Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Luna, 19 Oct 2010
I'm preparing myself for my Philosophy course in Uni next year and somebody suggested this book.

It's a fantastic book to introduce yourself to the subject and Bertrand Russell is a really good philosopher/writer. There isn't many technical terms and he doesn't really tell you what the topic is called but he makes the philosophy very understandable. Due to the age of the book, some vocabulary are quite hard and out of context and I couldn't actually finish a page without using my dictionary!

Overall a great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars just as described, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Problems of Philosophy (Paperback)
useful introduction to the subject at an accessible level. Should prove its worth as the course progresses and I become more familiar with the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes Sense, 11 Dec 1999
By A Customer
I study philosophy at A-level and I grew tired of books I just could not get to grips with. Bertrand Russel's book however was a breath of fresh air.
At the beginning of each chapter he outlines his aims and then at the end he gives an easy to understand conclusion. This makes the book so much easier to understand.
The chapters are nice and short and tackle something new every time, and so you never get bogged down in deep, complicated ideas.
I liked this book simply because of its (relative) simplicity, and even though it got tough in places, generally it was a delightful workout for the mind without leaving you exhausted.
Top notch common sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very nice introduction to philosophy. It is written in a clear, engaging and sympathetic manner to those unfamiliar with philosophy. A good, short, introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The problems of philosophy, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Problems of Philosophy (Paperback)
This is a classic introductory text for good reason. It is written by one of the great philosophers of the 20th century in a period of his life when he had turned away from writing for academics and wanted to communicate science and philosophy to the general public. It is not an unbiased overview of 20th century philosophy, it it an insight into the problems that he believed were important and the ways he tackled those problems. I found it, and continue to find it, a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Philosophy ideas to ponder..., 11 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Problems of Philosophy (Paperback)
This is such a good book to have nearby; it is small and easy to read. Russell starts by considering the attributes of his table and pointing out several obvious aspects of this or any other object: hardness, colour, surface, etc. Then leads us to the (also obvious) notion that all perceptible qualities of any object are not those of its constituent parts. Ultimately, the atoms that form an object do not have, as intrinsic features hardness, solidity, colour or anything that we observe with senses! The attributes that we observe are those of a large number of its parts; hardness for example is something extra! It gives support to the idea that "the whole is more than the sum of its parts!" Have a good read...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction; useful and thought provoking, 26 Nov 2000
By A Customer
I originally had to read this book as a set text for university application and a first really did not like the look of it. It was written in a hurry (originally to be published under the title of "shilling shocker") and in places it does show.
Russell sets the chapters out clearly and you are told precisely what his aim is at the beginning of each chapter. However, unfortuneately he doesn't manage to fulfill many of them. The book is generally clearly written and fairly easy to understand (as far as philosophy books go!) It tackels the main issues and at least gets the reader to consider their own opinion.
It is entirely unsatisfactory in parts, where Russell's own views taint the writing incredibly and there are generally a lot of problems with some of the things Russell says. However this almost makes it more useful because at least then it encourages the reader to take up the point and perhaps consider where they think Russell has gone wrong.
It's accessible and although not perfect, it probably one of the better introductions to philosophy that i have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to the key questions of western philosophy, 7 Nov 2009
By 
John Kingston (Bournemouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first read this short and lucid introduction to many of the key questions addressed by Western philosophy back in 1968, as a new philosophy undergraduate. It gave me a key insight that helped my next 3 years - that the best way to understand philosophy is usually to read the works of the great philosophers themselves, rather than to read commentaries on them.
Russell has a reputation for being hard work, simply I think because of his place as one of the great intellectuals of the 20th century. But this book, written as a young man, is clear and encourages the reader to think further about the ideas it explores.
I bought this copy as a basis for discussion with my 10 year old son, who like many young people enjoys playing with philosophical ideas. Much of the vocabulary is naturally beyond him, but this also is an educational opportunity. Thoroughly recommended to anyone with an interest in philosophy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Problems of Philosophy
The Problems of Philosophy by Bertrand Russell (Paperback - 30 Dec 2007)
2.41
Usually dispatched within 1 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews