Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent first book of series
This is the first of the Mrs Malory series and out of print, alas.
I obtained a secondhand copy just before Christmas, and was a bit apprehensive that it might not be as good as later books in the series.
However, I was delightfully surprised. All the "regular" characters who appear in the later books are there and just as rounded as in those. I particularly...
Published on 4 Jan. 2004 by Ms. M. J. Powell

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cosy? No. But a bit grim.
Despite what I'm about to say about this book, it was an easy read and I'll probably buy some more at some point. It's a character focused book and I mostly liked the lead, who had clear views about the characters of others in her community - most of whom you wouldn't want anything to do with! The lead character also has some snobbish and prissy moments, and far too...
Published on 10 Nov. 2012 by PHanson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent first book of series, 4 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Gone Away (Pan crime) (Paperback)
This is the first of the Mrs Malory series and out of print, alas.
I obtained a secondhand copy just before Christmas, and was a bit apprehensive that it might not be as good as later books in the series.
However, I was delightfully surprised. All the "regular" characters who appear in the later books are there and just as rounded as in those. I particularly liked Mrs Dudley, who seems to have sprung fully grown from the forehead of the writer. Spiteful, lonely and the best source of gossip in the town.
If you can get it, you'll enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First in the Mrs Malory series, 21 Jan. 2011
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first book in the Mrs Malory series. Sheila Malory gets a request from her friend Charles Richardson to try and find out what has happened to his fiancée Lee Montgomery. Charles works in the USA and has been unable to contact Lee since he returned to the States after Christmas. Sheila is reluctant to interfere - not least because she took an instant dislike to the lady concerned.

Sheila finds out a great deal of information about Lee from an unlikely source - her friend Rosemary's mother, the obnoxious Mrs Dudley. I enjoyed the interaction between the characters in this story and the introduction of the series characters - Rosemary and Jack and Rosemary's mother, Roger, the police inspector and Jilly his girlfriend, Rosemary's daughter.

The mystery is slight and the murderer unexpected - to me anyway. There are plenty of suspects as well. There is no on the page violence as this is a `Cosy' mystery. If you like authors such as Rebecca Tope, Veronica Heley and Lesley Cookman you will enjoy this story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cosy? No. But a bit grim., 10 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Despite what I'm about to say about this book, it was an easy read and I'll probably buy some more at some point. It's a character focused book and I mostly liked the lead, who had clear views about the characters of others in her community - most of whom you wouldn't want anything to do with! The lead character also has some snobbish and prissy moments, and far too easily accepts being patronised by men, but there you go - we can't all be perfect.

You might be wondering why I thought it grim. First, the lead character is mourning the loss of her husband who died two years previously. Second, some of the people within her community have suffered their own tragedies and are, or aren't, dealing with the consequences. Third, from her clear-eyed observations, it appears that she really doesn't like many of her 'friends' and is quite a solitary figure despite keeping herself 'busy'. The ending, which I won't spoil, was also suitably lowering.

On a footling point, and one mentioned by other reviewers, there are some glaring typos in the kindle version - and here's one that I hope won't offend: "local goy made good". I kid you not.

I feel strongly that authors, and their publishers, have a responsibility to show some respect to their customers and this means producing a good final copy that has been properly proof read - I forked out about four quid to read this book and they really should try harder to make sure that the right words appear in the right order. After all, it's what we're paying them for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars plot a bit thin, 15 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like these books for a gentle read, good for travel etc you do not have to concentrate too hard on them but even so thought the plot was a bit thin in this one... but it was spoilt half way through as I read this book --1st in series-- after others and the other books hold a clue to the mystery in this one. There are problems with spellings and layout which I thought were Kindle errors but I see poster has complained about print version having errors too. still worth buying it though, but read this one first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not gone far enough., 14 July 2013
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone Away (Paperback)
A rather bland murder mystery set in a Devonshire seaside town, and featuring the usual rather uninteresting middle aged woman who tends to be the investigator in this type of series. the dialogue is flat, there are no very memorable characters, and it is fairly easy to guess who the murderer is.

This seems to be the first in quite a long series, but I don't know if I will bother to read any of the others, the first one failed to grip me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written cosy English detective., 5 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone Away (Paperback)
This is what I like, an English small village detective story, but one that is well written and well thought out. The characters are described in just enough detail, and the village life is realistic. There are many touches of humour in the interplay of the people, and the story arrives at a logical and tidy ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gone Away (aka Mrs Malory Investigates) - Hazel Holt, 6 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Gone Away (Paperback)
The book that arrived (quite promptly) is certainly Hazel Holt's 'Gone Away', but it is not the original printing. It carries a copyright date of 2010 and is published by coffeetownpress of Seattle, USA, but was printed in UK by Amazon. Nowhere is it mentioned that it was originally published in 1989 and in the USA as 'Mrs Malory Investigates', being the first in the series about the amateur sleuth. I have a feeling that this failure to reveal the full publishing history is in breach of international copyright law.
It is printed on good quality paper, to a generous size and with laminated card covers showing a Siamese cat face in negative format, though what this has to do with the storyline baffles me! There are many minor typographical errors and more serious layout flaws, such as different sentences by two different characters all in the same paragraph, while elsewhere several sentences by one character, all on the same subject, are seemingly randomly broken into two or more paragraphs. Here and there the typesetting is completely awry! It is all very irritating and a clear indication that the proofreading was skipped or undertaken by a complete incompetent.
The storyline will appeal to anyone who likes Agatha Christie's Miss Marple and is set in a mythical English West Country seaside town and its surrounds. There is only one corpse but plenty of red herrings and other diversions before Mrs Malory works it all out. I got there myself only very slightly ahead of her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A short rather trite novel with far too many references ..., 27 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A short rather trite novel with far too many references to feeding the pets and washing up. The plot was unbelievable in that the heroine failed to inform the police of valuable information for the most paltry reasons. Hardly an admirable thing to do. Not for me this series or this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb, really enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mrs mallory is a joy., 8 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mrs Mallory is the ideal companion on journeys, she is the friend we all wish we had and she is an unofficial lady detective who somehow, bit like Miss Marple, stumbles into crime in her own location.Having read all but two of her books so far I can only urge Hazel Holt to write some more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gone Away
Gone Away by Hazel Holt (Paperback - 14 April 2010)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews