Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Successful gift
I bought this book for my mum as a gift. She is an accomplished knitter but had never tried knitting socks before....now she's hooked. Knitting socks can be addictive. Initially she had to take some time to work out what types of wool were required because the terminology is American, but that was the only difficulty. Her prefered way of knitting socks is on 4 needles and...
Published on 14 April 2011 by Lola Rose

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars knit socks!
while the authour is nuts about socks and her book boasts 17 creative patterns, the instructions are rather incoherant. I found myself having to repeatedly refer to you tube and the internet for a clearer description of how to shape the heel gussets etc.
Published on 2 Jan 2011 by mark


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Successful gift, 14 April 2011
By 
Lola Rose (Edinburgh, Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Knit Socks: 17 Classic Patterns for Cozy Feet (Paperback)
I bought this book for my mum as a gift. She is an accomplished knitter but had never tried knitting socks before....now she's hooked. Knitting socks can be addictive. Initially she had to take some time to work out what types of wool were required because the terminology is American, but that was the only difficulty. Her prefered way of knitting socks is on 4 needles and she found the instructions clear and straight forward and would recommend this book for someone who can already knit, and is attempting to knit socks for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars knit socks!, 2 Jan 2011
By 
mark (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knit Socks: 17 Classic Patterns for Cozy Feet (Paperback)
while the authour is nuts about socks and her book boasts 17 creative patterns, the instructions are rather incoherant. I found myself having to repeatedly refer to you tube and the internet for a clearer description of how to shape the heel gussets etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great sock knits but Kindle version 'clunky', 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had to grab this as it was only a pound or two. This is a really comprehensive start to finish, beginner to expert book which really does have everything a sock knitter, or a knitter wishing to start knitting socks, could possibly need. The patterns are all lovely, with enough simple ones to get novices started as well as more detailed ones, and each is thouroughly explained step by step.
It enables you to start increasing your sock knitting skills and gives confidence to try new techniques.
However, the instructions to many of the patterns are in 'boxes' and rather than simply increasing the text size then being able to turn the pages keeping the same size text, you have to hard press on the boxes and zoom in, which makes flicking through patterns a hassle. Unless you have amazing eyesight ( which many knitters do not) you need to go through this every time you want to switch between the text and the instruction boxes. Why they couldn't format it to make it all flow better is beyond me, but maybe this is why the price was cheap.
I would - and will - definitely recommend this book, but in hard copy version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars challenging, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knit Socks: 17 Classic Patterns for Cozy Feet (Paperback)
I shall enjoy the challenge Another book that I shall enjoy knitting from but I feel that some of the patterns are not to my liking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice socks..., 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knit Socks: 17 Classic Patterns for Cozy Feet (Paperback)
Like it a lot .one star missing because I think it's too exactly instructed, too many words makes it a little difficult to find back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Knit Socks: 17 Classic Patterns for Cozy Feet
Knit Socks: 17 Classic Patterns for Cozy Feet by Betsy McCarthy (Paperback - 5 Sep 2010)
7.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews