Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite characters
I think I have every book ever published about Sunbonnet Sue. She is a favorite of mine. This book is no exception. You can either made 12 small wall hangings or a whole quilt showing her doing something different for each month. Or, of course, you could make a 4-seasons wall hanging!

A 9-page tips and techniques section starts the book. It gives you the...
Published on 18 Nov 2011 by Barbara Rhoades

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars American Sue
Too American inspired for what my friend required. Me being an American quite liked it. Some of the fabric and border choices could put you off the design.
Published 10 months ago by Quilty Cat


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite characters, 18 Nov 2011
By 
Barbara Rhoades "Jackie of all Trades" (O'Fallon, MO USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Year in Life of Sunbonnet Sue (That Patchwork Place) (Paperback)
I think I have every book ever published about Sunbonnet Sue. She is a favorite of mine. This book is no exception. You can either made 12 small wall hangings or a whole quilt showing her doing something different for each month. Or, of course, you could make a 4-seasons wall hanging!

A 9-page tips and techniques section starts the book. It gives you the basic cutting and applique ways but there are also boxes with extra tips such as when to peel the backing off the fusible applique.

The template for the basic Sue is next and is at full size. The projects show a photo of the completed item and the size. A blurb about the item is next with a materials list following that. Tips boxes are scattered throughout the patterns.

How to cut the appliques is next and then the directions for putting it all together follow along with graphics to help you visualize it. Any extra templates needed are also given at full size.

My only problem is that I don't have enough time to make as many as I want! If you have a Sunbonnet Sue lover who needs a gift, this will make a welcome one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very simply Sue, 4 May 2011
By 
Elaine B Reader (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Year in Life of Sunbonnet Sue (That Patchwork Place) (Paperback)
A beautifully presented book, and one to delight if you haven't yet been introduced to Sunbonnet Sue. Instructions are complete including how to applique and bind a quilt and all patterns are full size - bonus! The authors give tips on how to choose the best fabric for each little block (although this can still be a stash buster if you want) and how each can be turned into a wall hanging, or a 12 block quilt. I do think the rotary cutter is a peculiar choice for a border design on any quilt, let alone one for a child, but other borders are more usual. The little pictures of Sue show her posting her Valentine letter (American mailbox) holding an umbrella for April, with a Maypole, cruising - the one with the deadly border, kite flying, and skiing amongst others. I think the designs are very simple, and although unimaginative they provide a good introduction to making an applique block and binding it to make a nursery picture.
Although I do like this book, I feel the book Precious Sunbonnet Quilts by Betty Alderman is far superior, it also covers a year in the life of Sue, but gives more designs and outlines for redwork, table runners and small quilts, it just seems more professional than this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sunbonnet sue, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Year in Life of Sunbonnet Sue (That Patchwork Place) (Paperback)
the book's contents were all that I wished for, however the condition of the book was not that good with the pages coming away from the central spine,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars American Sue, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Year in Life of Sunbonnet Sue (That Patchwork Place) (Paperback)
Too American inspired for what my friend required. Me being an American quite liked it. Some of the fabric and border choices could put you off the design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Year in Life of Sunbonnet Sue, 31 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Year in Life of Sunbonnet Sue (That Patchwork Place) (Paperback)
I loved this book. I am a Sunbonnet Sue fan. The instructions are clear and detailed. Can't wait to get started on making them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars To add to my collection of Sunbonnet Sue books., 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Year in Life of Sunbonnet Sue (That Patchwork Place) (Paperback)
Gives more ideas for using Sunbonnet Sue in different places.Will come in very useful in the future no doubt. Good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac47d510)

This product

Year in Life of Sunbonnet Sue (That Patchwork Place)
Year in Life of Sunbonnet Sue (That Patchwork Place) by Darra Williamson Christine Porter (Paperback - 15 April 2011)
18.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews