Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A How To Do It Guide for Landscape Architects
Everything the previous writers said is true and yet I found it hard to take anything from this book and use it in an everyday garden situation.

It is intense reading and has to be read again and again to appreciate just how exquisitely every statement has been perfectly weighed and judged by Noel Kingsbury. It is the most careful, thought through and detailed...
Published 16 months ago by Alan Chandler

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Technical garden planting
I bought this book hoping that it would help give me some inspiration with a contemporary garden planting plan for a new quirky garden that we have just had landscaped. It is full of very detailed, technical garden planting information, that is aimed more towards the professional garden designer/landscaper on a large scale. I found some of the information useful, but it...
Published 16 months ago by Anna Fisher


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A How To Do It Guide for Landscape Architects, 20 April 2013
By 
Alan Chandler (Clacton on Sea, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Planting: A New Perspective (Hardcover)
Everything the previous writers said is true and yet I found it hard to take anything from this book and use it in an everyday garden situation.

It is intense reading and has to be read again and again to appreciate just how exquisitely every statement has been perfectly weighed and judged by Noel Kingsbury. It is the most careful, thought through and detailed analysis of modern developments in ornamental planting that exists today. And worthy reading for that alone.

But these techniques are more relevant to the planning of large public spaces than the surburban semi. In the UK's cash strapped local environement, where our public parks and spaces are surely in need of a face-lift, this book points the way to a brighter future. And we should all be grateful to Noel, Piet and other practitioners in this field who are pushing the boundaries.

Am I glad I bought and read this book - Yes I am. Mightily! Can I apply it to my humble garden patch - No.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Technical garden planting, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planting: A New Perspective (Hardcover)
I bought this book hoping that it would help give me some inspiration with a contemporary garden planting plan for a new quirky garden that we have just had landscaped. It is full of very detailed, technical garden planting information, that is aimed more towards the professional garden designer/landscaper on a large scale. I found some of the information useful, but it is rather too over complicated, heavy going and intense for my taste and enjoyment. Some good photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring, well structure and full of usefull information, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planting: A New Perspective (Hardcover)
i would like more books like this one to be publish; it is helpfull, easy to read, full of information, all pictures are beautiful and all have notes and very well publish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new book on my shelf, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planting: A New Perspective (Hardcover)
fresh look at contemporary planting, guidelines for you to re design your garden.
grasses and plants worth hunting for ...relax with this good book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planting: A New Perspective (Hardcover)
Informative, well written and good photos and plans. Also pssible to relate it to smaller garden in a domestic context
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful to look at, informative to read, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planting: A New Perspective (Hardcover)
Lovely book great visuals both pictures and planting plans. Refers to planting schemes all over the world, but the ones in this country will encourage me to visit them where possible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sumptuous, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planting: A New Perspective (Hardcover)
A beautifully produced book which is full of inspiring ideas and wonderful photographs. I thoroughly recommend it for anyone who, like me, loves collecting gardening books. I will look through this again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiration., 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planting: A New Perspective (Hardcover)
A beautifully illustrated book with so many ideas for planting combinations and ideas. A book to pick up and look at time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great instructive photos, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planting: A New Perspective (Hardcover)
The book was a gift to a good friend who is a wonderful gardener and she was very pleased to receive this book for her birthday and I am sure it will be a great inspiration
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not really a book for pictures, 3 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planting: A New Perspective (Hardcover)
But this really is a book crammed with a ton of useful and enlightening information. I really enjoyed this book and it is really an essential part of a gardener's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Planting: A New Perspective
Planting: A New Perspective by Noel Kingsbury (Hardcover - 4 April 2013)
15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews