Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent tater of philosophy
I'm currently taking my final year in A level philosophy and I'd like to recommend this as a taster of philosophy that is a slightly more challenging read than the average textbook or 'teach yourself guide'. The language is clear and concise but the concepts are challenging and Russell really does engage the reader and gets you thinking about the problems he addresses,...
Published on 21 April 2002

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great.
Provides a good introduction to the various discussions and disagreements in philosophy, however it is tainted by his own biases. Because it is such a short book, his criticisms of idealism and Immanuel Kant aren't able to be unpacked. Therefore, any student who begins with this book will immediately assume Russell's own conclusions to be long settled, which is not the...
Published on 7 Mar 2012 by Owen Retsof


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent tater of philosophy, 21 April 2002
By A Customer
I'm currently taking my final year in A level philosophy and I'd like to recommend this as a taster of philosophy that is a slightly more challenging read than the average textbook or 'teach yourself guide'. The language is clear and concise but the concepts are challenging and Russell really does engage the reader and gets you thinking about the problems he addresses, inspiring you to read more! A fairly short book, well worth reading whether you have ever come across philosophy before or not as it assumes no previous knowledge. An excellent read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for all philosophers, 12 May 2001
By A Customer
If you haven't read this yet, read it! The definite article in the title may be misleading; of course Russell does not tackle ALL the problems of philosophy - indeed who is to say what they all are? The book is mostly confined to problems of epistemology - i.e., what we can know. Having said this, it provides an excellent introduction to philosophy generally. There is nothing quite like Russell's crystal-clear prose style, which immediately gives a sense of the best philosophical writing. No doubt reading this will give you the urge to explore more philosophy; it really deserves its reputation as the best introduction to the subject from an anglophone point of view. (For "continental" philosophy, try Sartre's "Existentialism and Humanism".)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Luna, 19 Oct 2010
I'm preparing myself for my Philosophy course in Uni next year and somebody suggested this book.

It's a fantastic book to introduce yourself to the subject and Bertrand Russell is a really good philosopher/writer. There isn't many technical terms and he doesn't really tell you what the topic is called but he makes the philosophy very understandable. Due to the age of the book, some vocabulary are quite hard and out of context and I couldn't actually finish a page without using my dictionary!

Overall a great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engagingly thorough, deceptively Concise, 31 July 2005
By 
A fantastic, if not slightly intense introduction to the discipline of philosophy.
This is a book that will have as much value the first time read as every subsequent time. Deceptively concise because at close to 130 pages it manages to confront a vast number of philosophical positions, and unlike many other philosophical introductions forces the reader to actually understand the philosophical argumentation, as opposed to simply learning it. The strength of this work as an introduction isn't so much as an overview of epistemological theories but in the actual discipline of rigorous analytic thinking.
I highly enjoyed this work and it is perfect for any person with a serious interest in philosophy. A degree of familiarity with philosophical writing, or a philosophical dictionary may be needed to ensure a smooth and rewarding read, as Russell really is one of the most prolific, erudite and concise writers of modern times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read the first part last., 3 April 2003
By 
Russell, like Richard Dawkins, is such a lucid and persuasive writer that you have to make an effort to think carefully about whether what he is saying is right. John Skorupski's short introduction raises some of the objections to Russell's views (and Russell also points out a few problems in the appendix), but you should read the rest of the book before the introduction. Basically this is a tour through some problems in epistemology - Russell admits the book is only about subjects he feels able to be constructive about. Thought-provoking even if you don't agree with Russell's arguments - it's not a book you can read quickly if you're going to take it in properly, but you don't need any expert background either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars just as described, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Problems of Philosophy (Paperback)
useful introduction to the subject at an accessible level. Should prove its worth as the course progresses and I become more familiar with the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes Sense, 11 Dec 1999
By A Customer
I study philosophy at A-level and I grew tired of books I just could not get to grips with. Bertrand Russel's book however was a breath of fresh air.
At the beginning of each chapter he outlines his aims and then at the end he gives an easy to understand conclusion. This makes the book so much easier to understand.
The chapters are nice and short and tackle something new every time, and so you never get bogged down in deep, complicated ideas.
I liked this book simply because of its (relative) simplicity, and even though it got tough in places, generally it was a delightful workout for the mind without leaving you exhausted.
Top notch common sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ordered for daughters A levels, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ordered for study for daughter's A levels, knew what we wanted, ordered it and got it. No further comments to make - delivered on time etc. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The problems of philosophy, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Problems of Philosophy (Paperback)
This is a classic introductory text for good reason. It is written by one of the great philosophers of the 20th century in a period of his life when he had turned away from writing for academics and wanted to communicate science and philosophy to the general public. It is not an unbiased overview of 20th century philosophy, it it an insight into the problems that he believed were important and the ways he tackled those problems. I found it, and continue to find it, a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Philosophy ideas to ponder..., 11 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Problems of Philosophy (Paperback)
This is such a good book to have nearby; it is small and easy to read. Russell starts by considering the attributes of his table and pointing out several obvious aspects of this or any other object: hardness, colour, surface, etc. Then leads us to the (also obvious) notion that all perceptible qualities of any object are not those of its constituent parts. Ultimately, the atoms that form an object do not have, as intrinsic features hardness, solidity, colour or anything that we observe with senses! The attributes that we observe are those of a large number of its parts; hardness for example is something extra! It gives support to the idea that "the whole is more than the sum of its parts!" Have a good read...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa50b7c24)

This product

The Problems of Philosophy
The Problems of Philosophy by Bertrand Russell (Paperback - 30 Dec 2007)
2.39
Usually dispatched within 2 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews