming technology singularity. Grossman is a doctor.

How can you live forever? It's a simple equation. In the 2020s, biotech advances will extend lifespans. In the 2030s, nanotech advances will help your body repair itself ad infinitum. This book is a guide to everything you can do yourself to help you live just long enough to reach the first 'bridge', which should then carry you through to the second. Simple. Here is all the latest thinking on nutrition, exercise, relaxation, supplements, calorie reduction, new technologies and more - and not just what works, but why it works. You will also find some of the surprising, hidden things that are slowly killing you. And if you think you know all this stuff, I'm betting that you don't.

None of the advice is onerous. Little changes have big consequences. Even if you're a confirmed cynic, making those changes will undoubtedly make you feel better, so what's to lose?

If you don't consider yourself 'scientifically minded', don't worry - all the scientific evidence here isn't hard-going. The two authors have a lively writing style and communicate detailed information in an easily-digested form. This is a 'how to...' guide, recommended for everyone. Philosophically, it'll make you look at the world around you in a different way. And as a template for really improving your day-to-day existence, it's unparalleled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Nov 2014
By 
Haris Petrou (Larnaca, Cyprus) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transcend: Nine Steps to Living Well Forever (Paperback)
Great book, worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some good things but a few flaws, 22 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: Transcend: Nine Steps to Living Well Forever (Paperback)
The first thing I have to say is that the title is definitely false advertising. "Forever" does not exist with any natural phenomenon. Everything in the world is born to life, lives which means follows a track of growth and decay, dies and eventually is reborn through some form of reproduction for the organisms that can reproduce. No one will live forever. The human species is genetically planned to disappear in a way or another like all other animal species. The best thing that happens with animal life is that natural evolution eliminates organisms that are no longer fit for survival in the changing environment it lives in and replaces it with an organism that is fitter to that environment.

The point with human beings is that natural evolution has endowed our species with a form of intelligence that enables us to go against this natural evolution by changing the environment, by producing our means of survival, by going against decay and death even for the individuals who are obviously badly adapted for survival and would die in a jiffy if natural evolution had the last word. Religion, science, technology, medicine are the human inventions that enabled the species to extend its survival and expand its living conditions.

We find that same "human" vanity in the first chapter when the authors say "You create your brain" (p. 7). The brain is a given organ that depends as for its existence on the genetic inheritance of the individual or the species. They say then "You create your brain from the input you get" (p. 8). This is less false since it takes into account the input, but the genetic input cannot be an input "you" get because "you" do not exist in anyway before this genetic inheritance is brought up by the fertilization of an egg by a spermatozoon. They finally come to a closer truth when they say "I do indeed create my mind from my own thoughts" (p. 8) The mind is not an organ, but it is a meta-sense, meaning it is potentially contained in the genetic structure and functionality of the brain in its body and under the survival requirement in the body's and species' environment.

The mistake is the use of the word "create". The comparison with muscles should have made them realize the vanity of this word. Exercise and training does not "create" a muscle but only develops it. The proper approach of the mind would be that our sensorial experiences and the strong requests from our environment in order to survive, and today to get an education which is the basic social survival requirement, DEVELOP the mental function of the brain and hence the MIND. As for the brain the same sensorial experiences plus physical activities along with the development of language DEVELOP the brain's ability to "think", DEVELOP our THOUGHTS or THINKING and hence enable the brain to DEVELOP in itself connections and relations between the various cells that are genetically programmed to establish such relations and connections. True enough it is this global experience of coordinated actions, coordinated thinking, articulated language and systematic reflection (distantiation and mental reconstruction) that makes the brain of any individual what it is, rich or poor, richly developed or underdeveloped, etc.

I am surprised that the authors did not speak of mirror neurons that are essential in contact with other people and learning. Yet they compensate this flaw with the mention of spindle cells that are essential to build complex responses to the environment, i.e. coordinated, articulated and empathetic reactions. Language is these responses though the authors concentrate on emotions. They do not even consider the ancillary role, not to speak of the conceptual role of language in thinking, communicating, emotional contact, etc. Their world is entirely language-empty, and that is regrettable because articulated language is a basic human dimension resulting from natural evolution.

Now this book, by far too big for simple readers, is clear on a few healthy elements: To live better and longer, man or woman must be active, practice regular and rather exacting exercise, sleep properly, eat healthy and balanced food, drink moderately and non exciting beverages (alcohol or caffeine or energizing drinks, though they don't mention these that are included under caffeine) and practice relaxation and even meditation.

As for activity and exercise, they do not specify a wide enough variety: no walking, no bicycling, no swimming, apparently only aerobics and running lengthily mentioned. As for healthy food, they speak against deep frying and other high temperature cooking, but they do not speak one word on low temperature cooking that microwave ovens provide. As for relaxation and meditation they stop short, a long way short, of Buddhist and Oriental meditation that some consider as being self-hypnosis into total inner relaxation by pushing away outer environmental elements. Yoga is definitely, in its Western reduction to some kind of physical and mental recipe, a trendy suggestion in Northern America and the developed world.

The TRANSCEND program is also very surprising in its first element, "talk with your doctor" and heavy emphasis on medical tests and prescription drugs, because it sounds like open and unconditional support to the medical profession that has not done much so far for prevention but has done so far a lot for surgical and chemotherapeutic inflexibility if not obduracy. People have to become their own mental doctors and meditation as well as education are essential, and the "talk with your doctor" provides neither. The book then becomes a set of recipes (including a vast food recipe section) and suggestions (including a vast aerobic section) counterbalanced by long lists of supplements and drugs and chemical elements etc. Anyone who does not have a high degree of training and curiosity in the field will not get a real positive return from this book.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Books, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book but a bit heavy reading but stick with it worth the money and interesting hope it helps me to live forever or at least until I win the lottery lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read and eye-opener, 29 Oct 2010
By 
L. McIntyre (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an easy read and a wonderful guide to taking your life into control. Thorough explanations and guidelines make it worth while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Transcend: Nine Steps to Living Well Forever
Transcend: Nine Steps to Living Well Forever by Terry Grossman (Paperback - 21 Dec 2010)
£11.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews