Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Re-reading Prester John
I first read this book some 6o years ago. It entranced me then and I re-read it several times. As in all his best books (The Dancing Floor; The Courts of the Morning; The Far Islands; possibly Greenmantle) in Prester John there is a captivating sense of ancient, hidden knowledge ... meretricious, of course, but seductive. There is also clean prose and the bite of a well...
Published on 30 Oct 2003 by N. Wilson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Set in Scotland and South Africa
Entertaining account of a Scottish lad seeking his future in South Africa and encountering a character from his past who has a mission to fulfil. Interesting account of tribal uprisings in South Africa during the early part of 20th Century.
Published 15 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prester John, 4 May 2013
By 
Dr. J. Buchan (N.E. Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prester John (Paperback)
a ripping yarn told by that wonderful author from the 'High Noon' of empire John Buchan a powerful story set in South Africa in Victorian times Prester John is a great read with values and written in good english
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prester John (Kindle Edition)
I have always loved this book first read it when I was eight read it several times, I am now sixty eight
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prester John (Kindle Edition)
Like an early 'Bourne' adventure. Now needs someone to produce a modern film version. John Buchan should be essential reading for all Eng Lit students despite the quaint language and somewhat political incorrectness by modern standards. Buchan's introduces the reader to many English words that are rarely used today. Kindle dictionary is a must for readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good story, 30 Mar 2013
By 
Clive Shaw (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prester John (Kindle Edition)
Read this book at school many years ago, re read and what a cracking tale, albeit wouldn't pass a PC test.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prester John, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prester John (Kindle Edition)
An excellent read .I first read this book as a boy of 12yrs I enjoyed it just as much at aged 71
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars john buchan, 1 Jan 2013
This review is from: Prester John (Kindle Edition)
timeless. brilliant.who would the current jb be? this editions is just fine and well worth re reading. great to have. no more to say. don't want to spoil story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good exiting Story, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prester John (Kindle Edition)
I first heard about this book when I was at school in the late 1940's. Not got around to reading it recently. It held my attention all of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it at school 55 years ago, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prester John (Kindle Edition)
Still enjoyed it! A very mysterious tale with a fairly complicated plot. Even so very old fashioned attitude to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Derring-do in South Africa, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prester John (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book; it was undemanding reading during a very long journey. John Buchan's books are very much of their time and in this case the quality of the writing and the historical/geographical interest make up for the somewhat outrageous plot. The theme is the lost native empire of Africa and the attempt by the Rev John Laputa to revive it with himself as king. To the white settlers in South Africa this is seen as a Kaffir Rising. The book is massively racist but if you don't mind admitting that that's how things were in those days, it's an entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boys own adventure!, 13 Aug 2012
This review is from: Prester John (Kindle Edition)
You would look in vain for women in this book but I still enjoyed every bit of it. I read it at school in Scotland in the fifties and searched out a copy years later. It has lots of flaws and would not pass the racism test nowadays but of its time it is a top adventure story like Tom Sawyer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prester John
Prester John by John Buchan (Paperback - 26 Nov 2009)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews