Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The True Alchemy.
A summarised vesion of Ihya-ul-Aloom (Revival of Religious Sciences) by Imam Al-Ghazali. The perfect book to start with if you want to explore yourself and then read Ihya to understand it better. Alchemy of Happiness takes you from the simple day-to-day acts like eating, drinking, meeting people, and listening music, to moderate ones like marriage, jobs/business to the...
Published on 3 Sept. 2003 by W. Ahmad

versus
28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Time for a new translation
Maybe it is time for a new translation of this book. Claud Field translated this from Hindustani, such a long time ago. The transliteration of Ghazali as Ghazzali shows that he does not understand the etymology of the name even.

I read some chapters in Persian and compared them to Field's translation the other day and what are quite weird and other-worldy...
Published on 19 April 2009 by mysterioustraveller


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The True Alchemy., 3 Sept. 2003
By 
W. Ahmad (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
A summarised vesion of Ihya-ul-Aloom (Revival of Religious Sciences) by Imam Al-Ghazali. The perfect book to start with if you want to explore yourself and then read Ihya to understand it better. Alchemy of Happiness takes you from the simple day-to-day acts like eating, drinking, meeting people, and listening music, to moderate ones like marriage, jobs/business to the more complex issues like love, meaning of life and death, spirit (with subtlenes), Maarifat (knowing God). And with a pace and authenticity that comes from an extensive knowledge, exploration, experimenting and belief.
A must read for every human being (not only muslims) if you want to see the strange side of universe and your existance. Tries to break the absoluteness of money, power hunger, Lust of sex (and even eating too much), proudness, hypocracy etc. This means that Imam Ghazali relates our every day acts to the rise and fall of our spiritual effectiveness and our spiritual place before God. Brilliant to say the least. A MUST READ even if you don't want to read a single book in your life. (I've started reading it for the third time since I've got it without a day's break).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Time for a new translation, 19 April 2009
Maybe it is time for a new translation of this book. Claud Field translated this from Hindustani, such a long time ago. The transliteration of Ghazali as Ghazzali shows that he does not understand the etymology of the name even.

I read some chapters in Persian and compared them to Field's translation the other day and what are quite weird and other-worldy passages worthy of Castaneda become mundane sermons in his rendition....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All can enjoy!, 24 Feb. 2011
This review is from: The Alchemy of Happiness (Forgotten Books) (Paperback)
I'm not a Muslim but this book shows the true beauty of the faith. I only wish the general public could be shown the true meaning of this stainless teaching. As in all religions, the real purpose is to purify oneself of ignorance & self grasping. We must use this incarnation to work for the benefit of others & get a glimpse of the real meaning of which all the great ones teach. Muhammad, Buddha & Christ all taught the same message of compassion & purification of the soul as the ultimate path to God. In this way only, will we be united with the one great source. God , Allah or Dharmakaya. Wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Terrible translation of an absolute masterpiece, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Alchemy of Happiness (Forgotten Books) (Paperback)
Having read Imam Ghazali's Alchemy by different translators, I brought this as a copy to keep on my bookshelf - unfortunately, the moment I opened it, I felt utterly disappointed. At first glance, the book is shoddy quality, I could've printed better with my own printer. The layout is horrible, and the writing itself is painful to read - commas between words where they do not fit (as another reviewer pointed out), complete misinterpretation throughout, plus the introduction itself which made me cringe so much I had to staple the pages together. The rest of the translation is flawed throughout and distorts the words of one of Islam's greatest masterminds, making him seem extreme in his teachings and completely misinterpreting his words. This sits on my bookshelf like a fabrication against a scholar whom I have endless admiration for and whose works I have had the honour of reading through. Appalled. DO NOT BUY - if you are looking for a copy of Imam Ghazali's Alchemy, do yourself the favour of looking elsewhere. You deserve better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Book belittled by terrible translation, 17 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Alchemy of Happiness (Forgotten Books) (Paperback)
This is a great work by a great scholar, but it is unfortunate that the translation is so poor and in old english!!!!!! there are still nice lessons to be gleamed but you can read this book for free at the forgotten books website so I wouldn't spend any money on it if i were you, until a new and more accurate translation is made available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars looks like a kids book, 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Alchemy of Happiness (Forgotten Books) (Paperback)
It's poorly transcribed, i wouldn't buy anything from these publishers again. Not fluent it's a hard read, very simplistic, looks like a kids book. I'm forcing myself to read it for the knowledge but it's very limited with their translation. I've been told the only publishers to buy Al Ghazalis books (Translated in english) from are Fons Vitae, Islamic text society and white thread press.
I've read part of the beginning of guidance, published by white thread press and it's brilliant, probably as close toal ghazali's writing as we'll get
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the key to your soul, 22 Jan. 2011
This review is from: The Alchemy of Happiness (Forgotten Books) (Paperback)
its a sign of the times that this is a forgotton book
it has opened my eyes and im sure it will do the same for many others who
read this book, that they may start cleaning the inner mirror (soul)
this book is easy to read and for every one to injoy
/a must for muslims today ,and an isight into real islam for non muslims
who wonder why there are so many of us muslims about who follow this great relgion please read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not an easy read, 21 May 2009
By 
R. Yunus (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Must admit this book wasnt an easy ready, the language is very hard to understand especially as the opening chapter is written in Old english.

It took me a longtime to finish this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I bought this book looking for an insight into Al-Ghazzali ..., 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book looking for an insight into Al-Ghazzali, who is a huge and 'towering' scholar in the Islamic world. Unfortunately, the book is written / compiled by non muslims. This isn't a problem.

What is a problem is that they 'influence' the material and content from their non islamic perspective. An example of this is that they every time that Jesus Christ (pbuh) is mentioned they use the words "on whom be peace" and only name the Prophet Muhammad (saw) when he is mentioned i.e. there is no "on whom be peace"!

It's done enough for me to question the benefit of finish reading the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still relevant today, 13 Jan. 2011
This review is from: The Alchemy of Happiness (Forgotten Books) (Paperback)
Lots of wise stories and sayings that are are still relevant after ten centuries. Although, the chapter on women seems a bit dated from a westerner's point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Alchemy of Happiness (Forgotten Books)
The Alchemy of Happiness (Forgotten Books) by Al-Ghazali (Paperback - 1 Feb. 2008)
£5.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews