Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars treating antibiotic resistant diseases
I have the earlier version and was delighted to get this second edition recently, three times the size of the original. The author states: "In the years since I wrote the first edition of this book, my knowledge of plant medicines and their use in healing has increased tremendously. Thus this new edition...is a great deal more comprehensive..." I found the first edition...
Published 10 months ago by D&D

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful, but could be better
As a medical herbalist, I found the book useful and interesting. It covers a few herbs in reasonable depth and suggests herbs suited to certain pathogens. Many of the herbs discussed were new to me. A lot of attention is also given to the right mode of preparation of each herb. A whole chapter is dedicated to herbs to boost the immune system, a very important approach...
Published 12 months ago by SK


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars treating antibiotic resistant diseases, 10 Sep 2013
By 
D&D - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Herbal Antibiotics (Paperback)
I have the earlier version and was delighted to get this second edition recently, three times the size of the original. The author states: "In the years since I wrote the first edition of this book, my knowledge of plant medicines and their use in healing has increased tremendously. Thus this new edition...is a great deal more comprehensive..." I found the first edition to be excellent and this one is even better. I also loved Buhner's "The Secret Teachings of Plants".

Here Buhner offers a slightly different list of the "top antibiotic herbs" than the first edition as deeper experience has shown him that, for instance, garlic and grapefruit seed extract are just not as effective as some of the new herbs in this edition. (I was pleased to read this as it reflects my own disappointing experiences with these two herbs.) Here the herbs have been divided into "the systemics" (cryptolepis, sida, alchornea, bidens, artemisia); "the localised nonsystemics" (berberines, juniper, honey, usnea); "the synergists (licorice, ginger, black pepper/piperine); and 8 herbs that he describes as the first line of defense (strengthening the immune system). There are a few tips on virus, fungus and parasite infections, although it does not really attempt to cover these pathogens. At the end are invaluable and detailed how-to-make instructions as well as a "formulary" (tincture proportions and dosages).

Thankfully, this book is not one of those encyclopedia-type listings that leave you wondering what herb/s to shortlist and where and how to actually start applying the information. With such books it is all little more than a lottery - perhaps slightly more educated than a lucky dip requires, but still guesswork. By contrast, here the knowledgeable author has done the shortlisting and is clear and concise. Dosages, preparation and use are all easy to find, as well as preventative guidelines to help prevent your getting sick in the first place.

In addition, it has one of the best overviews I've come across of why bacteria develop resistance to antibiotics. Buhner, who maintained a private practice in both psychotherapy and clinical herbalism from 1980 until 2005, also explains why and how herbs are better: antibiotics are single compounds that bacteria can eventually "outwit" (or evolve immunity to) whereas it is not as easy with the complex compounds found in herbs.

All this begs the main point, however. It is little-understood that pathogens ("bad" bacteria, viruses, fungi, parasites) are found only where the "environment" (ie the human) is suitable for them. The more toxic and poor the environment (our bodies), the more likely we are to attract such unwanted "guests". They don't find us, the state of our bodies invites them. We each need to accept responsibility for creating a healthier environment within ourselves, one less attractive to such organisms.

However, once health has deteriorated, it can be very difficult to improve the soil until the weeds are cleared. So, whereas I have reservations about the "this herb will fix this bacteria" mechanistic approach, here the distilling-down work has been done by the author - from hundreds of possible herbs to a very short list - making it possible to combine several to work on quite a wide range of infections, whether drug-resistant or not. To me this seems much more helpful and practically useful than most books on herbs, and Buhner's extensive experience shows up clearly throughout the book. The author has done the hard work, reducing the usual guess-work required; rather than "basic", the book demonstrates an elegant simplicity that is rare to find.

Later note: I've discovered that true cinnamon leaf oil has powerful healing qualities: 2 drops a day for 105 days eliminates all infections, including bacteria, virus, fungus and parasite. Try it for yourself, it's both cheap and easy - but make sure to dilute it in some juice or oil, otherwise it will burn your mouth. Also, many other supplements will work against it - visit lyme-symptoms[dot]com for the full protocol.

You need to look for a products that states it us true cinnamon (zeylanicum or verum) and leaf (it's the oil from the leaves of the cinnamon bush that has the necessary eugenol as the main component) and also "steam distilled"; in my experience, the NuKira brand worked.

Cinnamon bark oil gives the true cinnamon smell and flavour, while leaf does not, it smells like cloves. So it depends on what you want the oil for - smell and flavour or healing...

Also, avoid cassia, or any bottle that does NOT say cinnamon zeylanicum or cinnamon verum AND "steam distilled". They taste and smell somewhat similar but do not work the same way. Cassia is legally allowed to be called "cinnamon" so it's easy to get the wrong kind, which I did initially.

The few alternative oils for this healing protocol are:
- Marjoram (Origanum majorana) aka sweet marjoram
- Thymus Mastichina also known as Wild Marjoram, Mastic Thyme and Marjoram Spanish
- Mandarin (Citrus reticulata) from South Africa

Within an hour of taking the first drop of true cinnamon leaf oil in some juice my breathing became easier (for over a decade I had Babesia, a cousin of Malaria which eats red blood cells - these cells carry oxygen throughout the body; unfortunately, there are lab tests for only a few of the many types of babesia, so rely on a distinctive pair of symptoms: air starvation plus recurring low grade fever, usually afternoon or evening). Ugh, the juice failed to mask the taste, just as strong and as bitter as clove oil and oregano oil.

However, after a couple of months several of us (around the same time, some with Lyme and also several coinfections - by then we were all free of symptoms) doing the essential oil protocol together became intolerant of the cinnamon leaf oil - as we had with oil of oregano that we'd been using some years ago for tooth abscesses. As one of us also has a citrus intolerance, we all changed to thymus mastichina from Spain, steam distilled from the leaves and flowers, for the remainder of the 105 days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful, but could be better, 26 July 2013
This review is from: Herbal Antibiotics (Paperback)
As a medical herbalist, I found the book useful and interesting. It covers a few herbs in reasonable depth and suggests herbs suited to certain pathogens. Many of the herbs discussed were new to me. A lot of attention is also given to the right mode of preparation of each herb. A whole chapter is dedicated to herbs to boost the immune system, a very important approach when fighting any infection.
The book is fairly chatty, with plenty of repetition. The level is suitable for the interested lay person, while practitioners will probably have to speed read over many sections. My main criticism is that the range of herbs discussed is very narrow. I would have expected an overview of the majority of known antimicrobial herbs with their respective merits. Unfortunately the book covers only about 20 plants, many of which are not commonly used by most Western medical herbalists in the UK, and as a result would be fairly hard to obtain (Cryptolepsis, Sida, Alchorna, Bidens...). Many very well established herbal antimicrobials receive no mention at all (Garlic, Tea tree, Thyme to mention but a few).
Another criticism is that, while there is a comprehensive bibliography at the end of the book, there is no referencing throughout the text, so it's pretty difficult if you want to look up the specific research behind a certain piece of information.
Overall, the book falls somewhat short of my expectations, but at the price it's still a worthwhile addition to my library.
SK, B.Sc.(hons) Herbal Medicine, MNIMH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for all households, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Herbal Antibiotics (Paperback)
Everyone needs to read this book.. and have it on hand. Drug resistant antibiotics are on the increase. This book gives detailed information on what herbs we need in our natural pharmacy and how to prepare them and what ailments they are good to alleviate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book strange order of information, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought this book was really interesting. However,I felt the part of the book about the lack of new antibiotics was a little long and missed many of the alternative treatments that are being developed. In addition, a lot of information that you need to understand the first part of the book is presented much later on.

However, it seems to have been well researched and well written. I would strongly recommend this book to anyone interested in practical, scientific Western herbal medicine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Help yourself to natural antibiotics -, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Herbal Antibiotics (Paperback)
These may become life-savers as existing pharmaceutical products become less potent because of their overuse. They make work less quickly but will have less side-effects
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Alternatives to pharmacriminals, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A much needed work on real alternatives to what people have been misled to believe is standard medicine. Having worked for a pharmaceutical company I know what really goes on in boardroom thinking. Peoples health is secondary to mega profits. The truth is that is behoves everyone to take personal responsibilty for their health and not leave it to the major exploitation of the NHS which has been subverted by killer pharmaceuticals. 'Legal drugs last year killed twice as many people as illegal drugs. Neither are the answer. This publication is a small step in redressing the balance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought to Fight Haemophilus Influenzae 'B'., 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My Wife has a very rare immune system disorder and suffers from Multiple Chemical Sensitivities. She can't take Pharmaceutical drugs. She caught the Bacteria when someone spat on her and became very, very ill. With the help of this book and two prominent Herbalists supplying the Herbal Tinctures my Wife is now on the mend and her body has developed enough anti-bodies to fight the residual infection on its' own. Bye, Bye Haemophilus.

The book is well written, easy to understand and Very detailed the Author has a sense of humour too! I like that.

It is a Must Have Buy and I wouldn't hesitate to say "Buy, it can be trusted."

An Engineers' perspective...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Herbal Antibiotics, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Herbal Antibiotics (Paperback)
Is a great book and shows very clearly how to use the herbs. As many of us know the classic antibiotics can't cure infections anymore and give you lots of side effects. Now herbs could be the answer to many diseases cure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible detail, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Big fan of Buhner , having read healing Lyme . Will be stocking my medicine cabinet with herbs from now on instead of drugs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Herbal Antibiotics (Paperback)
I ordered this book two months ago. I havent read it till the end though. But it is interesting and I got few ideas of planting some herbs in my own garden..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Herbal Antibiotics
Herbal Antibiotics by Stephen Buhner (Paperback - 15 Aug 2012)
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews