Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction, but needs to be more practical for a DIY-er
Previous books I've seen on the subject of green roofs are much more geared towards greening very large properties. This one is designed for people like me who are thinking about a small project at home or for a school or community garden.

The first few chapters explore the principles involved, such as getting the supporting structure right and which plants to...
Published on 19 Nov 2011 by Wiltshire Bookworm

versus
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great photos - short on info
The splendid photographs with which this publication is profusely illustrated did nothing to enlighten me as to how to construct a "green" roof.
Points I looked for were tables of joist sizes to support the materials being used, weights of different materials, both wet and dry. What stops the "garden" from falling of the edge of the roof? Where can you get the...
Published on 9 Nov 2011 by Richard Thorpe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great photos - short on info, 9 Nov 2011
By 
Richard Thorpe (u k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Small Green Roofs: Low-Tech Options for Homeowners (Paperback)
The splendid photographs with which this publication is profusely illustrated did nothing to enlighten me as to how to construct a "green" roof.
Points I looked for were tables of joist sizes to support the materials being used, weights of different materials, both wet and dry. What stops the "garden" from falling of the edge of the roof? Where can you get the materials - don't bother with the U.K suppliers mentioned in the back of the book - they don't bother to reply, well, not to a potential customer in the North of England anyway.
I got the info about joist sizes and weights, with a bit of guesstimating, from the Building Regs (local library)
Found this book a very expensive investment.
Found some real information via videos online at FLORDEPOT INTERNATIONAL
- it's a German company. With the information I learnt I have just completed two roofs - sat waiting for the Seedum to grow and cover the roof. Fingers crossed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction, but needs to be more practical for a DIY-er, 19 Nov 2011
By 
Wiltshire Bookworm (Chippenham) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Small Green Roofs: Low-Tech Options for Homeowners (Paperback)
Previous books I've seen on the subject of green roofs are much more geared towards greening very large properties. This one is designed for people like me who are thinking about a small project at home or for a school or community garden.

The first few chapters explore the principles involved, such as getting the supporting structure right and which plants to choose. There's a useful few pages discussing whether DIY or hiring a company is the right thing for the project you have in mind.

The bulk of the book comprises a number of case studies showcasing various homescale and community green roof projects from around the world. A number of these belong to the authors, some of which highlight the research they've conducted in their own gardens to acquire the knowledge they're now sharing with us.

These and the copious photographs in the book also show just how varied green roofs can be: from a bird table through various sheds and storage spaces, to houses and outdoor classrooms. They're also not just a load of sedums and I'd love to see the trolley storage areas at my local supermarket converted!

On the whole I loved this book, but I sometimes found it difficult to find the answers to particular questions I have about putting a green roof on my shed. Suggested plants for different situations (e.g. shade) would have been particularly useful as well as a summary of the tasks involved from start to finish. The information's there, but it often has to be gleaned from reading through a combination of principles and various case studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational!, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Green Roofs: Low-Tech Options for Homeowners (Paperback)
If this book doesn't get you on your shed roof, nothing will. Great pictures, and text that we can all understand, the authors show that anyone can achieve a small green roof. It is obvious that they have a wealth of experience and help us, the amateurs, with practical advice. Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lets go green, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Green Roofs: Low-Tech Options for Homeowners (Paperback)
I like the idea of taking nature into our home. Not just to preserve neature, but to get more clean air into the city. This is a good resource of inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book for anyone, 16 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Green Roofs: Low-Tech Options for Homeowners (Paperback)
There is a vast amount of information out there on very expensive larger green roof systems. This book gives the layman all they need to know to set about devising their own system, whatever the budget. Lots of lovely pictures and examples. Don't expect it to provide a step by step guide, there are too many different ways of doing it and too many variables. Yours will be unique - Go on have a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Green Roofs: Low-Tech Options for Homeowners (Paperback)
so much that we can implement to hep nature and this book makes it so very simple to do thanks for writing this I love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Green Roofs: Low-Tech Options for Homeowners (Paperback)
This is a great little book filled with inspirational projects, lots of photos and practical advise. The projects actually look achievable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, engaging and comprehensive, 12 July 2013
By 
James Robertson (Broadway, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Green Roofs: Low-Tech Options for Homeowners (Paperback)
This an excellent exploration of a very interesting topic. The use of real-world case studies makes this a highly practical book that will be of benefit to anyone thinking of doing a small-scale (non-commercial) green roof project.

I've used it to create a green roof for our chickens!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not good for 'how to', 9 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Green Roofs: Low-Tech Options for Homeowners (Paperback)
Bought as a gift, but might have to buy another for myself. Not good for 'how to', but inspiring enought to make you want to have a go anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Green Roofs: Low-Tech Options for Homeowners (Paperback)
Inspiring book, made me go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Small Green Roofs: Low-Tech Options for Homeowners
Small Green Roofs: Low-Tech Options for Homeowners by John Little (Paperback - 10 May 2011)
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews