Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Purchase
I bought this for my brother who is a keen environmentalist focused on developing his horticultural skills. He was very happy with it. It's on the RHS (Royal Horticultural Society) recommended reading list apparently.
Published on 16 Jan 2011 by King Mummy

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars rip off
Very unhappy for amount paid for Kindle edition £10 should be less than £3
Published 1 month ago by Mr. Robert Prigmore


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Purchase, 16 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Botany for Gardeners (Paperback)
I bought this for my brother who is a keen environmentalist focused on developing his horticultural skills. He was very happy with it. It's on the RHS (Royal Horticultural Society) recommended reading list apparently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Introduction, 16 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Botany for Gardeners (Paperback)
I am currently undertaking the RHS Horticulture certificate and this book was recommended by our teacher - since buying it, I've found it to be really informative and well written and pitched at the right level for a beginner in botany. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to understand more about the basics of plant growth and reproduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best botany book for gardeners out there, 18 Feb 2012
By 
Doug "Doug" (York, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Botany for Gardeners (Paperback)
I used to be the Head of Horticulture at a College and have bought dozens of copies of this book for library and student use.

It is in my opinion the best book on the market at the moment as an introduction to botany.

Why?

It takes what can be at times a dry subject and makes it fascinating for the reader.

It takes what can be at times a complex subject and makes it easy to understand.

So, in a nutshell, this is an excellent book, which has enough factual detail to make it good for all those studying Gardening or Horticulture to Level 3, is entertaining to read, and which really explains why our plants do the things they do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Botany made Clear and Easy to read, 16 Aug 2011
By 
Jane Durrant (Ambleside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Botany for Gardeners (Paperback)
Botany for gardeners will either remind you of all you have forgotten from school or if like me you missed out on it provide a very readable but thorough and interesting insight into the world of plants and life in general
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Botany for Gardeners, 25 Nov 2011
This review is from: Botany for Gardeners (Paperback)
Bought this book after borrowing it from the college library. For students of the RHS courses it's an essential read, giving clarity and greater understanding of the the botany subjects covered in language that's very user-friendly, particularly for the less experienced and those whose school days were a long time ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent purchase, 26 April 2012
By 
N. Dodd (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Botany for Gardeners (Paperback)
I read this book from cover to cover not long after it arrived. I found it interesting, well written and very informative. For someone with no formal botany background it dealt very well with the basics of how plants grow and (admirably) also with basic genetics. Particularly astounding were the photographs of cell division, which made the diagrams themselves more believable (not that I wouldn't have believed them without the photos, but it was just very interesting to see the photographs, if you will, faithfully reproduce the essence of the diagrams). I fully recommended this book to anyone who, like me, is interested in acquiring knowledge of botany and doesn't know where to start. The only very slightly irritating thing was the North American slant, such that plants were rarely (if ever) our own...but that's really a very small quibble. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Botany for Gardeners, 16 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While perfection is a word I seldom use, I've still decided to give this book a maximum rating of five stars because in comparison with others of its kind it is far superior. If it's the kind of thing you want, then this book is the best you'll find.
With a budding interest in plants (pardon the pun), one is often caught in the gulf between plant encyclopaedias, gardening books and university textbooks - with little or no general botany books in between. There seems to be nothing out there explaining how plants work, how they do what they do or how they've come to be what they are without first requiring a degree in biology prior to reading. However, this book does it!
I found the title misleading. It seems to suggest it is yet another horticultural gardening book discussing matters of pruning and depths of which to plant bulbs, but actually it's a far more scientific yet approachable book than that.
Capon has managed to write the only book I am as of yet to find that successfully communicates the general basis of botany to anybody who has the desire to care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RHS Lvl 2 - Good additional book, 28 Feb 2011
This review is from: Botany for Gardeners (Paperback)
Good book to help to understand some of the botanical basics required in the RHS lvl 2 course. Sets out simply Epigeal and Hypogeal etc which the course books contradict ironically! Nice simple language good book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Readable botany, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Botany for Gardeners (Paperback)
Brian Capon writes clearly and, most importantly, interestingly. Essential, enjoyable reading for RHS level 2 course. Excellent diagrams alongside microscopic views of the real thing are particularly helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Botany for Gardeners (Paperback)
Readable, detailed enough and very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Botany for Gardeners
Botany for Gardeners by Brian Capon (Paperback - 12 May 2010)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews