Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Luna
I'm preparing myself for my Philosophy course in Uni next year and somebody suggested this book.

It's a fantastic book to introduce yourself to the subject and Bertrand Russell is a really good philosopher/writer. There isn't many technical terms and he doesn't really tell you what the topic is called but he makes the philosophy very understandable. Due to the...
Published on 19 Oct. 2010 by Luna

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars :/ late
I enjoy the book. My only problem with it, which was a big one for me, was that it took 3 weeks longer to arrive than the estimated delivery date stated. (By that time i already had a test on the information held within the book that i had no access to for my college class
Published on 11 Mar. 2013 by josh shechter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Luna, 19 Oct. 2010
I'm preparing myself for my Philosophy course in Uni next year and somebody suggested this book.

It's a fantastic book to introduce yourself to the subject and Bertrand Russell is a really good philosopher/writer. There isn't many technical terms and he doesn't really tell you what the topic is called but he makes the philosophy very understandable. Due to the age of the book, some vocabulary are quite hard and out of context and I couldn't actually finish a page without using my dictionary!

Overall a great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes Sense, 11 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
I study philosophy at A-level and I grew tired of books I just could not get to grips with. Bertrand Russel's book however was a breath of fresh air.
At the beginning of each chapter he outlines his aims and then at the end he gives an easy to understand conclusion. This makes the book so much easier to understand.
The chapters are nice and short and tackle something new every time, and so you never get bogged down in deep, complicated ideas.
I liked this book simply because of its (relative) simplicity, and even though it got tough in places, generally it was a delightful workout for the mind without leaving you exhausted.
Top notch common sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Philosophy ideas to ponder..., 11 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Problems of Philosophy (Paperback)
This is such a good book to have nearby; it is small and easy to read. Russell starts by considering the attributes of his table and pointing out several obvious aspects of this or any other object: hardness, colour, surface, etc. Then leads us to the (also obvious) notion that all perceptible qualities of any object are not those of its constituent parts. Ultimately, the atoms that form an object do not have, as intrinsic features hardness, solidity, colour or anything that we observe with senses! The attributes that we observe are those of a large number of its parts; hardness for example is something extra! It gives support to the idea that "the whole is more than the sum of its parts!" Have a good read...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars just as described, 16 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Problems of Philosophy (Paperback)
useful introduction to the subject at an accessible level. Should prove its worth as the course progresses and I become more familiar with the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The problems of philosophy, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Problems of Philosophy (Paperback)
This is a classic introductory text for good reason. It is written by one of the great philosophers of the 20th century in a period of his life when he had turned away from writing for academics and wanted to communicate science and philosophy to the general public. It is not an unbiased overview of 20th century philosophy, it it an insight into the problems that he believed were important and the ways he tackled those problems. I found it, and continue to find it, a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars :/ late, 11 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy the book. My only problem with it, which was a big one for me, was that it took 3 weeks longer to arrive than the estimated delivery date stated. (By that time i already had a test on the information held within the book that i had no access to for my college class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very nice introduction to philosophy. It is written in a clear, engaging and sympathetic manner to those unfamiliar with philosophy. A good, short, introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ok Better Than Expected, 11 Dec. 2014
By 
Khadijah Al-Hussain (Whetstone, London, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Problems of Philosophy (Paperback)
Book is good if you are into or studying philosophical thought. Some very interesting ideas, love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction; useful and thought provoking, 26 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
I originally had to read this book as a set text for university application and a first really did not like the look of it. It was written in a hurry (originally to be published under the title of "shilling shocker") and in places it does show.
Russell sets the chapters out clearly and you are told precisely what his aim is at the beginning of each chapter. However, unfortuneately he doesn't manage to fulfill many of them. The book is generally clearly written and fairly easy to understand (as far as philosophy books go!) It tackels the main issues and at least gets the reader to consider their own opinion.
It is entirely unsatisfactory in parts, where Russell's own views taint the writing incredibly and there are generally a lot of problems with some of the things Russell says. However this almost makes it more useful because at least then it encourages the reader to take up the point and perhaps consider where they think Russell has gone wrong.
It's accessible and although not perfect, it probably one of the better introductions to philosophy that i have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A self-absorbed cerebral maze., 4 Jan. 2015
Bertrand Russell's discourse on the problems of philosophy could appeal to those who seek either to find pleasure in intellectual activity or to those trying to understand something of the way in which a well-known "philosophiser" thinks.

This can be seen even from just looking at the table of contents:
1. Appearance and Reality; 2. The Existence of Matter; 3. The Nature of Matter; 4. Idealism; 5. Knowledge by Acquaintance and Knowledge by Description; 6. On Induction; 7. On Our Knowledge of General Principles; 8. How A Priori Knowledge is Possible; 9. The World of Universals; 10. On Our Knowledge of Universals; 11. On Intuitive Knowledge; 12. Truth and Falsehood; 13. Knowledge, Error, and Probable Opinion; 14. The Limits of Philosophical Knowledge; 15. The Value of Philosophy

Defined simply, true philosophy is the love of wisdom, and to love wisdom for its practice requires seeking and finding the truth about things. Thinking is one such process that can help one find the truth, but it is not the only process.

The trouble with thinkers (“intellectuals”) is that they think the truth can be arrived at by the head (thinking) alone, ignoring the fact (in deed it is a fact) that truth is arrived at with a touch of the heart. Herein lays the meaning of wisdom, as with the biblical allegory of King Solomon and the mother of her baby.

The irony (or is it a paradox?) is that intellectuals have attached their feelings to thoughts; they are “cerebral” in the extreme, a position opposed to the opposite extreme where feelings dominate thinking. Yet there is always feeling, regardless of what anyone thinks. These extremes can be seen in the complementary relationships between men and women, where the gender differences in thinking and feeling are seen in the balance, with a shifting, unseen fulcrum (pivot) determining the balance in such relationships.

The cerebral predisposition seems to be the case with Russell's attempt at objective reasoning in his book. You'll never see him provide the means for reasoning for the truth. He mainly gives his personal opinions, and because he sounds like a smart scientist, everybody is so impressed. I can see why intellectuals idolise him ... complexity impresses them.

Wherever there is a problem, one should provide a viable, practical solution. Russell identifies problems without applicable solutions. Russell is short on “King Solomon’s reasoning”.

This book is for those who love the way he thinks; a nice intellectual, cosy corner for the misplaced heart. Read the book and reason this for yourself.

Russell's book is in deed a self-absorbed, baffling cerebral maize, and probably only finitely meaningful to himself and to others who enjoy thinking in the way he does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Problems of Philosophy
The Problems of Philosophy by Bertrand Russell (Paperback - 30 Dec. 2007)
£2.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews