Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars good book for basic designing
Now able to draft skirt pattern of my design. Good instruction on how to start designing which could be used indraftingtops as well.
Published 13 months ago by Lynne Plumridge

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars good idea, poor practice
I bought this book on the basis of positive reviews on Amazon sites (British/USA).
I am quite a good amateur seamstress.
Why this book disappoints?
The author assumes that the reader has an unlimited supply of patterns and skirts to copy. If this was the case -why even publish the book?!

I lost count of times when the author's advise goes like...
Published 12 months ago by A. M. Henderson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars good idea, poor practice, 3 Dec 2013
By 
A. M. Henderson (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skirt-A-Day Sewing (Paperback)
I bought this book on the basis of positive reviews on Amazon sites (British/USA).
I am quite a good amateur seamstress.
Why this book disappoints?
The author assumes that the reader has an unlimited supply of patterns and skirts to copy. If this was the case -why even publish the book?!

I lost count of times when the author's advise goes like this: compare to a big4 pattern you own..., analyse a skirt you own... etc. Or worse: play with the pattern till you are happy... PLAY?! At which point would I know that the "design" is actually going to work in practice?! The book does not give an answer.
Instead, it shows extremely anorexic, and I stress the word: anorexic girls, which have neither waist, nor hips, or for that matter any other features of a normal woman(do compare the preview pages, one such a photo is included).
Even the most basic skirt design, is NOT going to work as written up in this book. I do know that much. I tried. As for other practical advice?
2yrs of material for EVERY -pattern?! There is NOWHERE an indication how long the skirts are, what basic sizing the author uses, but instead, the advise: draw by hand, try various designs. Great... if you happen to have unlimited supply of patience,paper, fabric and TIME.

I really WANTED to like the book. It is meant to be practical. In reality:
I was NOT able to use ANY "unknown" design -from those I neither owned nor knew how to copy! The book does NOT teach you how to do it.
It only gives very, very general ideas, more suited to fashion student under the guidance of a tutor than an amateur on her own.

My advise: buy a good basic pattern from Simplicity/McCall's/Butterick etc. do not waste your time on this book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skirt-A-Day Sewing (Paperback)
Bought this based on reviews, but disappointed to find that the designs were mostly for younger people. They were mainly quite short and I know that you can make them longer but as there was no examples of this, it made it difficult to decide if the style would look okay. I could make a sample longer one but I bought the book as an easy way of doing things not creating my own patterns.

Probably okay for a beginner to start out with some basic designs but not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book for basic designing, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skirt-A-Day Sewing (Paperback)
Now able to draft skirt pattern of my design. Good instruction on how to start designing which could be used indraftingtops as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 28 different skirt patterns, 19 Sep 2013
By 
Sewing Directory (Devon) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Skirt-A-Day Sewing (Paperback)
If skirts form an essential part of your wardrobe then you are going to want this book. It teaches you how to draft and sew 28 different skirts, one for each day of the month. The book starts by taking you through the basic tools you need and techniques you will be using. There is a useful guide to hems, seams and fastenings that you will find handy for other kinds of dressmaking too.

The next section of the book focuses on how to draft your own personalised pattern (sloper) so each skirt you make will be perfectly tailored to fit you. The last half of the book focuses on the skirts themselves, 4 basic types of skirt: wrapped skirts, straight skirts, flared skirts and high waisted skirts. Within these categories there are 7 different pattern variations. For each individual skirt the book shows you how to adapt your sloper and then gives step by step instructions for sewing the skirt.

There are guiding illustrations throughout plus step by step instructions, as well as photos of the finished skirts making this book easy to follow. With so many different skirt designs there is bound to be something for everyone.

This review also appears on The Sewing Directory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 26 Jun 2014
This review is from: Skirt-A-Day Sewing (Paperback)
Very good book. Lots of lovely variations on a simple design, with lots of easy to follow instructions with photos. Even if never used, great coffee table book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Skirt-A-Day Sewing
Skirt-A-Day Sewing by Nicole Smith (Paperback - 21 Jun 2013)
£12.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews