Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book for everyone who seeks to unite the transformation of negative feelings with the spiritual path, 10 Nov. 2013
By 
Klaus Gormsen (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Meditate: A Practical Guide to Making Friends with Your Mind (Hardcover)
Pema Chödrön is a buddhist american meditation teacher. In this book she does not limit her teaching to the usual awareness of the incoming and outgoing breath, but goes further to the deepgoing transformation of negative painful feelings. She does this by encouraging the meditator to stay in the raw feeling without thinking or drifting away and returning to this awareness again and again until it transforms (hopefully) to the spiritually open, clear, love filled awareness that leads the way towards enlightenment.
She is primarily inspired by the late highly unorthodox and controversial tibetan buddist teacher Chögyam Trungpa.
Klaus Gormsen, Denmark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simple guide, 12 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Meditate: A Practical Guide to Making Friends with Your Mind (Hardcover)
If you have ever read any books by Pema, you will know how very practical she is. Her years of being a Nun have given her such a wealth of experience and this combined with her great sensitivity and compassion makes every book so immensely enjoyable and most importantly extremely helpful.
In this book, she begins at the beginning....with the simple tools you need. Yourself. No fancy tools, incense or candles. She manages to speak directly to you. This simple approach is so appealing that it is suitable for a complete beginner or an experienced practitioner.
I heartily recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindfulness encapsulated., 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An immense my thought provoking book which is nevertheless accessible to even the most novice of seekers for spiritual guidance.It is just so full of insight into the human condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PEMA CHODRON IS THE BEST, 18 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pema Chodron is one of the very best at sharing the method on how to meditate. I have had my own copy of this and many of her books, this copy I bought to pass on to my son. There is always an ease in her writings which makes the instruction not only a joy to read but easy to understand and implement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal accompaniment to all meditators from seasoned pros to novices, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read a fair few books on meditation this one jumps out as useful, comforting and encouraging. It demystifies what can be a confusing and frustrating practice, and is responsible for me finally having a daily practice which I look forward to and have no anxiety about. I'd recommend to anyone - fantastic book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beginners guide to meditaion, 15 April 2014
Excellent practical guide in explaining fundamentals of beginning meditation practice.This book is a must for those wishing to use meditation as means to dealing with everyday stresses and anxieties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great reading., 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I bought it because I wanted to start meditating & it was the best introduction to my practice. Would recommend for anyone thinking of meditating, or interested in the mind. I will be reading again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 16 Feb. 2015
By 
C. Wildervanck (Overschild, the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Meditate: A Practical Guide to Making Friends with Your Mind (Hardcover)
When reading a book I have this habit of folding over the top corner of a page and make an indent with my thumb nail on pages and paragraphs that I think are important and worth remembering. As a result my copy of 'How to meditate' grew about twice as thick. I have done some meditation courses and guided meditation and read about the subject, but for the first time here is this gentle unassuming lady who took me by the hand and explained everything, including the 'why's' of things I learned before.
Pema Chödrön does this without any of the woolly lecturing one finds in other books on the subject. She includes some of her own experiences without becoming dramatic, and includes some gentle irony occasionally. Wonderful!
I can't imagine a better book to teach you clearly how to meditate in a most pleasant, inspiring way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Straight to the heart of the matter, 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very lucid, clearly written guide that resonated totally. The first few chapters are a straight forward guide to sitting correctly. The later ones cover what happens in meditation. Before I was meditating regularly these later chapters book would probably have seemed a bit flat as I did not have the experiences to compare. With the experience of meditating daily, the words here have full meaning. If you are thinking of starting meditation but unsure how..read this book and start a daily practise immediately! If you have some experience read this for affirmation that you are on the right path.

This sceptic has found that the claims that daily mindfulness meditation will change you (described elsewhere as a 'software upgrade') are true. So read this but more importantly...practice daily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
She is really good and has a wealth of experience both practical and spiritually helpful if you need some focus, even if you have been meditating for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Meditate: A Practical Guide to Making Friends with Your Mind
£13.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews