Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and motivational - a manual for experimentation, 6 Jun 2012
By 
Captain Incognito (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Art of Fermentation: An In-depth Exploration of Essential Concepts and Processes from Around the World (Hardcover)
I have to start this review by confessing that I haven't yet got close to finishing reading this book, despite receiving it for my birthday on release day (my parents know my passion for sourdough and weird homebrew experiments and made the next logical step - clever mum and dad!). This is no fault of the author's writing - rather, it is mine for wanting to try out so much of the book as I go along. I have already made my first batch of sauerkraut, four bottles of ginger beer, a kilner jar of fruit kimchi and a tub of rice beer. I have only been limited by my progress in reading and my husband's tolerance for jars of fizzy things taking up kitchen space (sorry Sweetie).

Sandor Katz has a very easy way of writing and it's very easy to lose oneself for an hour or two without realising. Please be aware that Sandor does not often provide very precise instructions and I view this as very much a good thing - to paraphrase a tired film quote, life finds a way with the basics taken care of. In my opinion, you shouldn't approach fermentation with the same perspective you might for baking where precision matters so much more. I have been impressed at the breadth of inspiration taken from across the world, particularly so by the solid representation of African dishes and beverages, an area I find usually very under-represented.

In terms of the book itself, it is a thing of loveliness. I was a very early adopter of ebooks and this is the first book in a long time that made me wonder if something is lost in translation.

For those comfortable with experimentation, this is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fermentation rules, 15 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Fermentation: An In-depth Exploration of Essential Concepts and Processes from Around the World (Hardcover)
Wow - buy this book! your kitchen will become an emporium of bubling fermentation and you r eating habits will become demanding of more delisiouse food pickles bread milk fermentations and your body will truly thank you for it all. I make loads of stuff from this book and it has enhanced my already good cooking skills. Some of the tastes that are produced will have you wanting to dive deeper into natural fermentation - try the Kefier - try the cider try it all!
Brilliant and thanks for all it contains
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A valuable addition to my culinary library, 19 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Fermentation: An In-depth Exploration of Essential Concepts and Processes from Around the World (Hardcover)
Amazing to learn how common the use of fermented food products is around the world.Full of practical info based on writer's experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinated, 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Fermentation: An In-depth Exploration of Essential Concepts and Processes from Around the World (Hardcover)
I heard of this publication from a friend. It is a detail filled account of the use of fermentation in food preparation from around the world. It is magnificently researched and engagingly presented
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are into preserving this book will become your bible, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Fermentation: An In-depth Exploration of Essential Concepts and Processes from Around the World (Hardcover)
I defy you to put this book down. If you are interested in preserving fermented vegetables then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quite good, 29 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Fermentation: An In-depth Exploration of Essential Concepts and Processes from Around the World (Hardcover)
The book gives a very interesting overview on fermentation, a traditional approach to food preservation. It is both pleasurable to read and filled with practical details. A recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, highly recommended!, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Fermentation: An In-depth Exploration of Essential Concepts and Processes from Around the World (Hardcover)
Great book, lots of really good information. Thorough research as well. Good reference book and very useful when you want to try out fermenting in whatever way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very deep insight of the fermentation world., 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Fermentation: An In-depth Exploration of Essential Concepts and Processes from Around the World (Hardcover)
This is a very complete guide of the fermentation technics prepared by an expert on them. The presentation is clear and simple, the book is a must in the complete new kitchens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An intelligent and complex book for people who like sauerkraut, pickled potatoes and wonderful Polish tomatoes, I really appreciated all the book had to teach and demonstrate about attitudes to food and the way we eat what we eat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Imformative Book......., 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Fermentation: An In-depth Exploration of Essential Concepts and Processes from Around the World (Hardcover)
I used this publication mainly to make 'Sauerkraut' and this publication certainly was a great benefit....
The author does not provide any 'recipes' and kinda leaves it to your own discretion as to how to
proceed your journey of the art of 'fermentation'.........
My very 1st 'Sauerkraut' was delicious with many more to come.....!!!
ThanKs 'Art of fermentation'.....!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Fermentation: An In-depth Exploration of Essential Concepts and Processes from Around the World
£19.71
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews