Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Murder in an English village
Sheila Malory is involved in a music festival. As with any festival, there are people on the committee who no one much likes but whom it is impossible to get rid of. Adrian Palgrave is one of those people so there are very mixed emotions when he is found murdered during a concert. There are a plethora of suspects and the reader can identify the red herrings along with...
Published on 13 Dec 2010 by Damaskcat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars thriller
I was a little disappointed in this book and would not have any more of her books.I find them a bit long wimnded and not a light read
Published 12 months ago by Mrs. RJ KING


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Murder in an English village, 13 Dec 2010
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sheila Malory is involved in a music festival. As with any festival, there are people on the committee who no one much likes but whom it is impossible to get rid of. Adrian Palgrave is one of those people so there are very mixed emotions when he is found murdered during a concert. There are a plethora of suspects and the reader can identify the red herrings along with Sheila and her friend Rosemary's policeman son, Roger.

This is a typical cosy mystery set in an English village. The pace is leisurely and the characters eccentric. I particularly liked Father Drummond and Sheila Malory herself. I also liked the literary and musical background to the story. This is the first of Hazel Holt's Mrs Malory series which I have read but I will certainly be looking out for more of them to read. Relaxing and enjoyable reading for anyone who likes authors such as Veronica Heley, Catherine Aird or Gladys Mitchell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable read., 26 Nov 2010
By 
Gwen Madoc "Gwen" (Swansea, South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed reading the digital version of this pleasant, very English cozy murder mystery. Although the pace is leasurely, in keeping with the genre, my attention was held right through. The characters are very well drawn and come off the page as living people. The atmosphere of the English village life is well expressed, too. I shall be looking to find more of Hazel Holts novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mrs Malory and the Festival Murder, 19 May 2011
This review is from: Mrs. Malory and the Festival Murder (Paperback)
Hazel Holt is the quintessence of English writing at it's most delightful. Full of 'splendid' phrases such as 'She pawed briskly through the garments on the rail' and 'Michael, who appeared to be concentrating on engraving a fleur-de-lis in the butter'. The cast of well known characters never fails to bring a cosy feeling to the reader. Her descriptions of Foss, Sheila's Siamese cat, complete with a 'little light claw sharpening on the stair carpet, will warm the hearts of cat lovers everywhere, and it is no surprise that many of Hazel Holt's publicity photos are taken with a Siamese in her arms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Village, 15 Nov 2013
By 
Mrs. P. J. Usherwood "film buff" (kent,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mrs. Malory and the Festival Murder (Paperback)
This Mrs Mallory lives in a village, with friends and family.
Yes, Murders do happen, but I enjoy these books as they are not so violent as some I read, but a Good story anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars thriller, 7 April 2013
By 
Mrs. RJ KING "RJ KING" (OSWESTRY UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was a little disappointed in this book and would not have any more of her books.I find them a bit long wimnded and not a light read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars easy enjoyable read., 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
if you like the who done it,which is not too dark this is for you good holiday read which is easy to return to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa73d1eac)

This product

Mrs. Malory and the Festival Murder
Mrs. Malory and the Festival Murder by Hazel Holt (Paperback - 14 April 2010)
10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews