Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to know in one book!
This book covers everything you could possibly want to know about selling your handmade crafts, whether at local fairs or online, or both.
It is filled with great advice from the very basics - simple ideas which leave you thinking 'why didn't I think of that?' - to much more complicated stuff like creating a website or a blog (which I did after reading the book and...
Published on 29 July 2010 by Donna Wilber

versus
62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointed
Although this book has a lot of helpful information for crafters I personally was rather disappointed as it is very definately aimed at the USA market place.
Published on 20 Dec 2010 by G. M. Marcipont


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to know in one book!, 29 July 2010
By 
Donna Wilber (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handmade Marketplace: How to Sell Your Crafts Locally, Globally, and Online (Paperback)
This book covers everything you could possibly want to know about selling your handmade crafts, whether at local fairs or online, or both.
It is filled with great advice from the very basics - simple ideas which leave you thinking 'why didn't I think of that?' - to much more complicated stuff like creating a website or a blog (which I did after reading the book and didn't realise how easy it would be).
I can't praise this book enough. I found it really inspiring because lots of the ideas are really easy to put into practice. All you need is a little time and a little effort.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An overall informative book., 27 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Handmade Marketplace: How to Sell Your Crafts Locally, Globally, and Online (Paperback)
This is a good book about selling your crafts. It is buy an American author, however I am English, and I think it would apply to anybody. Unfortunately, there is a tendancy of the author to focus on blogging and social network sites as a means to sell crafts, (which is ok if thats what you're interested in) but only a small amount related to selling at craft fairs, in shops etc. However, overall a good book with some very useful information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointed, 20 Dec 2010
By 
G. M. Marcipont (Cyprus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Handmade Marketplace: How to Sell Your Crafts Locally, Globally, and Online (Paperback)
Although this book has a lot of helpful information for crafters I personally was rather disappointed as it is very definately aimed at the USA market place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful and inspiring, 3 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Handmade Marketplace: How to Sell Your Crafts Locally, Globally, and Online (Paperback)
I found this book really useful and inspiring. I read most of it on a long train journey, making notes as i went. The book is written in a very easy-to-read manner- no confusing business-speak or bits that go on for far too long. It is broken up into sections which make a lot of sense- this means that i'm sure it will be easy to dip in and out of as i need to refresh my memory on certain topics. There is also snippets of advice from people who have been there and done it, which is both comforting and useful.
I wouldn't recommend this book for anyone who has set up a business and is well on their way, making profit and marketing happily. It's for people who are thinking about doing it, have just started, or creating things as a hobby and trying to take it further. it is not a simplified book in any way, just aimed more at those just starting out.
Although it is an American book and therefore has american references, meaning the sections on tax and pricing weren't as useful, i wouldnt let this put you off. there is still a lot of relevant info for uk readers too. also, it doesnt refer to one craft, and gives examples in several throughout the book. i am a jewellery maker and found it useful.
I do not regret buying this book, and i would recommend it to anyone who is feeling like they need a bit of advice, or something to sit down and read to clarify what to do and where to go next. it has given me ideas for new goals to set myself, and new ways of going about things that seemed a lot more terrifying beforehand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crafting success!, 18 July 2010
This review is from: The Handmade Marketplace: How to Sell Your Crafts Locally, Globally, and Online (Paperback)
I stumbled upon this book via a blog and after viewing the sneak peek pages purchased it with excitement! It is by far the best money i have ever spent and is even more inciteful and inspirational than i could have expected. Everything you need to know to set up a craft business,from idea conception to selling online, marketing and sales. I recommend this for any level, from people already selling like myself or someone with a dream. Brilliant resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great advice in a fun but serious style, 4 Jun 2010
By 
E. Thouret (Stockport, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handmade Marketplace: How to Sell Your Crafts Locally, Globally, and Online (Paperback)
I adore this book. I chose this and Craft, Inc (also good) to get some advice about making the most of my Etsy shop. THM is full of brilliant tips that seem so obvious you'll wonder why you didn't think of them.

The book is very up-to-date with information on using social media and marketing strategies as well as the business basics. I particularly liked the sections with input from well-known crafty businesspeople, such as reps from Etsy and Ravelry.

I would definitely recommend this book and have done already to all of my crafty entrepreneur friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive AND Concise, 2 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Handmade Marketplace: How to Sell Your Crafts Locally, Globally, and Online (Paperback)
This is a great read for any person thinking of starting (or who has recently started) their own craft business - it is filled with information, ideas and insights on how best to market your product.

Although it is most certainly written for an American audience, most of the information is transferable to people working anywhere in the world. This is because the major focus of the book is on the use of online media such as websites, blogs, online stores and various social media.

If you are interested in moving your business forward by seriously considering growing your online presence, then this book is most definitely for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your ticket to ride, 4 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handmade Marketplace: How to Sell Your Crafts Locally, Globally, and Online (Paperback)
More than simply giving information about how to work out your market place, and how to proceed, this book has a wealth of other information, too. For instance, there is a lot about the contributors, their business ethos, products, websites etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 3 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handmade Marketplace: How to Sell Your Crafts Locally, Globally, and Online (Paperback)
I bought this for the Kindle, and it wasn't what I was hoping for. It has much of the same kind of information you can easily pick up online, and if you have an Etsy shop you will find much of the content the same as you can read there. Some useful information about craft fairs, but I wouldn't buy it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Internet shop ([...]) investment buy, 26 Jan 2011
By 
Ann Gorman "justanotherfile" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Handmade Marketplace: How to Sell Your Crafts Locally, Globally, and Online (Paperback)
Haven't read this book cover to cover yet because I have been mostly concentrating on the issues that concern my business and crafts. But so far it seems very informative, lots of practical and up to date advice, but written nicely in a more casual way than a boring business statement manner or a how to guide so much more of an enjoyable read. It covers all aspects of picking your `thing' to sell, how to advertise it, setting up an online shop, for example [...]. It gives good clear advice on running your shop, starting a blog, maintaining a blog, posting comments on blogs etc. It goes in to good detail regarding photo issues and tagging issues, and also gives lots of advice from other artists and crafters the whole way through the book. What I loved about this book was that the different opinions and advice in the books are sometimes wrote in nice block handwriting which breaks up the reading of the book nicely you don't get tired looking or reading different sections of the book as easily I have been picking this book up very regularly since I purchased it. It is most definitely inspiring and a `get up and go' book for starting you off or advancing your online shop, blog and business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Handmade Marketplace: How to Sell Your Crafts Locally, Globally, and Online
8.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews